We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A First Class Experience”
Review of Hintlesham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hintlesham Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Helston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A First Class Experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a delightful hotel located in open countryside. This was a wonderful three day stay where we were treated to superb food and a fantastic room. The staff were attentive and extremely helpful at all levels. We were met by a very helpful porter who carried our cases to our room. It was an adventure finding the various room in this country house. Open fires greeted you in two of the three lounges. What a great experience. We will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Manan room which is a standard room located on the ground floor. The bedroom was about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AceClassOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    223
    79
    38
    18
See reviews for
111
609
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked through the Secret Escapes website, the deal on offer was just to good not to take advantage of!!

The hotel was steeped in snow during our visit, this gave the Hall a real magical feel. We brought our dog and we were given a excellent room with direct access to a private courtyard, just perfect!!

Staff were very pleasant and there was lots of information available on local walks and places of interest. We dined in the restaurant and had the a la carte menu, not cheap at £12 for starters and £24 for main courses, but good all the same.

The Hall is spectacular, although very large it manages to retain a very homely feel. Roaring log fires in some of the public rooms gave some relief from the bitter weather outside.

In all, a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Great place to stay if you want to bring your dog as some the walks are lovely.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesfult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had both looked forward to celebrating our special anniversary by spending a Christmas party weekend at Hintlesham Hall. We had made an earlier visit and booked the Rosetta room, which is delightful with a four poster bed, plenty of space and lovely views over the garden.

Arrival and parking at the hotel is easy and efficient although there is no porter to help you up the tricky staircases with your luggage. The receptionist did her best and we "flopped" into our lovely room and the comfy chair for a relaxation before unpacking for the Christmas party, formal dinner dance. The en-suite facilities were spacious and generally efficient. The noisy extract fan had to be turned off using the ceiling isolator switch or we would have been woken if one of us needed a nocturnal visit. There is limited shelf space around the wash basin and the lighting is limited for ladies putting on make up etc. Small points I understand, but niggling things that could be easily rectified. Bed and general appointment was great.

The champagne reception was lovely with good and attentive service. Our table for two was at the centre of the action - not up a corner or isolated, so we felt engaged with the fun of the evening. The Christmas dinner was OK but not any better than that, a freshly carved turkey would have been better. Wine was delightful and again the service attentive.

The Disco and dancing was enjoyable and the flow and service of drinks continued into the night.

Breakfast the next morning was good and sustaining with a full English and gallons of tea and plenty of toast.

Hintlesham Hall has a good reputation locally and certainly the service was excellent, but the odd touches in the room and food just took off the edge. We were happy with our anniversary stay and had a good night as welcome guests.

Room Tip: Choose one of the feature rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LazyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We just had a beautiful stay at this lovely hotel - Stuart and Bianca were so helpful nothing too much trouble - suite was beautiful - sofa and armchairs to relax - beautiful bath - food extremely good value for money for this type of hotel - would thoroughly recommend it and will certainly be returning soon. My birthday approaching soon - maybe hubby will book and take me!!! have to do two nights though to really appreciate it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttynetty1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I caught the train from London on an advanced fare ( great value with my rail card) . Taxi from the station only £10 to this most beautiful hotel the reception staff were excellent and very efficient .

I was shown to my beautiful superior room which was a suite immaculately laid out with a gorgeous bathroom with a deep roll bath which was augmented by a massive shower .

I decided to tour this stately home and was surprised how many lounges to relax in all beautifully appointed .

I took the set lunch at a bargain price augmented with a delightful red wine and relaxed in the stately dinng room .

The food was perfect so I booked the evening meal again set menu at 30 pounds and exquisite in an even grandeur setting with massive chandeliers .

Breakfast just as grand

I will return

Room Tip: At breakfast sit furthest away from buffer as the rude guests annoyed me as they brushed past my tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauljvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went to this hotel for one night to celebrate a birthday and enjoyed every aspect except one. The main building is stunning and our room was a large and comfortable one-off.

The dinner was good food, well served, but at the start of the meal my wife ordered a glass of still water and I ordered a beer. Both our wine glasses were then filled with sparkling water which did not trouble us at all; I drank my beer and my wife sipped her water. We were not offered any more water.

On our way from the dining room to the lounge we noticed a serving table with lots of open bottles on it. On checking the bill after we had left the hotel I noticed that we had been charged for two 1 litre bottles of still water. That's why it only gets 4 stars.

Room Tip: If you want a rather special room then ask for Cherry Orchard. The view is nothing special but the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a lovely building with a wonderful wood panelled Dining Room, next door was a larger dining room - which is nice but we just loved the intimate wood panelled one more. There are several other rooms to relax in; a Drawing Room, Library , small Bar etc. All very nice. Food was great. Bar prices reasonable, given the surroundings. Didn't try the Spa.
Apart from our great room and the super building, what made the stay was the staff. They were very down to earth, friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble. They did not have the airs, graces and attitude that you sometimes encounter in staff in these grand buildings. Everything seemed to happen in the background - so that you felt you were staying in your own home rather than just being a 'customer'.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 'Regalia', main house, upstairs, double aspect room overlooking front /dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 315Jholiday_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hintlesham
10.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
5.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Muthu Besltead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hintlesham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hintlesham Hall

Property: Hintlesham Hall
Address: George Street, Hintlesham, Babergh District IP8 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hintlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hintlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hintlesham Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hintlesham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Hintlesham
Hintlesham Hall Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall Hotel Ipswich
Hintlesham Hall England - Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing