We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ratnaloka Tour Inn
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ratna Gem Halt(Ratnapura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Gem Land(Ratnapura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gem Field Rest(Ratnapura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
16
19
19
17
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
19
19
17
22
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 93 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Your first impression of this hotel could be very positive as the public rooms are well-appointed and stylish, and the staff charming and helpful, but when you look at the bedrooms it's an entirely different story. The first room I was allocated was in the basement, with damp walls, a scruffy, dirty, torn carpet, blocked sink and dirty bathroom with torn towels. There was no way of controlling the aircon (I was told there were no remote controls.) After I complained I was given a better room, with controllable aircon, hospitality tray (though the kettle was broken) and a television. This was a great improvement, but the room was still basically scruffy, with towels that should have been thrown out, and threadbare carpet. Others in our party made their feelings about their scruffy, dirty rooms very clear to the manager, but she seemed quite impervious to their complaints. This was altogether a dreadful experience. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 3, 2014

Dear,Guest.

i am Sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasent one.As owners we have taken over the mamagment to ur hands now and the hotel is being refurbished now,and we look forward in giving you a better product by the end of october 2014.

After going through your review,as the owner i have decided to ffer you a complementry stay with us for 2 nights on Bed & breakfast basis when ever you wish to stay with us.

Many thanks and we look forward in welcoming you to Brand new Ratnaloka Tour Inns(the resort that sprkles in the city of Gems)

Look forward in seeing you soon.

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

What is it that makes some trip advisors want to condemn it? I might suggest that despite really charming and helpful staff, very attractive reception areas, a lovely approach, this hotel is simply dreadful. So I agree with previous comments. The manager needs replacing very quickly, the rooms are a total health hazard, if you are not electrocuted, repelled by the filth, or have broken toes from sinks that fall away from the wall you will still be amazed that anyone with hotel manganese experience would allow things to get to such a state. This hotel reflects dreadfully on Sri Lanka...please someone take it over it has great potential.

Room Tip: Change the manager
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ROGER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 6, 2014

Dear,Valued Guest

Sorry for our late reply to your comments,we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasent stay.As the woners we have take up the management of the property now and now the hotel is being refurbished and will be completed by end october 2014.

To have you as our valued guest ,we would like to invite you to our hotel for a complementry stay for 2 nights on Bed & breakfast basis.once again excuse us for your unpleasent stay you had during your tour in sri Lanka at our hotel.

We look forward in seeing you

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had stayed at this resort on a previous trip some years ago. This is a large resort set among tea plantations and close to gem mines. We were given a drink on arrival. After check-in we were taken to a large room on the first floor with a view over the river and a neighbouring tea plantation. The ensuite was quite spacious and had a hair dryer. We had tea and coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. There was a spacious balcony on which to sit and view the scenery. The grounds of the complex are large and the swimming pool was at the bottom of the hill with a long climb back up the steps.
The hotel has a gem museum/shop but it was never open while we were there.
It transpired that, being low season, there was only one other couple staying in the resort. Consequently, the staff had only us to wait on and we were given very special attention. Because of this situation, our meals (both dinner and breakfast) were served to our table in the dining area, and we had been requested to pre-order our dinner to help the chef. We had no problems with the food.
A very nice hotel with all the facilities and very helpful staff. It is 8kms from the town centre, but close to the gem fields which we came to see.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_2hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 5, 2014

Dear,Valued Guest

We thank you very much for your positive comments given to us,with regard to your stay at our hotel.we thank you very much and look forward in having you as our valued guest in the near future.

Once again thank you so much

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Set in a rural (but not necessary quiet) location well outside Ratnapura. We had a very big room with a big balcony looking out over the river. Everything was OK but the whole place was rather faded and in need of some investment (e.g. the bath was large but scratched, and the white plastic pool chairs were rather grey). The food was a Western style set menu and was uninspiring. Quite a few mozzies.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

It proved worth the price. There was hardly anything to complain about. We had a group of three people during our tour to Srilanka. I believe there Ratnaloka was a nice stop for us in Kahangama. Our experience was in all average. The people on the job were very helpful and friendly that was certainly a thing to mention.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valilinvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 5, 2014

Dear,Valued Guest

We thank you for your good comments posted by you.and we look forward in having you again as our valued guest in the next future.

Thanking you

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews