We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here!”
Review of Ratna Gem Halt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ratna Gem Halt
Ranked #3 of 17 Ratnapura B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I chose this hostel tempted by the free pick-up service and the room price (1000 rupees). But got none of these!

Came to Ratnapura after climbing Adam's Peak, totally exhausted. I called Ratna Gem Halt hostel to come pick me up from the bus station as they state to give a free pick-up service, but they don't!
So I got a tuk-tuk and came to the guesthouse just to find out that their 1000r rooms now cost 1500 rupees! Rooms were not worth it at all and the owner was totally disinterested in attending me. I would have just turned around and walked away, but after doing the Ratnapura trail I couldn't walk, literally. Every little step was a struggle. And I've already paid a tuk-tuk to get here...

The room was small and weared out. But the best part is the bathroom: there's quite a big window with no glass facing the corridor, so anybody can get into your room through it. You can also imagine the sounds & smells in the corridor after people using their toilets. Oh, and you can say "hi" to people passing by in the hall while having a shower.

No free pick-up, over-priced weary and unsafe rooms, sluggish service and poor food...

Room Tip: No good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hello_from_the_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is a perfect example of how low-value Sri Lankan accommodation is.
The prices on their website are fake so don't rely on them. Moreover it's clearly written "Free pick-up service" but this isn't true, you have to pay your tuk-tuk/taxi to get there.
The rooms are overpriced, very small and if you want hot shower you have to pay more than 2700 Rps.
We stayed there only 1 night in something more similiar to a cell than a room (check the pictures). The walls of the hallway were full of mud. The bathroom was too small and its window didn't have glass so was openly connected to the hallway and it's really easy to enter in the room passing through this "window"
Food is regular and small quantity but expensive.
It seems the owner has no interest in the guest-house.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raoul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank grard2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank nannabechso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ratnapura hotels
6.1 mi away
Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ratnaloka Tour Inn
Ratnaloka Tour Inn
#2 of 2 in Ratnapura
92 reviews
0 mi away
Centauria Hill Resort
Centauria Hill Resort
#1 of 2 in Ratnapura
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sapphire Holiday Resort
Sapphire Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Ratnapura
20 reviews
0 mi away
Elnara Holiday Resort
Elnara Holiday Resort
#7 of 14 in Ratnapura
1 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gem Land
Hotel Gem Land
#6 of 17 in Ratnapura
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratna Gem Halt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratna Gem Halt

Address: 153/5 Outer Circular Road, Ratnapura 70000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Ratnapura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ratnapura
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ratna Gem Halt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing