We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Sabaragamuwa Province
Save
  
Ways to Experience Adam's Peak (Sri pada)
from $160.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
Reviews (1,645)
Filter reviews
1,645 results
Traveler rating
999
394
146
54
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
999
394
146
54
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adam's peak off season sri pada warm clothes coming down the sun rise full moon watch the sunrise worth the effort beautiful sunrise hard work flip flops tough climb worth the climb steep steps couple of days lord buddha
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,645 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Nice play to visit , Nearest Hotels are around 6 KM away from top , You need to hike around 5500 stairs to reach on top , You also can enjoy the sunrise views from top , for that you have to start your journey 12 mid night, 4 to 5 hors required to reach on top. better to bring the winter jacket and penalty of water .

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Yousaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

It is good to climb once in your life to this mountain
It has lot of steps to climb up
We started climbing up at 02:30 am and reached to the top before 05:00 am
It is good to stay and watch sun rise
The shadow reflection of this mountain looks amazing
It's very cold and windy on top so it's good to carry wind proof jacket along with pullovers. We came down on same speed
It took us 02 and half hours to come down

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank nazimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

I climbed Tuesday December 27th, leaving at 2:30 a.m. and taking a very leisurely 4 hours going up and atop the summit. Even on a weekday and non-Poya day, the uppermost steps were very crowded and I had a long wait to climb the last bit. Thin clouds around the summit prevented the famous shadow from appearing, but I had beautiful views of the countryside on the way down, which took a bit over 2 hours.

Badly behaving monks near the trailhead asked foreign visitors to sign registration books, then sneakily added Rs. 2,000 notations to previous entries to trick foreigners into paying that as an admission fee. Monks also offered to tie strings around visitors' wrists as a way to solicit donations. Yet just around the corner a sign stated that there's no fee to climb Adam's Peak! You can safely ignore these monks.

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank BillWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016

We hiked Sri Pada on Dec. 8, 2016, a few days before Poya day, full moon and the start of the pilgrimage season. We started at about 2:45AM and reached the top at 6:30. There were about 100 or so other hikers with us. My feeling is that this was probably the highlight of our Sri Lankan trip, amongst many many highlights. But I doubt I would do it again. Mainly because it was seriously difficult. We had great weather on the way up as we ascended , felt very close to the stars. The last 1000, 500, 100 meters were a real struggle. Ringing the bell at the Buddhist monastery felt special and like a real sense of accomplishment. On the way down stop at "The Last Tea House" just 100 meters from the top for the best vegetable roti... kind of like a stuffed vegetable pocket sandwich in a grilled roti.
The views coming down were spectacular. Hiking down took about 21/2 hours and we could feel our legs become increasingly jelly like. We did the "crab walk" for next 3 days due to the soreness in our legs.
No doubt, this is a serious hike, I think even for those in excellent shape. So happy we did it.

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank jayraka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016

we climbed on 28th December with my friends.started around 8'o clock in night and we reached to the top around 1 am in the morning.not very crowdy day.able to see sunset in the morning!.

Date of experience: December 2016
6  Thank Nadeeshan Buddh... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews