We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect break restful and beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun... Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Crugkern Barn.  Double doors lead out to the patio where you can...
Relax, sit in the sun...
Enjoy a cool glass of wine and read a book.
Artwork alongside the double doors - one of the owner's own mosaics.
The owners coastal themed silk paintings and appliqued cushions add Cornish flavour
Comfort in style. High quality Jonh Lewis cotton sheets and duvet covers. Melin Tregwynt blanket.
Relax, put your feet up, and watch TV.  WiFi available.
Settle back into the hand-made cushions...
...and read a book or two.
New, well equipped modern kitchen with granite work surfaces, electric oven, induction hob.
Shaker style shelf storage
Cornish studio pottery mugs.  We source things locally wherever possible.
Essential supplies readily to hand
Dualit toaster and fast boil kettle. Unique, hand made, original fused glass splashback.
Shaker style dining.
Home made bread and Cornish Yarg cheese go VERY well with a glass of wine
Bathroom, with more original artwork, has a toilet, sink and shower. Quality toiletries provided.
Pebble mosaic provides a coastal twist.
Take it easy in the Cornish sun...
...and enjoy a cool drink in the garden.
The spectacular West Penwith Coast near Land's End, only 10 minutes drive away.
Porth Nanven - Cot Valley, one of West Penwith's hidden gems.  A haven for Choughs and seals.
Sennen Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Just, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Trudi G
1 review
“Perfect break restful and beautiful views”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Nestled within cot valley, a short drive or a pleasant walk into St Just. The Barn is equipped with everything you would need for your stay, the hosts Rick and Chris have thought of it all. The decor is contemporary and cosy. We especially enjoyed the Home made bread a welcome treat after the long drive. The Gardens around the Barn have been designed around the view from the Barn windows, plenty of wildlife to see. We could see that Rick and Chris have put a lot of time and effort in creating a welcoming place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare b
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A Bijou oasis ”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous accommodation and a warm welcome awaits you, complete with freshly baked bread and Cornish Yarg. Hosts Rick and Chris really have thought of everything! The garden is a beautiful place to sit and listen to the birds. From inside the barn you can watch the rabbits hop by and indulge in a spot of bird watching with the binoculars and guides so thoughtfully provided. The barn is so wonderful that you may need to remind yourself to venture further afield to visit the surrounding area. Must visits include the Minnack theatre, Sennor Cove, the coastal path walks to name but a few!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Crugkern Barn. The bread and yarg cheese seem to be a great hit with most of our visitors and we are glad you enjoyed them too. As a keen gardener, but also one who is a lover of the natural world, the rabbits are a mixed blessing. Its a question of finding things to grow which the rabbits don't like eating (not that easy), but I do like seeing them around the place. Live and let live. I've just put up a new bird table in the barn garden so that may make the bird watching even easier. Please come and see us again, we'd love to have you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
It was a real pleasure to have you stay here Marta. Thank you for your cheerful company. Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed both the barn and the local area, and look forward to seeing you again soon. As you said, the area has a lot to offer whatever your interests so I promise you will not be bored!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Chris and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We find that here in the far west any 'wild' weather goes through very quickly, and often at night, leaving lovely Cornish sunshine in its wake. I'm glad you enjoyed the gardens. This recent warm weather has given them a real boost and I'm having difficulty keeping up with it! As you said, we are blessed with a host of things to do locally whatever your taste or interests. Plenty to choose from when you do return. It will be a pleasure to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Chris and I are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend here and would be very happy to see you again should you fancy another break in the 'wild west'. Glad you enjoyed the bread and yarg cheese. It is a bit different and always seems to be a winner. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DevonHend...
devon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people, lovely Cornwall”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A cosy and comfortable place to stay, perfectly located for so many treats - walking distance to St Just, lots of wonderful footpaths through the ancient fields, beaches, places to eat, art studios to visit, Geevor mine, the coastal path, wildlife, Newlyn, Penzance. On top of this, the studio has LITERALLY EVERYTHING you need for a stress free break. And then there's Chris and Rick - the sweetest hosts who obviously care greatly about their guests. Just spot on. I would recommend without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. As you say, there is so much to do here whatever your tastes and whatever the weather. We are glad the barn provdes a comfortable base to start your adventures, come back to after a good day out, and sleep soundly in the quiet of a West Penwith night. We hope to see you again. You would be more than welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjmwaterf...
Waterford , Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ideal base to explore west Cornwall.”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A well equipped and tastefully furnished stand alone open plan self-catering living space on the outskirts of St Just. Owners Rick and Chris are extraordinarily helpful hosts - way beyond the call of duty. They are rooted in their beautiful rural/agricultural environment in all sorts of ways: through continuous work on their expansive property, cycling, walking, helping out on neighbouring farms, community projects, music and art. We got the benefit of their engagement with their place in the form of fresh homemade bread, cornish butter cheese and eggs. Also, in advice about walks, places to visit - and good conversation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We always try hard to support our guests on both the domestic and holiday front. Before we moved here West Penwith was one of our favourite holiday destinations so we have knowledge of it as both residents and former visitors. Always happy to advise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing