We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Rest and Enjoy”
Review of The Cook Book

The Cook Book
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in St Just
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Place to Rest and Enjoy”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ahhh, the Cook Book! I only wish I had used it more often when I lived in the area. It was lovely to revisit and find it just the same, good quality fare and buried in books! The cakes are to die for, the snacks are delicious and the staff helpful and friendly as are the proprietors. They produced a book about the place with recipes but sadly, it won't be reprinted. How lucky am I to acquire one of the last copies!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    44
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Just, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best cheese teas in St Just”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I always have the cheese scones here because they are so good and really cheesy. The coffee is good and comes in a large mug. There are light bites on the blackboard so you can have something more substantial if hungry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgnusDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This lovely little cafe is always welcoming and serves the best coffee for miles around. They make their own cakes and the breakfasts are fantastic. It’s a must when we are in St. Just!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyH427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OK, but slightly disappointing...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited The Cook Book twice whilst staying in St Just. The first time we noticed a faint chemical smell in the main room but thought it may have been emanating from the toilet/storeroom, the door to which was wide open (so we closed it). The coffee we had was good and the 'specials' on the menu board looked interesting and far from run of the mill, so we thought that if the opportunity arose we'd go back.
A couple of days later we fancied a scone and a cup of tea and so we went back. The tea was good. The scone could have been, it was homemade and a good size, but it had clearly been frozen and warmed up in a microwave. Disappointing. And unnecessary. It is perfectly possible to freeze scones and then allow them to thaw naturally; they then retain their texture. I'd never put one anywhere near a microwave! Give me 'fresh scone' over 'warm scone' any time! Bit of a personal hobby horse this one, and I'm sure some people would disagree. Happily all the other tearooms we visited whilst holidaying in Cornwall and Dorset went for the 'fresh baked' option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trusselle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice find.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely lunch in st Just. We ended up sitting outside as it was full. Lovely soup and special - garlic bread, bacon mushrooms and cheese was very tasty if a little greasy. The table next to us had the cheese tea which looked fab.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trusselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cook Book also viewed

 

Been to The Cook Book? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing