We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare stay”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 St Just B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nightmare stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

On arrival at the Hotel (which really is just a pub with basic rooms) we were shown to rooms in the annexe at the back of the pub. There were other people's luggage in our room and we were told they had moved rooms and they thought the luggage had been moved. The room was very basic . Bed clean but creaked. Floorboards creaked too and you could hear people talking in the next room. It was in full sun and you couldn't open the window for security reasons as anyone could step in. The bathroom was tiny with a 70's avocado plastic bath and shower over that hardly trickled. Even with 1 person in there it was cramped. The sink was cracked and the radiator rusty with the floor stained. Paint was peeling off every bit of woodwork. The room overlooked the pub courtyard so we expected some noise til closing time. However, as we had an event to attend the next day we went to bed around 10 ish. People gathered outside the back of the pub to smoke in groups, chatting loudly. We thought this would finish about 11 ish but this went on and around midnight they were politely asked by my partner to keep the noise down as we were trying to sleep. These weren't hotel guests but locals as they had dogs with them and they were aggressive in their response. The noise went on until gone 2.00 am which was very stressful. Having only slept for 4 hours as the pub staff were in at around 6.30 am moving barrels and talking we felt we couldn't go through that again the next night. We complained to the Manager/owner and he wasn't very apologetic and there was no offer to rectify so we cancelled the second night. We can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't have it as we were packing to leave. The experience of this stay was awful, one of the worst stays I have ever had in a so called hotel and I have stayed at many. The hotel across the road (Commercial) is 100 times better as we had family staying there so saw their rooms and it's the same price. I will be surprised if this so called Hotel will still be in business as a hotel as they really just cater for the locals drinking. This was an experience I don't ever want to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snorkelgirl23_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    64
    28
    21
    22
See reviews for
44
84
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PRESTON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Wellington Hotel as part of the Katy Holmes Trust Charity group on August 14th 2013.

We were a team made up of 18 cyclists and 9 support staff who had just completed the John o'Groats to Lands End Cycling Challenge! We were lucky enough to have the support of fashion designer Jeff Banks and Team GB Olympian Helen Clitheroe who were also part of the team staying here. As this was the last day of the challenge we also had family and friends with us too.

Everybody was in good spirits having just completed the mammoth challenge and we were all ready to celebrate in style. We had a meal together upstairs with copious amounts of champagne and were all feeling quite merry! The staff were absolutely wonderful in ensuring that everyone was well looked after and well catered for. They were very patient with quite an excitable crowd :-)

We partied on into the night (and morning) and the landlord and landlady looked after everyone brilliantly. The staff worked so hard to ensure that everyone enjoyed themselves. The rooms were clean and well equipped and comfortable and everyone had a good nights sleep! Breakfast was varied and very hearty :-)

Overall we cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is a lovely country village inn bursting with character and the staff are very warm and welcoming.They are very child friendly! The food is wonderful and the rooms are lovely. We cannot thank them all enough for their wonderful hospitality.

David & Paula Holmes (Katy Holmes Trust) and the #JOG2LE2013 Team :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolflady9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A newly refurbished establishment providing excellent accommodation good value food that the locals appreciate, value for money - try the Welly Burger, or roast, ploughans , salad or FRESH CRAB you will be pleased There is much more. The locals eat there and take their families regularly, you will be met with a warm welcome and if like me, you will return, to continue to enjoy the food and the ambience, note familys with children are welcomed and little ones even have their own menu .I have just booked a family room for in full confidence that they will be delighted

Room Tip: Good value for money,phone and speak direct less commission
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank black s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Perfect for access to Lands End and surrounding area. Don't miss The Minack Theatre- Amazing!! Rooms were very nice as was hotel staff. Its set in a lovely little village with a few other pubs to go to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeroy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed end of July on business, landlord and landlady very friendly and create a fantastic atmosphere. The pub is well known for its great food, you must try the Welly Burger, it does not disappoint.
The rooms are modern spacious and immaculately clean!
The breakfast is the best I've had from any hotel I've stayed in, and I stay in lots. You have a choice of how you like your eggs done, the sausage is very tasty. There is plenty to fill the largest of appetites!
The location is fantastic with many places of interest under 20 minutes, my favourite being Porthcurno beach, with clear blue waters and lovely beach, you would think you are in a different country!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Drewfos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were staying in St. Just for a family holiday, and celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a dinner at The Wellington. The service was excellent, the food was great, and the staff was very accommodating for our fairly large group. We've been here many times in the past, and we always enjoy the ambience: the Wellington is right on the town square of this lovely little town. We'll always come back here for a cheerful pint and a delicious pub meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailbhe1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed Bosavern Secret Garden Camp Sites for 3 days, and always came to the Wellington for our lunch or evening meals.

The staff were always friendly and courteous. The bar was clean and tidy. The food was delicious with generous portions.

There are some interesting pictures and history about the previous landlords of the Wellington Hotel.

There is a car park right outside of the Wellington for anyone not travelling by foot.

Would definitely recommend anyone having a meal here

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanEthel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
0.9 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.3 mi away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
474 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
458 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Commercial
The Commercial
#1 of 9 in St Just
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Market Square, St Just TR19 7HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in St Just
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the A3306 Lands End to St Ives road, one of Cornwall's most picturesque drives. Imposing granite building overlooking the main square. Rooms in main building or overlooking the garden. Ideal centre for walking, climbing, touring, bird watching, water sports and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing