We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenticity, charm and kindness: a unique experience”
Review of Domaine de Bayssac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Paul-la-Coste
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de Bayssac
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If you are interested in true values, this is the place. The property is romantic and decorated with artistic taste. It is refined and rustic at the same time, and it is located on gorgeous grounds marked by the passage of history. The owners love to share with you their appreciation and knowledge of the region, and Philippe gave us an unforgettable tour of his whole property. Every building, stone wall and man-sculpted rock has a story behind it which reveals the history of people living there for centuries.
The food is delicious, plentiful, and reflects the specialties of the region. Furthermore, they have a beautiful organic garden whose produce they use for their meals. They pride themselves in offering you quality.
Breakfast is simple: they offer good bread and a local brioche with delicious jams. But you won't have croissants, for example, because I think it wouldn't reflect the simplicity and the authenticity of the region.
A lot of thought has been put in this place and we are very lucky that it's accessible to all of us.
The owners are very welcoming as well as their friendly, wonderful assistant, Brigitte.
The animals around add to the unique experience of the place.
My only recommendation would be to add soap and shampoo dispensers in the showers and bathtubs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabienne922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had decided to take a motorcycle touring holiday in the Cevennes this June and so picked on the Domaine de Bayssac chambre d'hote, purely by chance, from the internet. What a great choice it turned out to be! The location is stunning and our hosts, Sylvie and Phillipe, were very welcoming (with the added bonus that their English was far better than my French). We were looked after superbly and we could not have asked for better food. There were three of us on this trip and so were were offered a self contained "flat" with a communal lounge and dining room area and three separate rooms attached. This was very comfortable and suited or needs exactly.
The walks through the grounds of Domaine de Bayssac are beautiful and swimming in the river is highly recommended (even if rather chilly)! If you love animals, the Domain de Bayssac is a must; the sheep dogs, sheep and cats are real entertainment value.
A fantastics stay and I would recommend this chambre d'hote to anybody (and most certainly will be). I will definitely be going back.

Neil Davis,
Bath,
UK

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were looking for a place in the Cevennes which was somehow special. Domaine de Bayssac is just that, particularly due to the relaxing atmosphere that Sylvie et Philippe bring. The building and grounds are a joy to explore. Perhaps you will even have the thrill of listening to Philippe practising for his next piano recital ...
Nick & Celia, Malawi

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalawiNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very friendly owners who ate their dinner with me as I was the only guest. They have worked very hard to make Bayssac into a charmimg B&B. Very traditional Cevennes style bedrom with comfy bed. Outside a spacious garden withlots of seats and a path down to a peaceful spot by the river. Even several sheep roaming the gardens with their bells giving a very alpine feel to the area. Most of the food at dinner which was delicious had been grown in the garden and included an aperitif and wine. Breakfast could have be a little nicer if there had been some croissants or fresh bread. I know it is miles from any shop but now there are freezesr it is easy to serve freshly cooked rolls or croissants.
Sylvie had made all the jams which were delicious. Altogether a very relaxing stay on my journey across France even though it was more expensive than the other two similar places I stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _vickytaylor48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Berenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank antonietta84290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippeleroy3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de Bayssac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Bayssac

Address: Hameau de Mandajors, 30480 Saint-Paul-la-Coste, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Saint-Paul-la-Coste
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Paul-la-Coste
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing