We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”

Review of Millhayes

Millhayes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Millhayes
Conservatory dining area View along kitchen to dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Millhayes
Conservatory dining area
View along kitchen to dining area
Kitchen
Sitting room
Family room
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Stairwell
Annexe bedroom
Annexe shower room
Exterior view of dining area/conservatory
Fabulous wisteria!
View from Millhayes
View from one of the terraces
View of the annexe
Exterior of Millhayes
Hidden bench
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cotleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katie8620...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

As soon as we arrived at the property I could see that it was beautiful and the inside matched the outside. Great sized bedrooms throughout with a beautiful mix of traditional and modern decor. The property was very clean throughout on arrival and the owners extremely helpful with the booking process before and after the stay. 9 of us stayed as an extended break for a wedding, but will definitely look to book again for a holiday/short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory/dining room
Liked least: was a tad cold, took a while to heat up
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect NYE get-away”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house (and surrounding area) is absolutely beautiful. As a group of 8 adults celebrating New Year's Eve, it was plenty big enough- with 2 living rooms NYE was even more special with the log fire! All the essentials (tea/coffee/bread/milk) were provided for our stay and we were plenty warm and cosy with lots of board games to keep us occupied. The beds were all the comfiest beds any of us had ever slept in!

The only negative thing I would say is the 10am checkout as this is quite early (11am would be much better) and the 4pm check-in quite late. I completely understand this is to allow for cleaning- and it is spotlessly clean!).

It was such a WONDERFUL holiday, and we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: The check-in and check-out time
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Millhayes. I am sorry that you found the check-in/check-out times slightly tight - we are sometimes able to be more flexible but if we have guests staying immediately before and after, we do need to stick to these to ensure that the property is cleaned and serviced to the highest level. Do hope you come and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magdgrab
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Really beautiful place, picturesque and tranquil. Done up to a lovely standard and well equipped...wish it was my holiday home, so could visit more often. Nothing bad to say, comes highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaylee D
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous Cottage”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Myself and 8 others ( girls aged 21-22 ), stayed at this cottage for a november/ christmasy get away. We don't tend to be all together at once so wanted to book something nice for our 'christmas weekend'.

When arriving we were amazed at the beauty of the place! We arrived in the dark so didnt see much of the surroundings until the next day. The house was very cosy and roomy! The kitchen which was the prime area for us to sit and socialize was gorgeous and very well equipped. It had everything you need and then some. They have many board games and dvds to keep you entertained.
The garden is gorgeous to look out to front the dinning area, the autumn colours where beautiful to look out over.
The bedrooms where very spacious, and as for the beds.. i never slept in such an amazing comfortable bed, felt like sleeping on a cloud!
Although honiton seems far out, theres plenty to do around. We visited Clarks Village, Lyme Regus, Sidmouth and a few other places. We all really enjoyed our selfs and would 110% stay again!

Judy was also very helpful with any questions we had!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fay26T
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Home from Home, 5 Star Stay!”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I had the most amazing stay in this property with 8 of my friends. Millhayes is a beautiful home in a picturesque setting, I truly felt at home & relaxed during our stay. We visited nearby Honiton, Clarkes Village, Lyme Regis & Sidmouth, there was plenty to do!

Millhayes was fully equipped, the kitchen had everything we needed, 2 lounges with TV's, log burner, hairdryers, spare blankets, spacious dining area and a great hide and seek haven for the inner child!

There isn't anything I could fault with this property, we truly had the best time for our christmas gathering and can't wait to return!

Judy who managed our booking was great! She helped us with every query and went above and beyond to assist us.

Amazing stay, Amazing Service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Loved the deep bath too!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJ125
Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Millhayes as part of a family get together with ages ranging from 6 months to 65 (sorry mum).

The house is beautiful and the picture really don't so it justice. The kitchen is modern and very well equipped. The dining room is huge and has amazing views over the garden. As we went in November it looked stunning in Autumnal colours.

All the room are very comfortable and we noticed that all the furniture and fixtures were of a very high quality, nothing like previous holiday homes we stayed in.

It is a little tricky to find but once there it's a great location for exploring east Devon.

Also booking with Judy was excellent and very straight forward. I hope to stay there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views and very well kept property
Liked least: I was told the annex was a bit noisy a night when it rained
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pumpkin_q...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful & relaxing haven for two 60th Birthday celebrations!”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent four days here with the family in May for our parents 60th birthdays and found it very hard to leave. It is surrounded by beautiful countryside and stunning views. The cottage is a great size for a party of 6 and 3 children with plenty of rooms to escape one another if you need some space. The annex was perfect for my parents to retreat to in the evenings and escape the noisy kids. The kitchen was extremely well kitted-out and we loved breakfast times in the sunny conservatory area. The lounge had ample board games and the bathrooms were luxurious. The kids loved exploring the garden and our dog was in her element with the countryside walks we were able to do. We absolutely loved this place and the only slight negative was the wi-fi wasn't great but as we were there to escape and relax, it didn't matter too much. It represented very good value for money and we'd definitely stay there again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing