We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant experience”

Aberglasney Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aberglasney was made famous by the BBC television series "A Garden Lost in Time" which followed its restoration. Today it is quite simply one of Wales' finest gardens. A renowned plantsman's paradise with a unique Elizabethan cloister garden at its heart, Aberglasney offers the opportunity to explore more than 10 acres of ancient gardens as well as the award winning Ninfarium: a special indoor garden filled with exotic plants from around the world. The gardens and the fully restored ground floor of Aberglasney's grade II* listed mansion offer a stunning venue for exhibitions and events. Aberglasney Gardens, the highly regarded tearooms, our shop and plant sales area are OPEN EVERY DAY (except Christmas Day.)The gardens are largely wheelchair friendly, (wheelchairs can be pre-booked.)
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We visited the gardens whilst staying locally. We were very impressed by the work being done there and the restoration work on the house is of a high standard. Despite It being late January the gardens were extremely tidy thanks to the diligent and hardworking staff and volunteers. It was perhaps not the best time to see the gardens as much of the plant life was relatively dormant, but nevertheless it was a very worthwhile visit and we spent around four hours exploring and enjoying the diversity of wildlife, particularly the woodland birds.
The gardens are well laid out we would love to return again when the gardens are at their best in the spring or summer. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MBJM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    83
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A really lovely morning.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We visited the house and gardens for the Christmas Fair, and we were definitely glad that we did - there were so many stalls there selling all manner of locally produced goods at really quite reasonable prices, there were carol singers to get us in the festive spirit and even some reindeer! The gardens themselves were beautifully kept and still had plenty to look at, even at this time of year. The produce market was also amazing, i could quite happily have eaten my way from one end to the other! Definitely going to be returning next year :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Piskie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nicest winter fair.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the first time I have been to the gardens and what a time to go. The gardens were beautiful, the fair was amazing. I will definitely be returning to see the gardens in the summer. Would totally recommend.

My children aged 4 and 6 are used to going to the botanical gardens and both of them said they loved "the new botanical gardens".

The yew tunnel was amazing, the kids loved exploring the walled areas and wooded area. Of course the kids went to see the reindeer at the winter fair and I went because I wanted to see the craft stalls. I will definitely be returning fair or no fair.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went last month while on holiday in Carmarthenshire. Lovely 'lost' estate with a restoration as part of the story. Very sensitive and green in its reconstruction, and delicious food in the cafe. October didn't have the blooms, but it was still a lovely place for a walk among the Autumn leaves, and the transformation of the old servants' quarters into a hot house is remarkable. The sort of place to inspire happy memories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ACR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were visiting Wales and came across this Garden road sIgn on the way, so with GPS help we reached the place, and alas we almost missed it as the GPS directed us to the village with the same name, which is directly opposite the other side of the road.. Good thing we finally found it, and to our pleasant surprise is a huge garden with different flowers and plants and natural landscaping. Lots of work must have put into it as we saw some workers clearing part of the lands, the vegetations and flowers were splendid. We had lunch later at the cafe sitting outdoor, the stews was delicious, service was good. We enjoyed the visitation, worth the effort to drive all the way from Swansea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NBJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberglasney Gardens also viewed

Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Ystradfellte, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Aberglasney Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing