We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gatakers Landing Restaurant

Gatakers Landing Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went down early on a Friday night and watched a spectacular sunset over the water, which is a bit rare on the East Coast. Atmosphere was so relaxed and friendly and the food was absolutely delicious. Best scallops and garlic bread I've had.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    12
    7
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shame! Such a great spot!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Could have cried. Husbands 61st birthday, so chose Gatakers because of Fantastic location and atmosphere but they need to get their act together. 8 of us for dinner (we were only patrons) and food was terrible. Whether the Chef or owner not supplying fresh ingredients we got frozen lobster not fresh for most expensive dishes. This is Hervey Bay not Brisbane or Sydney and if they don't lower their prices, have a cheaper menu and supply fresh ingredients they might as well close their doors. All 8 of us complained and it spoiled the party especially bill of $100 a couple. Will keep tabs on future food reviews and if positive will try again because of where it is.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank wombat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a friendly,attentive waitress,superb view of the bay,relaxing atmosphere and mouth watering dinner.Recommend highly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Hervey Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My family visited on a Friday night, quite busy but the lovely hostess spent time with us explaining the menu. When our meals arrived we were amazed at the quality and presentation. Great value for money, wonderful service and beautiful position right on the water. This will definitely become one of our favourites for a night out and have already booked a large group for a wedding anniversary celebration.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boathouse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
“Never fails! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We love Gatakers and eat there at least once a fortnight. The food is gorgeous especially the pumpkin bread, oysters and steaks. Pat is a fantastic hostess as well as the waitress Alisha. The setting id beautiful. It's the only restaurant in Hervey Bay where you can sit by the beach and watch the sunset with a chilled glass of chardonnay. It's our first choice of restaurant in the Bay

Helpful?
Thank Solomonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatakers Landing Restaurant also viewed

Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Gatakers Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing