We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,310)
Filter reviews
2,310 results
Traveler rating
880
770
367
171
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
880
770
367
171
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room leisure facilities lovely grounds small lake set menu main building evening meal drawing room lovely hotel wowcher deal bar prices relaxing weekend buffet style restaurant staff stable block a lovely stay four poster bed
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,310 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2019

We stayed here for two nights pending a visit to friends in Oswestry.
.The hotel is a fare distance outside of Shrewsbury so if you want wine with dinner, which we did, eating in the hotel is essential.
We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and when checking in (not a particularly efficient system) asked to book a table for dinner for 7.30 to be told we could only have 6.45 or 8.45. Reluctantly we chose 6.45 but when we got to the restaurant found it very quiet indeed and it was still quiet when we left an hour or so later - so it would have been perfectly feasible for us to eat at 7.30.
On leaving the restaurant we asked to book a table for the following evening at 7.30 and guess what? Same problem 6.45 or 8.45 at which point we decided to eat in the bar.
That said, the meal we had in the bar was excellent and the service was spot on.
Other than that, our room was spacious and comfortable and it really is a very well appointed hotel - pity they can't e more accommodating with meal times.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

Having booked to stay by email and receiving confirmation email when we arrived at the hotel we were told that we were not booked in. Basically instead of taking our word about the booking it was made clear that we would have to prove that we had indeed had a confirmatory email. This took over 30 mins until it was obvious that we were in the right and then all the profuse apologies started. If you book to stay make sure you ring to confirm before travelling to avoid our experience.
The hotel was ok. Our room was in the stable block which meant going outside the hotel so in the event of inclement weather make sure you have the necessary clothing etc. They don't even provide complemtary umbrellas. Security seems to be taken seriously and there is a security lock into the stable block to prevent unauthorised entry. Unfortunately someone has put gaffer tape over the lock to render the security useless.
Overall not a pleasant experience.

Room tip: Get room in main hotel.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

We booked this hotel through a TravelZoo special deal which included dinner, breakfast and the spa. Hotel is in lovely location very near the A5/M54 and Shrewsbury. Extensive grounds and an area to sit out and enjoy afternoon tea in the sunshine. When we booked the hotel we were advised to book for dinner and the Spa which we did. However on checking in we were told the only time a table was available for dinner was 2100. We had booked for 1845 as we prefer to eat earlier rather than later. We spoke to the manager/supervisor who managed to get us a table foe 1915. So what happened to our original table booking? Other guests were also told 2100 was the only time available so a good job we challenged it otherwise what was the point of booking a table when we originally booked? Our room was in a separate area but one set of windows has no openings and the other set could not be opened so it got quite hot in the night (we like to sleep with a small window open normally). WE mentioned the window at Reception the following day but on returning that evening nothing appeared to have been done. If a room without windows is allocated I do think guests should be informed before/when checking in. The dinner on the first night was a good choice and good food. Equally the breakfasts was fine – hot food being from a self-service buffet. Plenty to see in and around Shrewsbury – good National Trust property/grounds is 10-15 mins drive away and the town has a river which trips on it. On the second night we found an excellent pub/restaurant nearby (New Inn, Baschurch)

Room tip: Make sure you get a confirmed time for dinner and pre book the spa
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank paulinecS2693YV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

This hotel is 3 or 4 miles outside Shrewsbury in the countryside. We had a suite overlooking the small lake which was made all the nicer with an unexpected bottle of Prosecco and a box of chocolates - a nice touch. Rooms were spacious, but due to the old building, floor boards creaked a bit, and you could hear people walking around in the room above.

Breakfast was excellent, particularly the freshly cooked and replenished standard full English fayre!

We ate in the restaurant for dinner. Smallish menu, but plenty to suit all tastes.

We went to this restaurant over 10 years ago, and it is still the same, and would certainly return.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Dear Richard,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Donna Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Lovely hotel and grounds perfect for a wedding i would say. Room was good standard clean and comfortable as expected. Very pleasant staff especially in the 1630 bar. Was dissappointed the jacuzzi wasnt working( new one on order) but overall the gym,spa and pool area added to our stay. Breakfast was buffet style with good choices and good quality food. Our room was in the main building spacous and quiet. Taxi into Shrewsbury £6ish.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Front Office Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Dear Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us here at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa.

I will pass on your feedback to the team, who are always thrilled to receive such positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and with the Jacuzzi up and running to ensure a 5 star worthy review!

Kind Regards,

Donna Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews