We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked a belated Director's Christmas evening with overnight to include an a la carte meal and breakfast.
At no time during the reservation were we asked if we had any guests with immobility : at no point were we asked if we had any objections to being put in the Stable Block away from the main building. At no time were we made aware that whether any of us had a disability or not we were expected to carry our own luggage (no porter present or offered) traverse up and down some seriously steep stone steps, walk round the hotel to the back..... and then two flights of stairs to get to the rooms. 3 of the rooms had strong smells of damp - which the hotel must have known because all the windows were wide open and it was very cold - and plug in air fresheners were installed. The carpet in the one room was ringing wet to the touch!!! Another room had no wardrobe doors, another room had no fridge. All the rooms in this wing did not have a room safe which is very important these days. None of these rooms offered a dressing gown - and it is a Spa hotel. They did get a fridge to us after we had to go all the way down to voice our problem. The meal was Ok but very limited choice for a la carte. One guest ordered French fries for which they charged £6 surcharge. she received just 6 chips in the wire basket - so £1 per chip! They did not even stock the liqueur we asked for. Surcharge of £6 if you wanted the steak which was disappointing given the actual choice on offer of main courses. The receptionist did her very best to help but to be fair had to keep going to ask her Manager. The man who delivered the fridge was polite and very helpful and even conducted a search of the wardrobe because he thought there should be a safe in there too!!!! Breakfast was lovely - even self serve buffet style. We were given a £50 refund across our total bill - which was more than £900 - so whilst we were grateful for this - does it really represent a good token of apology for all that was just not 4 star! More like 2 star. Very sorry but we would be hard pressed to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are not fit or have any walking problems - do not get put in the Stable Wing. Also make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your constructive feedback.

With regards to the immobility of guest’s, we would hope that our arriving guest’s would advise us at reservation stage of any low mobility they may have, in order for us to allocate a room to accommodate their needs.

The receptionist on duty, fully apologies about the room which had the leak, and did offer to move the guest’s to alternate room, however; this was declined.

We have taken on board all your other feedback, and will address them accordingly in order to prevent them from happening again.

King regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed with my Mum who is 96 on the lst March and then I stayed again with a friend on the 3rd March.
I can honestly say that this is probably the very best friendly, helpful, service I have ever received.
I am quite used to staying in good hotels, but everyone at The Albrighton Manor went out of their way to provide a service of excellence.
Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Room 14 is absolutely gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you, so much for your very kind words. We are please that both you and your mother enjoyed your stay. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kindest regards

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited this hotel with a female friend as we had decided to treat ourselves to the spa package which included treatments, dinner and breakfast.
We had a lovely stay, the food was great and I have to say that every member of staff we met throughout the hotel was extremely friendly. These little touches really make or break a hotel and I have to say I couldn't fault one member of staff - Obviously the Mecure brand are pushing their staff to go the extra mile and this is really appreciated.
I will definitely be back! The only fault was I would have preferred to stay in the main building rather then the newer section, however I'm sure the quality of rooms is the same, this was just a personal preference.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvervexcebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Christmass gift from boys.everythink was good room,food,staff,service.will visit again,and would recommend to everyone.felt good from moment we arived,well done to all the staff.being in catering trade for past 40 years,and still at it,I am very hard to please,but this was a rare treat,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visited recently for one night and a birthday party. The hotel was lovely from the surroundings to the room. The staff in particular we're excellent, especially with my 2 year old and the other children at the party. Lovely breakfast and can't wait to visit again. The only negative was the bar prices, extortionate would be an under statement, but it didn't spoil the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa.

The bar pricing that we have is similar to most 4 star properties.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
Kind regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenka71
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A nice hotel, a little bit out of Shrewsbury so car/taxi required if you want to get into Town; gym/pool is good as is food/service and rooms. Situated in lovely surroundings and family friendly; staff are good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
The team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Shropshire. We look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range: $96 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing