We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay for a dinner dance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An exceptional hotel in a quiet and beautiful setting. The function room was well above average with a splendid view onto the lake. The bedroom was nice, clean and spacious; the dinner and breakfast were excellent but the real bonus was the attitude of the staff. They were all welcoming, cheerful, obliging and efficient - this makes all the difference and made made our stay really memorable. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel staff exceptionally efficient, friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble and they did everything with a smile. The spa facilities were also very good with the staff making you feel pampered and special. Angelo especially is worth a mention so attentive without beign intrusive and made one feel as though nothing else mattered except you. What a fantastic experience - in fact I've already booked my next break there!

Room Tip: A room at the front overlooking the lake is really nice to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I look forward to welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked on a deal and were very glad we chose this hotel. I have stayed at Mercure hotels before and they are of a good standard but the Shrewsbury Albrighton was of an exceptionally high standard for a hotel of this type. I have to give a special mention to the very friendly and attentive staff who made us feel especially welcome from start to end - they were outstanding ambassadors for the hotel. The cleanliness of the room and the public areas is also worthy of mention and the food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. We have already decided to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesbondlookalike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for one night.
Welcoming staff.
Great offer with travel zoo...
Comfortable large bedroom,room 14.Warm and cosy.
Tasty and excellent evening meal;
Wonderful buffet breakfast.
Quiet spa.
Looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Only downside which didn't bother us...a charge for internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, 16th & 17th November 2012. Our first impression was that this place looked interesting on the outside. We were welcomed by Laura on reception and made to feel that this was a good hotel to stay at. Our room, a Superior Twin, was a good size with 2 armchairs for relaxing in. The twin beds were joined together to make a large double and was very comfortable. All of the staff that we encountered were very polite and friendly, those in the restaurant really knew their job, efficient but not obtrusive. However, there were problems. The room heater was not working, neither was the bathroom heater, but there was a portable electric heater supplied which did a good job. The mini-fridge also had a fault and was more of a mini-heater. These faults we reported to reception so hopefully they will be rectified. The other problem we experienced was the restaurant, or more precisely, the menu. It appears that the menu is a standard for Mercure U.K. and that could be the problem. On the first night we both ordered prawns in puff pastry with chilli sauce. The prawns and sauce were very good but the pastry was raw. On the second night I decided to give the kitchen a second chance & ordered the prawns again - same result. Whoever at head office is responsible for the menu needs to either teach the kitchen staff how to cook or don't put something on the menu that can't be cooked properly. The rest of the menu was O.K. but lacked the sort of flair you get from a good chef. Would we stay again? - Maybe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harburybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is a great choice for a relaxing weekend away. The hotel is a short drive from the centre of Shrewsbury, but feels like it's out in the countryside.

We stayed in one of the annexe buildings, which was furnished to a high standard. The breakfast was excellent, with really good waiter service.

The service overall was good, but a little inconsistent at times. The bar staff were a little slow and there was some confusion over our booking at reception.

Overall, a great hotel if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I had booked myself and 5 of my friends into a fairly cheap Spa break at this hotel and to be honest we weren't expecting much at all due to the price! However we were enormously surprised and could not fault the hotel at all and all 6 of us have said we will definitely all revisit it. From the reception staff, to the bar staff, to the spa therapists, to the waitors and even to the cleaners, they were extremely helpful, friendly and just generally really nice!
The spa and treatments were lovely and relaxing and the rooms were enormous! We managed to easily sit 6 of us in a room for pre-dinner drinks! Also I must mention the food! We had a 3 course evening meal in the lovely Oak Room Restaurant and a cooked buffet breakfast, both were really good quality food.
I just want to say many thanks to all of the staff for making it such a great weekend for me and my friends and we will be seeing you again!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albrighton
3.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#10 of 16 in Shrewsbury
370 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
8.0 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range: $96 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Newly refurbished The Orchid Rooms at Inspiration Leisure and Spa offers a gym, fitness classes, a pool, relaxation lounge and thermal suite including a sauna, steam room, ice room, and six treatment rooms, two of which are doubles. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing