We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It warms your heart!!”
Review of Morere Hot Springs

Morere Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Morere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Therapeutic Natural Mineral Springs set amongst one of the largest tracts of lowland rainforest remaining on the East Coast.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It warms your heart!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After a recommendation from the hotel reception, I drove down the coast to Morere, to experience the Hot Springs. Have never endulged before so a new experience for me. I was amazed by the price to start with , only 8 New Zealand dollars!! There are 8 pools to choose from although the cold plunge and outdoor swimming pool were closed for the winter. The thermal pools though were brilliant. I chose to use the ones up in the forest, very secluded, with only one other couple using the pools. The pools were fantastic, very relaxing and theraputic, took the pain out of a dodgy back within minutes!! The temperature of the water was rather high in one pool, felt like I was being hard-boiled! However leaping into the second pool was much more comfortable. I spent a good four hours just wallowing in te heat and soaking up the outdoor life of New Zaland. Loved every minute of it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy G, Manager at Morere Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for placing a review of your visit to the springs and am glad that you enjoyed your Morere experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Arnaud, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Super-hot & relaxing”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I spent a few hours on a cold day soaking in the hot pool up in the nikau forest (a 5-7 minute walk slightly uphill from the entrance). There was also a cold plunge pool and a very hot pool which I would guess at about 44 degrees. No sounds but the birds and the gurgling stream. I would advise that you take a drink of fresh water with you as the salty pools are quite draining. The pools themselves are stainless steel with an underwater bench right round so you can sit and soak, they are about 2 metres square and fit 6-8 people. My only criticism was that the change rooms were very wet and it was difficult to keep clothes dry. The kind owner brought up a torch for me to get back down the path as I was there till after dark. Closer to the entrance are the main swimming pool plus private pools which I did not try. The walk to the pools is on a sealed path with a lot of the trees and plants identified.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Morere Hot Springs”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

THis is an awesome place to be. We went there on a very cold rainy day and spent our time bathing in the hot water salt springs and having a picnic lunch under cover at there picnic tables. These salt water springs are high up in the hills and whilst relaxing in their Nico pools is it very easy to imagine that you are the only person present for miles around. Fabulous.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very relaxing.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent a very relaxing afternoon here with friends who live nearby, they visit quite often. I would echo what other reviewers have said, small and friendly, enjoyable. There is also a swimming pool nearer to the car park but we just stayed in the pools. There is a shop and cafe on site.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Injebreck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Staff are friendly and nice. The whole place is above average. The hot spring was just fantastic. There are few options. Surrounded with nature and there are some walking trails you can do as well. Overall, I am more than satisfied and would come back there maybe during winter time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wisdommatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morere Hot Springs also viewed

Wairoa, Hawke's Bay Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Mahia Beach, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Morere Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing