We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience in hot springs”
Review of Morere Hot Springs

Morere Hot Springs
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Morere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Therapeutic Natural Mineral Springs set amongst one of the largest tracts of lowland rainforest remaining on the East Coast.
Utrecht, Holland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience in hot springs”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you travel from Gisborne to Napier, you definitely have to stop at the Morere hot springs. After paying a small amount you take a 10 minute walk through beautiful nature to arrive at 3 small hot spring baths up the hill. (if you are squeamish you can also book your own private bath). We were lucky to be the only ones in the open bath and it was lovely. Beautiful scenery and very relaxing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    33
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Experience a hot spring”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

we went to the morere hot spring to try the natural therapeutic spring water and amazing botanical rainforest trails in this beautiful country. it is a little basic but very friendly with a nominal entry fee and a short walk to communal changing rooms and three spa pools of varyng temperature. Hot, very hot and cold. The pools are man made stainless steel not natural rock pools. the sound of the stream nearby and scents of ferny rainforest made it very relaxing. it was not busy with one or two other people there taking the waters and you could soak your aches and pains away providing you can bear the water which is quite hot. I guess it wouldn't suit everyone but I found it very beneficial and well worth an hours drive from Gisbourne. ts a pity there wasn't more information about the history of the old hotel there which burnt down in 1994 or how the spa waters are formed around. But overall I will return before my trip is complete.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bansheesangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Being one with Nature”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautiful place to feel close to nature, great walks, and awesome pools to relax in. Can look a little run down but is still a great place to go with friends and/or family.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“serene”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stopped here after driving for some time on a gloomy rainy day, we went for a private pool, it was just what we needed. lovely warm soak overlooking the river, the staff was very informative, lovely place

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went during the winter and had a great relaxing time. Even the kids enjoyed all what the hot springs had to offer. The surroundings are very complementary of what happens to be quite a unique experience of bathing in saltwater springs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EastlandMotorLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morere Hot Springs also viewed

Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Wairoa, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
Gisborne, Gisborne Region
 

Been to Morere Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing