We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Wolds Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wolds Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Bainton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for early evening meal and as the sun was shining we sat outside in the courtyard area. Very pleasant surroundings, good selection of food and excellent portion sizes. We both had a ploughmans and thought it was delicious. Didnt have room for pud but the cakes looked yummy and were huge portions! There's a little shop and gallery also which was a nice added extra. Would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Plewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    38
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
51
112
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay following a special meal out and wolds village fit the bill. We had a beautiful themed room "Victorian" which felt very cosy and luxurious. The room had everything you could need, plenty of sockets, tv, tea and coffee making. Lovely en suite with rainfall shower over the bath. Soft fluffy towels, hair drier free wifi an gorgeously comfy 4 poster bed. The room was lovely and quiet. There was a slight hiccup with our taxi for the evening but the owner kindly took us in his car which was brilliant service. The breakfast the following morning was delicious all home cooked with a great choice. Well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was my second visit to the wolds. A great place to stop for coffee or a meal. I had the most amazing chocolate chip scone with chocolate spread and cream - heaven !!! The staff are very friendly and the restaurant is clean and bright and airy. Theres a great selection of home made cakes and different teas and coffees as well as main meals and sandwiches. It does get busy so best to get in early.

Theres also a art gallery and I believe accommodation and I love the quirky selection of model animals dotted around the car park area, the fox definately had us looking twice !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited The Wolds village for my husbands birthday, with our family, for Sunday lunch. We booked in advance and we're welcomed immediately. We have been before, and enjoyed it, but this time, the food was fabulous...........my husband is a chef and I cannot remember the last time he fully enjoyed a meal out!! The roast beef just melted in the mouth, the childrens portions were just right and no chicken nuggets in sight!! We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will return, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited many times in the past, but not for a while. This time chose to visit with both children for a Saturday lunch and was not disappointed.

Great food and very friendly service - whole set up of gallery, shop and tea room is very inviting and we no doubt will be back.

Well done Wolds Village!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Remblence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I like to think I'm pretty picky with my reviews and certainly when staying in city centres, I am often disappointed with what i get for my money. Wold's village was a bit of a last minute thought and far from my usual pick of places - certainly a choice I don't regret. The room - well as you would expect, it's certainly unique and full of character. It's really got everything you would want - the bed is very comfortable, it's not stuffy, good temperature controls, lovely bathroom.. the only point I would make was that for such a large room, it's a shame the TV was not larger - but then again, you dont come to a place like this for TV. There was WiFi in the room for all those who like to keep up to date with work, plan the trips ahead etc and this was a nice surprise. I'd usually find some holes to pick but for the money you pay - and for a rural little hotel, this really cannot be faulted.
As for food - the menu in the room is out of date and this was disappointing. The quality of the food itself was first rate! I couldn't find a seperate entry for the cafe but I would rate this top marks too. Breakfast was equally excellent, with a fresh fruit salad and yoghurt to choose from and a lovely cooked breakfast to follow - all the food was great, the staff were excellent too.

Location wise - we picked this in order to have the freedom to travel to York, Scarbrough and various other places and for this, it's the perfect choice. It's very rural but road access to York will get you there in 30 minutes and its not much more to Scarbrough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunslave2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent a very pleasant couple of hours over lunch one Saturday. The food was delicious with a good choice of vegetables being served with the main meals. One warning - leave room for the huge choice of tasty desserts as the portions are very generous. Will definitely be calling again for lunch.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pukeko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainton
4.7 mi away
Best Western The Bell In Driffield
14.1 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
4.7 mi away
Forty One
Forty One
#4 of 17 in Driffield
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Highfield Farm
Highfield Farm
#5 of 17 in Driffield
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wold Cottage
Wold Cottage
#1 of 1 in Wold Newton
153 reviews
9.5 mi away
St Quintin Arms Inn
St Quintin Arms Inn
#1 of 17 in Driffield
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolds Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolds Village

Property: Wolds Village
Address: Manor Farm, Bainton, Driffield YO25 9EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Bainton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bainton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wolds Village 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolds Village is a family-run establishment located in a magnificent Georgian farmstead which, during the 19th century, incorporated a charming coaching Inn. It is located in the unspoiled Yorkshire Wolds at the centre of the East Riding of Yorkshire. We offer seven individually designed rooms, all themed with a different historical period. From Tudor, Victorian, Georgian & Gothic to Art Deco, Art Nouveau & Edwardian. Five of the rooms have king-sized double beds, some with fourposters & two rooms are twin bedded. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms & have a colour TV, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryers & beautiful views over open countryside. Visit Britain have given a Gold award alongside the star status. We also have a restaurant & tearooms which is open 7 days a week 10am to 8pm(last bookings) Mon to Sat & 10am to 5pm Sundays serving traditional English cuisine at is best, with many locally sourced products. We are well known for our Yorkshire breakfasts which are served in the conservatory area of the restaurant & we have achieved the Visit Britain Breakfast Award. We also have a fantastic craft & gift shop which stocks a huge array of goods & is a real Aladdins cave. The shop is open 7 days a week. In addition, we have two beautiful courtyards with outside seating areas, woodland walk with art trail & large car park with CCTV. Free internet WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wolds Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing