We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place on earth”
Review of Anvil Arms

Anvil Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“wonderful place on earth”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

we went to a wedding reception at the anvil arms and everything was first class.The food was amazing and plenty of it and the staff where the most friendliest people you could ever meet.we could not fault anything

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilly r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“what a find”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

ask to see the photos you'll see the Queen has visited!!!
lovely little pub with a great atmosphere and very famous visitors!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ValerieGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly landlady/locals, Huge Meal!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went to the Anvil Arms last night for a meal. Oh my goodness!. We had starters - big mistake! The starters were huge. I had prawn cocktail & my husand & children had the breaded mushrooms. Then one daughter had a cheeseburger - massive, full of onions, mayo. cheese. The other one had salmon which was a reasonable sized piece, came with white wine & prawn sauce. I had the gammon which came with an egg & pineapple. My husband chose the mixed grill - well nearly 24 hours later & he can just about feel hungry! It was huge, but all the meat was delicious. And it all came accompanied by loads of onion rings, new pots, chips, peas, carrots, ratatouillle, baby corn, asparagus, mangetout. We felt so guilty that so much of it had to go back. Would most definitely recommend this pub/restaurant. The landlady was lovely, she chatted to us & made us feel welcome. Wish it had been open for food all of the week we were there. Incredible value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TezTez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went to the Anvil Arms over the weekend with the wife.A hidden gem in the country side.The food was execellent but the selection of real ales caught my eye.These along with the meal was superb.The friendly welcome from the landlady and staff couldn't be faulted.
The regional branch of Camra most visit the place as theres the Good beer guide sticker in the window and their Pub Mirror magazine inside.
As I've said a real gem..will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MARK2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, and friendly people.”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went on a monday night for the "early bird" menu. had read a previous review recommended the steak and ale pie. And it didnt disappoint. Homemade short crust pastry. Plenty of meat, all of which was lean. Not even a tiny bit of grissle. Homemade chips. And a boat of extra gravy made from meat juices. And this was an early bird meal priced at 5.95. Outstanding value. Add this to a very generous treacle sponge puddings. And well kept ales. and your on a winner. Take advise though, do book in advance, it was busy even on a monday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anvil Arms also viewed

Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Sledmere, Driffield
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Anvil Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing