We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have 2 Camping pods in our South facing garden available for hire - each camping pod has 2 single beds / heater / lamp and electric sockets each camping pod sleeps 2 adults.Our camping guests have use of pub loos washing facilietes 24hrs and use of shower
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited there a couple of times recently. Did not eat there but good beers, very friendly staff and a homely feel to the place.

Helpful?
2 Thank linz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Thankyou for posting a review of The Black Swan Brandesburton - hope to see you back here real soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunch out with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food, good attention to detail, inc veggie options - yes more than one. Second visit as we enjoyed it so much last time and it was a birthday treat for my friend. Food all made fresh to order not microwaved rubbish. We didn't have Sunday lunch but that looked equally good. Would definitely go again when in the area

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Hello Tracey S - Thankyou for your review of The Black Swan - please do pop in again when you are next in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Food was home cooked and staff all friendly. Portions smaller than dacre arms (across the road). Food was fine and free pudding was good.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Thankyou for your review - all comments are very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Unfortunately much could be improved on the sunday lunch fare: the coffee was luke warm, the plates were not pre-warmed so the food went cold really quickly. Portions not what you would expect for a hearty sunday lunch in rural Yorkshire - not enough of anything, mean portion of fresh veg, two slices of beef, one roast potato, one Yorkshire Pud. The beef tasted more like it had been braised than roasted so was flaky tender. We arrived home hungry and snacked all afternoon. For £7.50 we were very disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank samyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Thankyou for your review of The Black Swan -sorry to hear you had a bad experience -️
All comments are very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Never been here before but I'd heard it used to be good a long time ago - and then wasn't. A family member chose this and I had moderate expectations. What we found was a warm cozy and festive pub. There seemed to be a good mx of diners and locals over in the bar watching football. Staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Food was traditional pub fare, freshly cooked, with good size portions.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MumMcFly, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review, April 4, 2016
Hello Alan Thankyou for taking time to review of The Black Swan - we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Driffield, East Riding of Yorkshire

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing