We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a few things let it down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Costa Tropical
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a few things let it down”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

reviewed this hotel a month or so before going so was aware of the small niggley bits that us british moan about so went open minded........ got given a bungalow to start with as my husband has bad knees the stairs to bedroom not good if you like a few drinks so went to see if we could change not a problem at all. went back to tell hubbie we have got a different room. to be told bungalow smelt of damp so glad to get room change or so we thought....... we were in room 110 i cant express how much our bathroom smelt from 7 in morning went away in day then hey hoo back again around 4ish when i mean smelt im not kidding.. complained every day infact they .put chemicals in bath sink fine for a while . reception staff couldnt do enough and did offer a few times to change room but we was fooled as when going back to room around 3ish smell was gone so we gave benifit of doubt then come 4ishh 5 ishh smell back should of changed rooms then.... our fault..people a floor above had same problem..... FOOD. we found it was fine always hot and a varitey some days have to admitt i struggled but was happy with soup fresh roll and a nice pudding.... ENTERTAMENT i was impressed good variety the bar man sebastian his worth his weight in gold. great credit to the hotel couldnt praise him enough..... pool bar haa haa wot bloody pool bar great in pictures which sold it to us, wasnt even open wot a let down and other guests felt the same felt a bit mugged off truth be told......... two drinks per person in kiddie plastic cups wot a joke my advise take your own big cup,lager allday spirts only after 3.30 one english channel and thats the news..... great irish bar 2 min walk but it can end up being a costey holiday if you keep going there.. would we recomend it to friends i would have to say no which is such a shame as the staff was great and coulndnt do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as it can but wasnt enough im afraid must say the hotel was spotless and well cleaned everyday great staff

Room Tip: make sure there are no bad smells before you settle in take big glass with you and one for spirts fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janebob606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest

On behalf of all staff and management here at Globales Costa Tropical Hotel we would like to thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us.

We are very disconcerted that we did not meet with your expectations at the hotel and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.

We assure you that we do take all customer feedback seriously , we have already discussed your comments with the relevant members of our team and we will work together improving all the areas you have mentioned, our priority is guest satisfaction and we work very hard to try to achieve it.

Wish you all the best,
Raul Sanchez
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    646
    488
    179
    179
See reviews for
466
882
51
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Just recently returned from this hotel and loved it...weather was great...staff where all very friendly especially Simone who was amination and got people joining in and also Sebastian the barman who was kept very busy but always had a smile on his face...pool very cold food was fine....would I go again yes in a heart bea x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our products, services and facilities. We will pass on your comments to all staff, they will be happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back in a near future in any of the hotels of the Globales group, we will be delighted to help you on your next vacations.

Kind regards,
Raul Sanchez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Staff of all grades were helpful, friendly and did their jobs well. In particular the reception staff we encountered Nadya and Emilio were particularly helpful.

The entertainment manager worked extremely hard both during the day and at night and the only comment I will make is that the music level was too loud at times in the bar in the evening, indeed one night I ended up putting in ear plugs to dampen it down. Food was varied, and lots of choice, the cleaners seems to do their jobs thoroughly.

A great hotel. Slightly off the beaten track, but a 20 minute walk across rough ground takes you into Calette De Fuste proper, and all trips you get pick up at the hotel so no problem.

Swimming pool was too cold but I think this is a general Canarian thing and not specific to this hotel. The highly advertised Pool Bar was not open the entire time we were there which was a bit disappointing, but you could always get drinks from the snack bar or main bar from 3pm.

Although close to the airport and on the flight path, you hardly heard the planes at all.

We don't normally go to the same place twice as we like exploring new places, but I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all, and in the name of all of us here in the hotel we say thank you for writing a comment in TripAdvisor, and we are very pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay here with us.

This will serve to help us continue to lead our efforts to improve our service and customer satisfaction. And it will help future visitors of the island to plan theirs holidays here.

We want to thank you again for choosing our hotel to enjoy your last vacation.

Best regards.
Raul Sanchez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Came back 2 days ago from a great holiday. Staff friendly and helpful - all tried to make our holiday enjoyable. Apartments comfortable and everywhere was clean and tidy. Food was good for a 3 star buffet menu - great variety and usually pretty tasty! Don't expect too much beef though - fish and pork popular. Pool cold unless weather gets hot, but lovely all the same. At least staff don't push a lot of trips on you, though information is available, and reception staff are very willing to help you book. Local coastline is rocky, but beautiful and with the added bonus of being able to feed the chipmunks only 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Only disappointment was no disco as the hotel was not full. Had some unusual entertainment - quite varied. Activities during the day were easy to join in and good fun and didn't last too long. Enjoyed our trips to Corralejo and Lobos. Free bus for all inclusive clients to Caleta de Fuste easy to get and makes a nice day out - lovely beach there and in Corralejo and Lobos. All in all, relaxing and very enjoyable - thanks to a lot of hard working staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Globales Costa Tropical for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about our hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working everyday to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the Globales group, we would be delighted to welcome you back,

Kind regards,
Raul Sanchez
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just back from a 2week stay at this hotel a great place,,was there 2yrs ago for 1wk and loved it ,we are going back in October for 1wk too,,a nice quiet location,,just a 5min taxi ride from airport and the same to main town caleta for some longer nightlife!! If your a fussy eater you might struggle but we were more than happy with food...the weather was good and the breeze is appreciated,,,,you get what you pay for that's my motto.....look forward to me next visit

Room Tip: 2nd floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your stay in Hotel Costa Tropical

It seems you had an excellent stay. We strive to adhere to our guests every need above and beyond their expectations and I hope this is what you encountered with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and i will be making sure that i pass on your comments as the whole of the staff will be very much grateful for it.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon

Best regards
Raul Sanchez.
Hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Costa Tropical and i have to say that we have absolutely nothing to complain about. Firstly when we arrived we were greeted by friendly reception staff who made us very welcome indeed and checked us in very promptly. I have to say that each member of the reception staff were equally as friendly and smiled at us each time we passed by.

Secondly we were impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel. The cleaners visited our room every second day which was sufficient and provided us with clean towels whenever we wanted. The pool was thoroughly cleaned each morning and the surrounding pool area was jet washed before the pool opened each day.

The entertainment for the kids was second to none. Simone the kids entertainment manager was amazing and kept all of the children busy from morning till night. He was a lovely, genuine guy who could do no more for the kids, nothing was ever a hassle. He made our kids holiday so a special thanks goes out to him :)

The food and drink was what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. There was always enough of a choice for everyone. There was also a variety of all inclusive drinks which suited everyone and Sebastian the barman was amazing also.

We will most certainly be coming back to this hotel later in the year. Please dont be put off by the bad reviews as this hotel is great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dianeadens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our products, services and facilities. We will pass on your comments to all staff, they will be happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back in a near future in any of the hotels of the Globales group, we will be delighted to help you on your next vacations.

Kind regards,
Raul Sanchez
Hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

not alot of choice of food, i went with my family, my mum is disabled and my dad has back problems. my mum and dad stayed in room 201 (which had a walk in shower) and i stayed in 102 which was lovely. both rooms were very basic but fantastic for what we payed (no air conditioning at all!) however the food was a massive let down, we ended up going out to eat, the irish bar literally 30 seconds walk around the corner did the best breakfast and had karaoke 5 times a week. walking past the irish bar was a steep hill/slope with no path, however down there were a few bars, a pizza place and a chinese that charged 6.90 euros per person for a starter, a main and a side dish (such as ribs, sweet and sour chicken and rice) it was not busy however the food was superb! it costs us 10euros to get from the airport to the hotel in a taxi, less than 5euros to town where you find supermarkets, designer shops, pharmacy, bars, restaurants etc... you get tiny plastic cups when you order a drink from the bar if your all inclusive, so we suggest you to go into coleta, go to the china shop and purchace a glass there, or go to the supermarket on the hotel grounds for some large plastic cups. certain staff were abit rude and wasnt very good at english but some were very friendly and helped as much as they could! got told towels were changed 2 times a week, we stayed a week and my parents or my towels had been changed.

Room Tip: second floor is quieter. dont stay here if you suffer walking dificulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Gerente at Globales Costa Tropical, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff and management here at Globales Costa Tropical we would like to thank you for your comment.

About the problems you mentioned like food , we will take note of them, because all the points are always checked by our staff in order to know what we are doing wrong and therefore must be improved.

Sincerely thank you for your comments, opinions like yours always help us,

Best regards
Raul Saqnchez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa de Antigua
0.2 mi away
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
Elba Lucia Sport & Suite Hotel
#8 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
Geranios Suites & Spa Hotel
#7 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caleta Garden
Caleta Garden
#14 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa Caleta
Hotel Costa Caleta
#12 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
2,858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Broncemar Beach
Broncemar Beach
#10 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
3,225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Costa Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Costa Tropical

Property: Globales Costa Tropical
Address: Maestro Leonardo s/n, 35610 Costa de Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Apartahotel Costa Tropical (Oasis Tropical))
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Costa de Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Costa de Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Costa Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel description The Globales Costa Tropical Hotel is made up of 90 comfortable apartments and 53 bungalows with a balcony or terrace that are all well equipped and surround a large pool and sunbathing terraces. The Globales Costa is the perfect place to relax, enjoy the hotel’s extensive facilities and its 6000 square meters of gardens. The Globales Costa Tropical’s apartments and bungalows are well-equipped so you can prepare meals in the comfort of your apartment, enjoy the all the international buffet or enjoy a delicious pizza in the hotel’s own Italian restaurant, Mamma Mia Pizzeria. The hotel offers many sports and relaxation activities for you to enjoy during your stay making the Globales Costa Tropical the perfect holiday destination in Fuerteventura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Costa Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Globales Costa Tropical Hotel Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing