We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific oases of calm, amid the hills of...”
other travelers have booked this property
Pool,  Cortijo and Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool,  Cortijo and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Pool,  Cortijo and Garden
Patio in  the shade of the Almond Tree
Everyone loves the hammock
Patio Door to the Dining Room through the Passion Flower Arch
Autumn mist
View of Gibalto from the garden
Fun at the Fiesta
Beautiful Trabuco
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Villanueva del Trabuco, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Servaas K
Belgium
2 reviews
“Terrific oases of calm, amid the hills of Andalusia”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

My wife & I received this tip from friends of ours who live in the area, and we loved every moment of our stay. Housed in the Granary, the small cottage for 4 had everything we would wish for, including ample food and drink for a first evening and morning.

The grounds are communal, but large enough to find relative seclusion. This was obviously helped by the Farmhouse (for 8) not being unoccupied while we there. Hosts Mark & Clare respected our privacy, but were also very open for a friendly chat. Understanding they are there only since April '18, we appreciated their visible efforts of improving the facilities, and welcomed their intervention for any simple task (toaster not fully functioning, TV setting for the World-Cup, plastic shower chair).

The pool is marvellous and the gardens great, with plenty of shade and breeze against the heat. We did not take part in any activities, preferring instead to lazy around and read a book. A car is a must due to the remoteness. Though not specifically aimed at wheelchair access, the Granary and grounds are quite suited for the able-user, with sufficient space and only limited, minor obstacles.

We look forward to coming again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C
2 reviews
“Amazing Stay!”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Thanks to the guys at La Nava for an amazing few days.

We arrived to a nice surprise of goodies in the fridge! The beautiful farmhouse and gardens are superb.

We had one of the double bedrooms and use of all the downstairs. Downstairs consisting of a comfortable living room, a roomy kitchen and a lovely dining room.

Outside there is loads of space and plenty of different areas to eat and relax, even if there were more people around. The pool is clean and a good size and a welcome relief from the sunshine.

The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful with 360 mountain ranges. A car rental is definitely recommended. We used Malagacars who were very efficient and cheap! The farmhouse is an easy 40 minute drive from the airport.

During our stay we spent a day in Antequera. About an hour drive but one with spectacular views and the walks when you get there are superb with an extraordinary landscape we haven't see before.

Another day we decided to try out the off-road motorbikes that the La Nava owners run. It was great fun and even Gilly who had not ridden a motorbike before had a great experience learning!

There are a few restaurants in the local small town, which is just a couple of minutes drive away, where you can also find most amenities, shops and supermarkets.

Overall, a superb value-for-money holiday, where you can do as little or as much as you like, surrounded by beautiful and tranquil surroundings, and knowing that you are well looked after.

Paul and Gilly...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drakc
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing given the previous reviews. Misleading website.”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 families holidaying together looking for a private farmhouse with its own pool. The website gave that impression, and suggested that the owners were nearby but in a separate property. This is NOT the case. You are effectively staying in an annexe of their house, and their door opens onto the back garden and pool area, and they enter through the garden past your doors, so there is no privacy. Also, there is a large dog (which we had been led to believe would be in a separate area), which was often wandering around the garden and even went into the pool at times. We had children and had to stop them running around as there was dog mess left on the grass at times, even thought the owners did try to clean up. As we had several people who are afraid of dogs in the party, this was unacceptable.

The houses were on the small size for the price, and basically equipped. We have frequently stayed in other properties better equipped in this price range. There was an issue with insects, and every morning there were lots of dead beetles all over the floor downstairs.
The property is isolated so one definitely needs a car.
The pool was good. The owners were friendly and other then the above, the garden is nice.
Overall, we wouldn't advise booking unless you are happy (or want) owners to be effectively sharing the property with you.
There is an issue in that information given in England is from 1 co-owner and the other co-owners live in the property so you are communicating with different people and perhaps this results in some misinformation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genthepri...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Family holiday location”
Reviewed July 27, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I don't usually write reviews but on this occasion I really want to share my special family holiday experience with all of you. We have just returned from a wonderful 9 day holiday in Spain. We stayed at the self-catering holiday accommodation called Cortijo La Nava and had the Farmhouse. We are a family of 6 - kids aged 10, twins of 6 and a 2 year old. The Farmhouse accommodation was spacious and comfortable for us actuallly more than adequate. We were welcomed and greeted by the lovely Kay who showed us in and around the villa and gardens. The kids were really excited to have their own rooms and bathroom and space. Everything is tiled and feels clean and we even had a large cot in the main bedroom with us. There are clean cupboards and drawers in all the rooms and fans and thank goodness for them as it was always over 30 degrees every day, so still hot at night. Without the fans we wouldn't of been able to sleep. I unpacked straight away so we could settle in quickly as we still had to go to the supermarket to get food. Kay was very helpful and gave us a few choices of where towns and supermarkets were and we choose to go on an adventure and went 20 minutes to a large Spanish supermarket. By the way theres a washing machine so you dont have to bring alot seriously as the clothes, it takes about an hour or so to dry! The location of La Nava is a real gem, it's about 3 minutes off the main road in amongst the Olive farm fields, 40 minutes away from the huge Malaga City and 10 minutes from its quaint local Spanish town VILLANUEVA DEL TRABUCO. La Nava is perfect for a family of all ages it has a large stunning pool which the kids spent many happy hours in. Loungers around, outside seating areas and a lovely boma area for relaxing in. Especially in the evenings when the kids have gone to bed. You can always see millions of stars as there is no light pollution and just enjoy the peace and quietness of the surroundings. My husband also got to go on the Trail bikes with the very funny and experienced Steve (you have to have your motorbike licence though). I'm not sure I've seen hubby so excited about an adventure even though he was a road bike instructor for many years he hadn't been on a bike for about 10 years. He was kitted out with all the gear totally sweating pints but they came back some hours later telling me of all the trails they went on. This is another package they offer with the trailbikes. So I'd say totally suitable too for all the bikers looking for some awesome fun and experience. From the conversations I know family and friends go on the Trail bikes holidays there from the newly qualified to experienced. Steve caters for all levels but you'll need to pop onto their website for further details and information with regards to these great Trailbike adventures. I'm only mentioning it as my husband had the most memorable adventure and loved it.

I've been to Spain a couple of times pre kids and always stayed in the cities but never again. One of my twins has slight anxiety and I can honestly say that after one day she was totally settled and at home!! Everyday we planed an adventure as we hired a car to do some sightseeing and some days we had pool days and ate ice cream and lollies all day haha... Theres a large BBQ that you can use so we did that too. Kay and Steve were great - very informative on the local area of where to eat and ideas of where to go. Thanks Cortijo La Nava Spain we will be back again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiterSnap
Barry
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the self-catering Farmhouse with my husband for the duration of our booking with Trailworld Spain, as part of a trail biking holiday. Both Kay and Steve were very welcoming and the accommodation could not be faulted. Even their pets (one cat, one dog) made us feel at home! We had a welcome back of breakfast supplies left for us in the fridge and a supply of tea and coffee waiting for us when we arrived. We'd happily return for future visits.

We had the pleasure of being shown the accommodation facilities in The Granary and the standard was excellent. We'd have been just as happy if we'd been accommodated in there.

Free wifi is included for those still wishing to remain connected to the rest of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome by Kay and Steve
Liked least: Our stay wasn't long enough!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BooDiddly
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed here at The Granary a few times and thoroughly enjoy feeling part of the home. The gardens are great to relax in, lawned areas, plenty of shade and the sparkly pool all offer something for everyone. Each accommodation has their own seating area in addition to the communal areas.
Fran and Andy are great and fun hosts and are so helpful with their local knowledge and can do attitude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing