We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Rancho - perfect holiday destination”
Review of El Rancho

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villanueva del Trabuco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rancho
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“El Rancho - perfect holiday destination”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Beautiful scenery, top class accommodation, wonderful facilities and a very warm welcome are all in abundance at El Rancho.
We hired a car to enable us to explore the Spanish towns of Cordoba, Seville and Ronda but also enjoyed time relaxing around the fabulous pool area and horse riding lessons in the most perfect surroundings.
The kitchen is well equipped if you want to self-cater and the BBQ area is a great place to sit and drink the night away. We also had several meals down in the village which we found to be very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue999_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited on 7th October for a week and stayed in the 2 bed villa. It was easy to get to from Malaga airport as it was mostly motorway driving and Garret met us at the local petrol station to guide us through the village to El Rancho which is amazing.
Set in the grounds of olive groves with stunning mountain views we felt straight at home. The villa was fabulous and had everything we needed. The grounds and the pools are also wonderful and of course so our the wonderful horses that they lovingly take care of. We went riding up through the olive groves and pine forest on our 1st morning and had a wonderful time. The rest of the week was spent relaxing by the pool and exploring Andalucia. We main eat at the villa as the supermarkets are great and cheap but we did eat out on 3 occasions at local restaurants which were lovely and also very reasonably priced and are about 5min drive or 20-30mins walk. We had wonderful weather all week and can't wait to go back!
Huge thank you to Jacque and Garrett for making us feel so welcome and sharing your wonderful home with us, none of us wanted to leave! Looking forward to returning very soon!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridalRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great hosts: check. Fab pool: check. Superb riding: check.
If you fancy a bit of down time, somewhere to decompress from city life then this is the place. I wasn't sure if 4 days with just me for company would be good but with Jacque and Garrett hosting you are never far from a smile and a beer- perfect combination. I have one day left and I'm already planning my return trip with either husband or riding friends. Probably two trips :)

Room Tip: If you travelling solo then the studio is perfect with its own courtyard, terrace and cooking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuntySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Family holiday for a week. First time to mainland Spain. El Rancho was the perfect place to suit all of us including teenage daughter. Immaculate, well equipped and quality accommodation, peace and quiet and lovely views, watching the sunset from the jacuzzi, trips to visit Antequera, Ronda, El Torcal, and visits to the beach at Nerja, and Malaga. Excellent on site horse-riding enjoyed by our daughter in beautiful surroundings. Lots to do and see. Car hire was essential. Alhambra Palace was fully booked, so need to book well in advance. What really made our holiday special was the kind and generous owners Jacque and Garrett who make you feel at home and help you make the most of your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 47Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We found El Rancho by accident and booked with fingers crossed! However, we had nothing to fear as this was a fabulous place to stay. About an hour out of Malaga with beautiful scenery, El Rancho is superbly situated but it is the welcome from the owners (and their lovely parents) which really makes it. I would wholeheartedly recommend this as a venue for seeing the area or just taking it easy - the 3 boys loved the pool (as did I) and the family atmosphere made the whole holiday totally relaxing. We will certainly be returning. 5 star!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PriceTheOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

El Rancho is an amazing place to stay. My daughter, now aged 16, and I have been visiting since Easter 2010 and every time has been better than the last. The surrounding countryside is stunning, with views across the valley from the mountain side that take your breath away. As a base to explore the wonders of Andalucia, El Rancho is second to none. Everywhere - Granada, Cordoba - are within easy driving distances and even a trip down to the local town square in the evening gives you a sense of what a truly special place in Spain this is. Locals sitting out in the town square, eating, drinking and talking - it's Spain in all its glory.

Jacque, Garret and Jacque's lovely parents, Norma and Malcolm, pull out all the stops to make everyone staying in the stunning accommodation a memorable and fun experience. You could not wish for more friendly and entertaining company. Every time we have stayed, we feel like we are 'coming home'. There is no where else we have been that generates those feelings and we have already booked again for 2013 - homecoming #4!

The opportunity to ride out in the mountains, on horses that are well schooled yet not 'push me/pull you' types is amazing. That was the original draw for my daughter and I - to go somewhere to ride together which we do rarely in the UK. From the first visit to our most recent (in July 2012) we have never been disappointed with the riding or the experience of being at El Rancho. It truly is a jewel in the midst of the Andalucian countryside.

Room Tip: There are two accommodations - a 2-bed apartment and a studio. We have stayed in both and both are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is my 7th trip to El Rancho over the last 5 years, which I think speaks for itself. I have worked in the Travel Industry for over 25 years and this is most definitely one of my favourite places and we will contine to return for many years to come !! I have spent holidays here with my family and also just as a couple and have stayed in both accommodations which are superbly decorated, extremely clean and comfortable and well kitted out for cooking al fresco which we so enjoy doing. Jacque and Garret are wonderful hosts, the location is stunning with a beautiful mountain backdrop and olive groves as far as the eye can see. The horses are lovely and even if you don't ride you can still enjoy the 2 swimming pools and hot tub, the wonderful scenery and if you have a car ( recommended) there are plenty of places to visit in the area or even down to the coast for the day. So, in summary, don't hestaite to book and enjoy.. it really is a gem :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho

Property: El Rancho
Address: Plaza del Mediodia, 1, 40160, 29313 Villanueva del Trabuco, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva del Trabuco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Villanueva del Trabuco
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing