We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G A Hughes Footstep tour 2014.”
Review of Freeman Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miraumont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freeman Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Miraumont B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“G A Hughes Footstep tour 2014.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked with Gill& Tim after them being highly recommended by by brother who had visited last year. Our experience was not in any way disappointing, in terms of B&B facility their hospitality is second to none, warmth exudes from this family home, food is beautifully home cooked, rooms very comfortable and Miraumont is a wonderful little town to explore. We had booked a Bespoke tour to explore our Great Uncle's footsteps, the advice we were given on places to visit were well thought out and the tour it self was well organised and attention to detail was excellent. Nothing seemed too much trouble and all of us very much enjoyed our stay. Their attention to detail, knowledge and attentiveness are qualities that cannot be praised enough which in turn made this visit special beyond expression.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caringbah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at FF after it was recommended to us by another B&B. As our visit was to follow my grandfathers movements with the AIF Tim was an excellent help in understanding the conflict and suggesting places to visit. The room and meals were excellent as was the afternoon "debrief" with Tim, Gill and the other guests over a beer in the backyard.
Our son Ryan and Gill/Tim's daughter Sam also became great mates.
Book with confidence, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

After last year's trip we just had to come back, Tim had helped us through his expertise find out much more about the military career of our Grandfather's Great War record and more precisely where he was located, fought and injured (twice). As ever the warmth of welcome and hospitality of Jill, Tim & Sam (not forgetting Darby) was overwhelming. It was great to sit on the lawn in the French sun at the end of the day with a glass of wine or beer talking over the day (and many other things) with Tim & Jill and their other guests and eventually over dinner and long into the night. Tim was even good enough to see me off in the early morning with breakfast, onto the train at the local station to dash home to see a certain (and unexpected event) at Wembley. Another cracking visit.

Oh yes, Tim being Tim he found more information about another relative in the Great War.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidhtKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Tim & Gill's welcome soon had us relaxed & feeling at home, and it wasn't long before we were sitting down enjoying a cold beer and planning our trip with Tim. We didn't do the tour but Tims knowledge of the Somme proved most helpful and ensured we got the most out of our trip.
We chose the evening meal option and Gill was more than happy to meet my dietery needs (lol),lovely food washed down with a glass or two. After a busy and emotional day, it was nice to know that we didnt have to worry about where we would be eating that night. After dinner we relaxed in the lounge chatting about the days experiences & picking Tims brains on the history of the area.
A most enjoyable stay & we hope to return later this year.
And last but not least I fully recommend the steak pie!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davebrewer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I decided to visit the Somme Battlefields years ago and eventually got round to booking something. Our hosts Tim & Gill were very helpful and Tim is a mine of information about the area and especially the ANZACs and what happened in the Somme in general. The personal attention was second to none and food was excellent. It is a traditional French Farm House modernised with excellent en-suite facilities. It is not a 5 star Hotel but neither is it 5 star prices. It is comfortable & Tim & Gill make you feel realy at home.
For anyone wanting to explore what happened to our Grandfathers & Great Grandfathers generation here then you will not find a better base.
Highly Recomended.

Room Tip: Somme Battlefield trips do not have a better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1916somme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent 4 nights with Gill & Tim over the Anzac period, including a 2 day Battlefields tour with Ken Lees, Tim's colleague. Not being WW1 aficionados did not prevent us from enjoying enormously the 2 day tour. Ken pitched the pace & information perfectly, & although at the end of it we were pretty 'saturated' & couldn't have really taken more in, the information provided on the private tour made the sites come to life in a very meaningful way. Gill & Tim are incredibly hospitable hosts who were very generous with their cellar as well as their time & knowledge! Breakfasts were cereals, croissants, baguette &/or toast with juices, coffee or tea. Dinners were fantastic, as at the end of a big day, the last thing we felt like doing was finding somewhere to eat. Gill offered us a variety of options in the morning before we left & it was ready after a glass of wine & a wind down in the evening. There seemed to be an endless choice of delicious desserts as well, but my strong tip is to have the apple tart - best I've ever tasted! Our bedroom was small & to be honest, the bed was not the most comfortable, but we were so tired it didn't matter. For the Anzac Day dawn service, Gill left out a thermos for coffee & some croissants to keep us going until we got back for breakfast. Freeman Farm doesn't pretend to be 5 star - it is a B & B, & you shouldn't go there if that is what you want, but the overall experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

It is difficult to review this venue without appearing to overstate. The welcome given by Tim and Gill was unsurpassed and the pair of them seemed instinctively and effortlessly able to pitch the balance between hosting and allowing guests their own space just right. The average user of Tim and Gills facilities will like as not have an interest in discovering more about the Battles of the Somme and this was the case with my father and I. The visit had much poignancy for us but it was the advice and guidance of how best to take in what we wanted that added to the trip an X factor that Money cant buy. Now, on the subject of money, set aside the fact that the accommodation is extremely reasonably priced, what was extremely telling was how Tim almost appeared uncomfortable accepting payment when it came to settling up. The feeling that you were the guests of friends was very real and in no way contrived. Gills hearty home cooking being delicious and plentiful, of course added to this. it is so rare to find people making a living doing what they love and these guys stand out as people who are doing just that.
my only moan about the stay was that I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freeman Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman Farm

Property: Freeman Farm
Address: 9 rue de la Gare, 80300 Miraumont, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Miraumont
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Miraumont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run B&B in the heart of the Somme battlefields, comfortable accommodation with guest lounge and dining room.Tim is a fulltime battlefield guide, a member of the International guild of battlefield guides and the chairman of the Somme branch of the Western Front Association, Gill runs the B&B ensuring that everybody has the break they dreamed of.A glass half full couple with a zest for life and their business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing