We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there!”

El Recreo de Las Caldas
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Las Caldas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
La Orotava, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go there!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice terrace, friendly service, excellent food. Go there, it's excellent value and really good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p_gregersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    111
    51
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Dinner. Great service.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved to sit with locals in front of the building being served and advised by the owner. Extremely friendly and great fresh food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pal_123_123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If your in the area don't miss this place”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a nearby hotel and dinned many nights on the terras of this little restaurant. Very good quality and very nice terras with views. The cecina is fantastic and if you like meat, order the falso solomillo, you'll repeat.
The only improvement we can suggest is the wine list, it's good but rather scarce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veroricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in the village”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A charming place from the sweet man who owns it, whose enthusiasm for the local beef, wine and fresh products in general is a delight to listen to but whose eyes glaze over when Foursquare is mentioned or social marketing, to his son the chef, whose kitchen is open from 8pm officially but who arrives whenever he feels like it, much to the despair of his father!

There’s a one page menu with a few starters and main courses and then there is a list of specials, rattled off by the chef, using seasonal ingredients or whatever has looked fresh that day at the market.

We shared a “tabla de embutidos” as a starter, which was plentiful and comprised a few different local cheeses, jamón Serrano, salchichón and some delicious beef carpaccio, served with real, rustic, country bread that was tasty enough to eat on its own.

For our main courses, my bf ordered the steak fillet which was cooked to perfection. He asked for it to be cooked just under medium and when the chef brought it out, it looked perfect: inside, the meat was a gorgeous rare pink and outside a lovely layer of grilled brown. I ordered the beef burger, which was one of those suggestions of the chef that was not on the menu. Again, the meat was perfectly pink inside and deliciously grilled on the outside. The taste was excellent and both dishes were served with the best homemade chips I have had in a long time.

Unfortunately there was no one else in the restaurant on this Wednesday evening, but luckily for us, this meant that the interesting and charismatic owner could come and chat to us while he plied us with his homemade liqueurs.

It wasn’t just this restaurant that was struggling to get people in, but the whole village was pretty dead and our hotel was nowhere near even half full. Despite the lack of any life, this small restaurant was cosy and familiar, with all kinds of framed photos adorning the walls and a large fireplace in the corner.

This would definitely be my first choice for dining if I was in Las Caldas again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMarieSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Recreo de Las Caldas also viewed

Oviedo, Asturias
Las Caldas, Oviedo
 

Been to El Recreo de Las Caldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing