We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“By All Means, Stay Here!”

Review of Yew Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Yew Tree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Willersey, Broadway, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ruthanna...
Monroe, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By All Means, Stay Here!”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A friend and I rented Carlton cottage in Broadway for one month, and could have not been happier with our choice of accommodations. The cottage is kept in excellent condition by the owners and is well-equipped with a full kitchen, including a washing machine. The lounge furniture is new and very comfortable, and the three bedrooms are furnished with comfortable beds. The bed and bath linens are excellent quality. The cottage is located in a beautiful residential area, with good access to downtown Broadway and neighboring villages. I highly recommend this property for your holiday!
NOTE: This review is posted as Yew Tree Cottage in Willersy, which is also owned by the Lynskeys. I was privileged to see Yew Tree, but did not stay there. I can highly recommend this lovely cottage as well, located in this quiet little village just outside of Broadway. Both are excellent holiday accommodations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, and the caring owners
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2015
Hi Ruthanna.
Thank you so much for finding the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for complementing us on our new beds and sofas. Gerry and I are always striving to offer comfortable accommodation for a perfect 'home from home'. Broadwaycottages.com are now in their 15th year and have many returning guests, I very much hope to also welcome you back sometime soon.

Kindest regards.
Collette and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cosy cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent Christmas here with my son and his family. Colette and Gerry were there when we arrived and gave us a very warm welcome. A lovely christmas tree was standing in the sitting room, a bottle of bubbly and some sweets also, which was a nice surprise. The cottage was lovely and warm and the beds extremely comfortable, we had a couple of log fires which left them out of wood!! Our groceries did not arrive but the local pub opposite accommodated us with our two young grandchildren, they couldn't have been more helpful. We were lucky with the weather and visited a few local spots. Definitely recommend this and we might even use it again, who knows?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of it, very cosy and welcoming.
Liked least: The dishwasher failed to work and it was brand new!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Hi Joy.

Happy New Year! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Kindest regards.
Gerry and Collette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances D
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy and cosy cottage!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a perfect cottage for a family birthday get together. Such a beautiful location; we enjoyed a great walk up to Broadway Tower and were ready for a cosy sit round the fire on return.
The kitchen was stocked with utensils enough to make birthday cake! We also found it handy having two bathrooms.
Thank you again for meeting all our needs and providing a comfy and cosy place to all get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Rate Customer Service - Collette saved the day!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking to book a short break away to spend some quality time with our little toddler. I mistakenly came across this cottage whilst trying to contact the owner of the cottage that I'd originally booked. Confused already? So was Collette when I emailed her directly from her own website (broadwaycottages.com). I was getting concerned that I'd not heard from the owner of the cottage regarding access etc to the cottage and we were due to travel the following day, however Collette responded so quickly I felt that the issue would be resolved shortly. After some confusion, Collette highlighted that we'd not actually booked their cottage, it was another Yew Tree Cottage... My heart sank a little, I was back to square one but after being informed of the rates for Collette & Gerry's Cottages, I felt better knowing we had a potential Plan B.

Upon arriving at the Yew Tree Cottage we had actually booked, we then faced other problems. Again, getting contact from the owner proved difficult as he was abroad. It transpired that the boiler was not working and with a young child, this was unacceptable. So after several phone calls to Customer Services and minimal contact from the owner, I decided to contact Collette. Who, bearing in mind it was the evening by this time, responded straight away. Fantastic, especially when she confirmed that they still had one of their cottages available and it was warm and ready to go. So it was a 'no brainer'. We were immediately sent all the information you would expect for a holiday letting, and more. We were sent details on the surrounding area along with recommendations for places to go with children. We spoke on the phone, she ran me through where things were in the cottage and also a good child friendly place to eat nearby, as we were way past my toddler's dinner time. We got into the cottage and having read the reviews above, it is clear that Collette and Gerry keep the same high standard across all of their cottages. We were welcomed by a well kept, clean and cosy cottage. It was much bigger than we expected but felt cosy despite the extra space. A bottle of wine and some chocolates on the table were the perfect touch to the start of a holiday. It was only a short break but with everything we needed to hand including a friendly and efficient owner, we felt like we had a longer break... and that is what it was a lovely break.

We are planning to visit again (hopefully this Yew Tree Cottage!) and I have every faith we will be looked after just as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
We are delighted to hear you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Gerry and Collette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great beds, can't beat a good nights sleep.
Liked least: Nothing to complain about.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you loved the cottage and had a good holiday. You left Yew Tree in a beautiful condition and I could hardly believe you had 5 children as company!! I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Many thanks Collette and Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LizPin
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a cosy weekend”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our stay at Yew Tree Cottage was a long weekend for a girly reunion in May. We wanted somewhere that we could relax, chat and eat in comfort, but in nice surroundings for country walks and places to see. The location was important as the four of us are spread around the country, so we needed somewhere central that we could all get to quite easily. Yew Tree Cottage seemed to fit the bill, and it didn't disappoint.

Booking was easy, and Collette and Gerry were extremely efficient at emailing back answers to all our little queries, and suggesting outings and places of local interest. We appreciated their welcome note and bottle of wine, and if there had been a problem I felt that they would have been over in a trice. But there were no problems!

The cottage is in the pretty village of Willersey, just a few minutes drive from Broadway, and is a charming stone house in a lovely setting. It's very clean and tidy, yet has a lived in feel that made us all feel at home very quickly. The sitting room has comfy sofas, an open fire and a DVD player for evenings in, and the three bedrooms have extremely comfortable beds. Two bathrooms are also a definite bonus when there are four women in a little cottage. Unfortunately, the weather let us down, so we didn't get to use the garden, but it didn't stop us from getting about, and the cottage is perfectly placed for discovering the beautiful Cotswolds.

We would all recommend Yew Tree Cottage to anyone planning a trip to the Cotswolds, and would certainly go back again if we're in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the weather!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing