We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great haunted hotel in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Thon Hotel Sandven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Sandven
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Norheimsund
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great haunted hotel in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This pearl of a hotel is just one hour´s drive by car from the city of Bergen and is well worth a visit. It sits in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by stunningly beautiful nature. And the best of it all - it is haunted! Supposedly so. Be sure to ask for a room in the old part of building, and even if you´re not that interested in ghosts, just lie down and listen to the silence - sometimes broken by the creaking of the walls or the seagulls outside your window. The hotel is over a hundred years old. Much of the decoration is from the previous century, and if you really want a great experience, make an upgrade to one of the suites, where Norwegian writers, composers and royals have gathered inspiration and peace of mind for decades. Simply by existing, the Sandven Hotel captures some of the essence of Norway: Tradition, culture and the old viking form of stoicism.
During later years it has become a member of one of the cheap, Scandinavian hotel chains, which really is incompatible with the style and stylish grandeur exhibited here. Especially I find the new conference section a disgrace to the original architecture and style. The check out is slow, the restaurant mediocre and there is very little going on in the surrounding town. Nevertheless, the Sandven receives a full score in my book, just for what it is, for what it has been and for the fabulous job that has been done to keep tradition alive here.

Room Tip: Old part of the hotel is a must!!! Request a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrosphinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    93
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
95
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heitersheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a pretty hotel right at the fjord. Especially the old part of the hotel has nice and cozy rooms with balconies facing the water. The hotel has a great atmosphere. The rich breakfast buffet offer typical Norwegian specialties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part, facing the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skjolden, Norway
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Friendly staff, nice pace, we had a wery big room on the third floor in the old part this time, with sauna, but we dident use that. Nice big bacony, with a nice view. Good breackfast. Its the 4th time we are at this hotell, and it will not be the last.

Room Tip: Choose Superior Room in the historical part of the hotell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Øyvind Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I booked trough a good interface for smartphone on the hotel's website which worked very well.
Friendly and attentive staff, and the room was nice and comfortable (4th floor).

There is a nice sitting area outside the hotell resturant near the fjord where you also get serving from the bar and resturant. The food in the resturant was excellent and they had a good selection of beers (some local brands) in the bar/resturant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Targenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our room in the old wing is splendid- large with balcony overlooking the fjord, a sauna- what else can one wish for. The answer is an edible dinner. My halibut was not only totally dried out, but burnt. When asked why I was not eating it,, , I was told that is the way it is made- burnt with brown sugar ( the flavor of which I did not detect). . I was offered a cup of coffee, presumably in compensation. That I did not need and thus left the table hungry with the bill which included the halibut that I left after eating one bite. What a shame, after such a nice reception and such a lovely room. Don't eat here. Incidentally, the reindeer my husband had was not up to par either.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friendly staff, good location situated in a scenic town. Good complimentary coffee in the lobby and excellent breakfast. We will not hesitate to recommend this place and wished we had stay for another night..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank daniel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous old hotel for 2 nights on our way back to Bergen. It has been tastefully updated. The old part was situated right on the water and the entrance is very attractive. The staff were helpful. On arrival we were given a room on the ground floor which was not made up when we arrived after 4pm. We asked for another room and were cheerfully given an apartment in the modern part on the 2nd floor. Room 262 gives a lovely view and was surprisingly spacious. Flat screen tv, separate kitchen, large bathroom with big shower recess and nice towels. The beds were very comfortable and linens were clean and soft. The breakfast was plentiful and served in a lovely old styled dining room. It was very quiet when we were there. We would nit hesitate to recommend this place. It was the best accommodation that we had during our trip to Norway. Go and see the waterfall nearby. It's quite spectacular and free to enter. You can walk behind the actual waterfall.

Room Tip: There is a conference centre attached to this hotel. We would recommend that you ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norheimsund
16.6 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
130 reviews
22.7 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hardangerfjord Hotel
Hardangerfjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oystese
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
115 reviews
19.9 mi away
Fleischer's Hotel
Fleischer's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Voss Municipality
408 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hardanger Hotel
Hardanger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Odda
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Sandven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Sandven

Property: Thon Hotel Sandven
Address: Kaien 28, Norheimsund, Kvam 5600, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Kvam > Norheimsund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Norheimsund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Sandven 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Sandven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing