We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb bed and breakfast”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bere Alston, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bennyboy2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb bed and breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most beautiful location we have stayed at in years. The accommodation was immaculately clean. Very comfortable bed. We had a great nights sleep. The breakfast was second to none. The Tamar river is just a small walk down through the beautiful woodland path. I highly recommend this incredibly stunning place 10/10

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy291991
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and comfortable”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Rumleigh for a few days and enjoyed our time. The owner, Keith, was welcoming and helped us answer any questions we had about the local area. They also have a dog, Betty, who was a pure delight!

Freshly cooked breakfast was provides every morning. Sausages, bacon, eggs (however you want them), mushrooms and tomatoes. They also had the option of toast, cereal, yoghurts etc. A VERY good breakfast.

We wandered over the land behind the farm. There are some stunning views from up high, a river, pond, chickens etc. Definitely recommend a wander.

There is a barn which apparently hosts weddings, parties, events etc, which has a bar. Guests are welcomed to enjoy the bar in the barn which Keith ran, and nothing was too much trouble for him.

Rooms were comfortable. The Blue and Green bedrooms both have ensuite shower and toilet.

The communal lounge was nice to have access to, rather than being cooped up in the rooms. It almost felt like our own little cottage on the nights that no one else was staying in the B&B. The only criticism I would have is that it doesnt quite have a clear identity. Sometimes it felt like a B&B, but it also had self-catering aspects whilst almost feeling like you are living in someone else's house. Apparently it used to be self-catering so it may still have some of those aspects that give off the 'confused' feel.

A note to those less local; you definitely need a car and be prepared to drive most places. We were fully expecting this and factored this into our plans, but don't expect many places to be walking distance. Apparently some taxi companies will collect/drop at Rumleigh (ask Keith), but we didn't use these so cannot comment.

Overall, I would recommend this to others. A lovely stay! :)

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webber5
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Idealistic”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights and were not disappointed we had a brilliant time and plan to hopefully return. The farm is situated near to the banks of the River Tamar and has access onto the river. The surrounding area is very pretty and lots to see and do. On arrival we were greeted by Keith and Annie the owners, and shown to our room .. the Green room. The room was lovely with a comfy bed and ensuite shower room. We had access to a communal lounge downstairs which was very cosy and had numerous dvds you could watch and books to read. We took our canoe and Keith was brillant telling us the tide times and we managed to take the canoe out on the river one evening which was good fun. Breakfast each day was fantastic and Keith cooked a wonderful breakfast each morning. There was also a choice of cereals, yoghurts, toast, tea, coffee and juice along side the full english - it really was very good. There are lots of places to eat in the area and Annie was great at pointing you in the right direction for a good meal. There is an Asian takeaway van that parks up on the layby near by which is a must ... it was so so good and so reasonable. The farm hosts live music now and again and also has a bar which is great. We hope to return soon.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullans
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in South Devon”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely place to stay in South Devon - almost right on the banks of the Tamar River. Clean, comfortable rooms are complemented by a truly amazing breakfast.
Keith and Annie are great hosts and have good suggestions as to things to do, places to see and best routes to take in the area.
Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJSample7...
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay at Rumleigh..”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Extremely friendly service. Clean, modern rooms with great breakfast.

Also great venue for gigs if you would like to host your own or attend a pre-arranged one.

Keith and Annie the owners of Rumleigh went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a good one. Needless to say, it was.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. It really does mean a lot when we get such comprehensive feedback. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we really enjoyed your company.

We do hope one day to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new_paren...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven in Devon!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a weekend trip to Devon for a friends wedding. We were luck enough to have got a room in Rumleigh Farm BB!

From start to finish Annie and Keith were exceptional hosts and went above and beyond the requirements for any B&B owner!

The place is idillic picture postcard England, the peace quiet and tranquillity out there is just amazing!

Between all our friends we had booked the entire place out and so were able to view all the rooms. All were furnished to a high standard and overall the place was clean and very cosy!

The Dragonfly self contained unit is amazing and well worth the money!

The breakfasts Keith and Annie cooked were out of this world and you could not want for anymore!

Additional to the rooms they have a cosy converted barn that is able to accommodate any function and has an lovely real wood burner and a small bar with a stage and lights etc

You do need a car to get around this part of the world, however Annie and Keith are on hand to support with local taxi, train and Pub information.

If you are ever in this part of the world I could not recommend Rumleigh high enough - If my husband and I were ever visiting Devon again this would be the place we would stay!

If you want a friendly value for money escape THIS is the place to book!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Your age range 25-34
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
We really thank you for your excellant review. You were a great crowd and made for good company which makes our job much easier. So thank you one and all. Come again and make us laugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graham a
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“2 nights of classic england”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Super nice place to stay and chill out for a few days. We camped in the field and soaked up awesome countryside and gardens area. Postcard England all around! Really nice breakfast as well. No showers for campers though.

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do absolutely understand about the shower issue but camping is very much used as an add on for guests staying with us in the bed and breakfast enabling them to have big groups of friends for a weekend party. However we are working on it! Other than that, glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing