We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchard Campsite
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Wickham Market
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seckford Hall(Woodbridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosemary Cottage(Aldeburgh)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
62
28
16
13
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
28
16
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorchard campsitecamp fireglow stickstoilets showersgypsy caravantable tennisopen firesite shoptoasting marshmallowsgreat sitelocal meatssaturday nightwashing machinesafari tentgreat weekendsmall shopattractive setting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 131 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A large group of us stayed here at the end of the summer, Alan the site owner greeted us when we arrived and gave us all the info we needed about pitching. It's great to have a site owner so hands on and involved with the guests, really felt you were coming to stay with friends for the the weekend. We loved being able to pick a spot and not having such strict rules as you find at other sites. The campfires are of course a real plus to this site, and yes at the end of the summer there were some scorch marks in the grass, I am not sure that this matters really though? It's a beautiful natural meadow with slopes, old trees, natural ponds and a river, not a pristine manicured lawn! The kids loved the marshmallows and glowsticks that are given away, such fun! This is a real down to earth camping experience! The shop has got everything you could possibly need, and there is a co-op and post office etc just a short walk away for any extras. We cannot wait to book out next trip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alabama B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were part of a 5 family group (19 people) camping for the weekend (Fri-Sun). We had a very very good weekend. The children loved being able to run around in, out & up the trees, swinging on the rope swings. Playground is small but the campsite on the whole was their playground. There is an area with table tennis tables. After dark all the children on the site were called to gather together for a glow stick hunt where the owner throw out hundreds of glow sticks for the children to collect, they spent the next couple of hours on the central grass area swinging and throwing their sticks into the dark making their own light shows. Shower block/toilets were as expected. Shop available with very reasonably priced food & drink and if they don't have what you want the village has a Co-op a 10 - 15 minute walk away. Having a real campfire was fantastic and we just sat chatting & staring into the flames into the night. The only downside would be that we arranged for electric hook-up only to find that it would not support a home kettle etc. although we were able to have our money back. All in all a super weekend. Happy children = happy Mummies & Daddies. Looking to go back in 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pingu1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just returned from a two night break in the gypsie caravan here; all I can say is dont judge on the previous reviews! It is expensive for what you get although everywhere was very clean (bedding, crockery etc and the caravan had been aired before our visit), decent wood and marshmellows provided. Alan provided us with his own bread & eggs in the morning so we didnt have to wait for a delivery :) It could of been the out of session time of year we went (unlike others in the high summer) but it was all very quiet and still sunny (nice and warm at night with heater provided in the caravan too). We could only hear the traffic noise every now and then, nothing over bearing - More the pidgeons & birds! Could see the playground was a little run down although as a couple the table tennis area was still useable! Loved being able to have a real camp fire next the BBQ at night, a great experiance. Looking forward to returning one day in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just returned from a three night break at this site. We were a group of four women and six young children ranging in age from 4 - 12. Upon arrival the helpful staff erected our tents for us and we soon settled in. It is a great atmosphere on the site very buzzy and fun. The children loved every minute of the holiday and had a ball playing on the brand new swings and climbing frame, rope swings dotted around, and had the freedom to climb trees sit by a campfire toasting marshmallows and really connect with outdoor life.
The facilities were excellent and were cleaned regularly although there will always be mud around as it is after all a field and to clean everytime someone went in would be impossible.
Overall I would describe the place as wonderfully vibrant where people come to connect back with nature and enjoy good old fashioned camping at its best. The owner is definitely eccentric but that adds to the fun of the place. Most people moaning on this review site are missing the point that this is all about mud, open fires and back to basics not a five star hotel. We will be back and looking forward to it.

Room Tip: If renting a pre erected tent recommend to bring a gazebo for sitting under in the evenings. also bring plenty of torches and real butter if you don't like spread.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivienmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

As a regular contributor to Tripadvisor I always try to provide a balanced and helpful review. This campsite is poor and it is with regret I have to write such a negative write up. The website makes the campsite sound wonderful, this is very much an embellishment of the truth. The owner meeting us half dressed is not a great start, I mean guests on a hot day walk around tops off fine, but the reception staff shouldn't. The shop is ok, well stocked but very small offering burgers. The campsite is mostly on a slope and I would suggest the woodland / river area as they are at least flat! There are no pitch segregation and its just put your tent up anywhere over there! Thankfully, we were away from the main area but that didn't stop us being kept awake until 0330! I accept people staying up late but 0330?No security and no one ensuring noise is kept to a minimum after midnight at least.There are two ponds with rubbish so not great for small kiddies.The camp fires are a nice touch but you can have one anywhere you want...not conducive to keeping a nice campsite surely?H&S? Their poster/website stating its mutual cooperation seems to me, like they cannot be bothered. The site offers 3 showers, yes 3 showers for 200 people and only 5 toilets (mixed). They are all very dirty and we wondered if we came out more filthy. A real negative when your away from home. If you don't mind slumming it then you might be ok?The area for the rubbish was over flowing, bags everywhere, again not good. There is a small play area(2 swings)! In summary, there are plenty of fantastic campsites in Norfolk and Suffolk and this is NOT one of them. How this got campsite of the year 2010 is beyond me, its either gone seriously down hill or its a 'play on words'. Please go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews