We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamping at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays
Ranked #3 of 3 Genalguacil B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at cloud house farm in August 2013 so this is a belated review(oops). The weather was absolutely gorgeous Sunny and hot! The yurt itself had lovely furniture, enough space for four and the bed was so comfortable. The children slept on futons and were very happy. It would have been easy to laze around all day in the beautiful surroundings (which we did a lot of) but we had plenty of adventures in our little hire car visiting tiny villages and river pools on dirt track roads. We even found one we could walk to and it was lovely to jump in after a hot walk. Highlights: getting lost, teaching the children that its actually fun to be lost, children getting on first name terms with bugs, the walk to the bathroom and having our own pets(borrowed!) dan and Juss' dog Maddy and cat Rico. Highly recommended although a reasonable level of fitness is required if u like walks with adventures! Would like to visit again. We stayed 5 days and could have easily stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I am not great at switching off from work, normally at least a 3 day wind down. At cloud house farm I was in the happy place before I had emptied my rucksack. Once I found the hammock my wife was concerned I would never move again. No matter where you sit the view is fantastic, either soothing mountain vistas or fabulous multi coloured cork trees. Perhaps the best view was from the "Loo with a view" A very relaxing sit down. The surrounding towns offer the opportunity to eat out at very good prices, a bit like the old days when you don't check the prices before you order, and the wine just keeps flowing, everything seems to cost a Euro. Dan and Jus never appeared to get fed up with us leaving wine in their fridge and collecting each evening so that we could have chilled vino with dinner. The outdoor cooking was great, superb views to look at whilst stirring paella, or slicing chorizo. We liked it so much we are going back next year and taking our daughters and their boyfriends. If we are doing that it must be good. If you like the arts, hiking, swimming, reading or just boozing in the sun this is the place. The bed is fantastic and as it cools down in the evening you can even sleep well. Eagles, fish, wild boar, cheap restaraunts and bars, river pools but above all your own little spot away from it all, lots of privacy but not too isolated. I cannot recomend this place enough. Watch out for the local saints ceremony you can get dragged off down to the river and "forced" to drink lots of free wine, listen to live music whilst swimming in the pools at
Banu Rabbah. A terrible fate. If you dont fancy the river there are local pools with views you would not get in the municipal swimming baths in the UK. Like I say we are going back next summer with a bit of luck for 3 weeks rather than two.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are a family of four, and we stayed for a week at Cloud House Farm in July 2013. We arrived hot and bothered, but had a lovely welcome, including cold lemonades for the children, and cold beers for us. We soon settled in and cooled down, the trip to the river pool down the road helped greatly!. We had an amazing week, the yurt was beautiful, and surprisingly cool during the night, so we all slept well. The outdoor kitchen was easy to cook in, and well-equipped, and the shower and toilet (in a little hut on the hillside) had the most amazing views that you ever saw from a loo!! We did lots of relaxing, reading, and card-playing, as well as visiting the river pools, which were full of fish and other interesting wildlife. The week went far too quickly, and we would highly recommend the experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Woodland Yurt and the view was amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

After four days at Cloudhouse, we were more relaxed than we’d been for a while! Some memories we’ll savour for years to come... until our next visit, at least.

Passing the sunny afternoons reading in the hammock, or reclining in a deckchair in the dappled shade of the orange groves, whilst listening to the sounds of nature buzzing, humming and rustling around us, was pure heaven.

Several ‘gourmet’ meals, prepared in the rustic kitchen (BBC, I think I might have a new idea for a show...) and enjoyed with a cold beer and some lovely red wine, before retiring to the stargazing deck for some amateur astronomy. I’m sure The Big Dipper is directly above that deck...

The visits from Maddy the friendly dog and Rico the very Spanish cat created some excitement and some welcome animal conversation. Uncle Rico wolfed down a lizard whilst we were preparing our dinner, but it didn't put us off – all that mountain air gives you quite an appetite!

The hike to Genalguacil was worth the effort – the views as you descend and ascend are breathtaking and you could bump into a friendly German and his donkeys on the way; they might even give you lift! With all the artwork and sculpture around Genalguacil, you feel like you’re walking around a living gallery.

The views from the terrace at the Hotel Banu Rabbah are equally remarkable, enhanced only by a chilled sun-downer and the sound of the ice clinking in your glass. Look out for the short-toed eagles swooping in the valley.

The wildlife – lizards, bats, an array of birds with beautiful song, the frogs and fish in the river, the giant (friendly!) bees, the creepy crawlies - small and slightly larger; all harmless of course, but Juss was kind enough to rescue the eight-legged inhabitant of our yurt who was just getting comfy for the night, directly above our bed!

And finally, the loo with a view – what more could you ask for!
Such wonderful hospitality, a really warm welcome to a wonderful home – thank you Dan and Juss and family for making our stay at Cloudhouse so memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Cloud Farm for 4 days in July 2012. We have 2 kids (12 and 10) and the thought of no Xbox or on tap Internet access was a concern for them! Within a few hours they chilled out and started to appreciate their surroundings, the amazing views, the peace and quiet, the outdoor kitchen, hammock and very comfortable yurt - as did we. Highlights - watching shooting stars, swimming in river pools and the lack of tourists. Keeping food/drinks chilled was initially a worry however buying a bag of ice at the nearby restaurant ensured a chilled glass of wine as the sun went down! It was the highlight of our trip to Spain.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloudLoving, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thanks Emma for the comments, well appreciated and we're enjoying reading back over them on this wet and wintery day. We've had 3 days of heavy rain and the little concrete bridge is almost submerged, so different to when you guys were out, lucky we shut shop for the winter months :)
Wish you all the very best from the mountains
Dan & Juss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After a week spent with family we were in need of some quiet time amidst beautiful surroundings for the remainder of our stay in Andalucia. We dropped everyone else of at Malaga airport and drove on to cloud house farm, we literally could not take the smiles of our faces as we entered the gate. It was quite late when we arrived but nothing was to much trouble and even though we turned up in the middle of dinner dan and jus made us feel welcome instantly and jus showed us to our yurt. We cooked a yummy dinner at the fully equipped "kitchen" while taking it in turns to gaze at the millions of stars up above. We were joined by two very friendly faces while we were cooking, maddy and uncle rico, they were both very entertaining throughout our stay. 

The yurt was beautifully designed and the super comfy bed was great after the long drive. 
We had many great days staying here, mornings were spent squeezing oranges and reading in the hammock, afternoons by one of the many river pools and in the evening we took in the peacefulness of the great outdoors and slept like logs every night. Dan and jus were the perfect hosts answering all of our incessant questions and giving us fantastic advice of how to get places, especially great info on the river pools. We have a rule not to holiday in the same place twice but we are both in agreement that there is an exception to every rule and this is it. We are hoping to go back and visit very soon. Devastatingly, we lost our camera on the way home so cannot share any pictures but the place is spectacular and we are looking forward to our next trip already...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariannacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloudLoving, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Hey Ari and Kari,
thats an amazing review!! thanks so much for taking the time to sort it, love the story aspect to it too :)
And we do hope you manage to get back to the hills to stay here at Cloud House, i don't think we've ever had such enthusiastic guests!! :)

We wish you all the best with the new life together in the flat, with a cat? ;)
Very best from the Cloud House Clan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

BE WARNED! A stay at Cloud House Farm will really change your outlook on life! After a ride up through the mountains (in a Seat Leon), Rob driving, me reading the detailed (very!) directions the pessimist in me said that it was going to be difficult to find, too quiet, boring etc etc.............(and my eldest, very sporty daughter was whingeing that we should have gone to the Olympics)

We found Cloud House Farm quiet easily (with only a couple of cross words - unusual for us!) we had to call Dan once who was very helpful (I was of course right!!).

As we drove up the track we saw the Yurt and our daughters (8 and 12yrs) were very excited (I however was still sceptical). We then had a lovely welcome initially from Maddy (the family hound) followed by Dan, Juss and the boys (at this point, I decided maybe it will be ok) Juss showed us the Yurt and bathroom and left us to settle in. We had brought provisions with us (you need to), the girls went off to explore and came back and declared it was going to be the best holiday ever. Tallulah wanted to go to bed immediately as she just wanted to sleep in the Yurt (it was 6pm) Pippa enjoyed the novelty of not using the toilet and just using the nearest bush (Tallulah - being a lady! was grossed out by this and is still getting over it).

After dinner we opened a nice complimentary bottle of red and I decided to have a 'go' in the hammock - so chilled out! At this point I decided this IS going to be ok. We all sat outside the Yurt and looked up at the stars. I claimed I had seen a shooting star and everyone else convinced me it was a plane and I had drunk too much wine, until they also saw them! Settling down and sleeping in the Yurt was such fun and we had an amazing night's sleep. Every little detail has been well thought out and I can still see the white village from the Yurt window if I close my eyes and try hard enough.

Juss (she is THE most chilled out young mother I know - now I know why!) and Dan advised us where to go and we enjoyed the river pools and also went to the hotel with a pool in the next village which was really good. Most of all we just enjoyed, well doing nothing, chilling out lounging in the hammock, taking photos, playing with Maddy, watching ants (!)

Four days was not long enough and when we had to leave we all felt a little sad and you know what it wasn't boring, too quiet etc etc it was just PERFECT!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbyWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloudLoving, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thanks Debby & Rob for the brilliant write up, very touching comments :) We're now getting our wellies out dealing with the mud after the second deluge of storms, so very different now to when you guys were out for the summer, lucky we close for the winter!!
Really appreciate the review support and the cloud loving! :) and of course hope you guys will be back.

best wishes from the mountains!
Dan & Juss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genalguacil
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Recovero
La Posada del Recovero
#2 of 3 in Genalguacil
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Jardines del Visir
Show Prices

Been to Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays

Address: Finca Casa Nube | Genalguacil, 29492 Genalguacil, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Genalguacil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Genalguacil
Price Range: $74 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloud House Farm is a secluded mountain yurt hideaway located deep within the hills of the Rio Genal Valley, close to the Andalucian white washed village of Genalguacil and set against the spectacular backdrop of the Sierra Bermeja Mountain range. Set within 17 acres of mountainous cork oak forest & perfectly located for adventure and discovery, Cloud House Farm offers a unique holiday experience way off the beaten track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing