We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifuuul”
The Old School House, River and Orchard,  raicedo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School House, River and Orchard,  raicedo.
The Old School House..we love it and hope you will too!! the house with orchard and river has oodles of space and privacy to have a perfect family holiday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Old School House, River and Orchard,  raicedo.
The Old School House..we love it and hope you will too!!
the house with orchard and river has oodles of space and privacy to have a perfect family holiday
...this is why our house is so special, the orchard and river are just stunning!!
sit, splash, soak or simply listen to the bubbling water and watch it flow by. and yes make a dam!!
half the orchard is cut so loads of space to play and relax-hammock, loungers, garden games supplied
Lounge/Kitchen
lounge, summer or winter, relax on the massive leather sofa and just chill
The Kitchen/Diner fully equipped plus there are a selection of tables in the orchard garden and bbq
one of the double bedrooms, plenty of storage, great views, very tasteful decor and comfortable
wake up to this stunning view from main bedroom
main bedroom has this beautiful balcony that overlooks the orchard and river and woods opposite
one of the gorgeous views from balcony..binoculars supplied!! so much wildlife, rare flora and birds
soak up the evening sun from front bench, listen to the water +watch wildlife (our favourite thing!)
Back view of the house in autumn
River in the garden ( in winter) Perfect for summer dip, sploshing around +dam building! its lovely.
Rodiles beach, one of many fantastic local beaches
Quadding directly above the house is stunning!!
The beautiful village of Espinaredo 10 min walk down the lane, Has super local cafe/restaurant/ bar
Horreos (Barns) in Espinaredo. easy walking with great tavern for coffee drinks + food!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Espinaredo, Pilona Municipality, Asturias

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fay W
1 review
“Beautifuuul”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Such a beautiful location in the mountains. I love how it's not touristy, I really got the feel of actual Spain instead of the tacky hotel, water/theme park most destinations have to offer. It's quite a journey from anywhere due to the location but it doesn't matter when you've got a warm log fire and cosy sofa to come back to after a long day in Asturias.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Fay. Many thanks for your kind review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your mum as our guests at The Old Schoolhouse. We hope we can look forward to seeing you again next year. Mark & Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place of a relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the location with 8 and 9 year old girls. We all enjoyed it. The girls loved the orchard and stream to play in. My wife and i enjoyed the scenery, peace, tranquillity and walking. Good facilities at Infiesto nearby - with beaches not that far away. The house has everything you could possibly want for a holiday....oh and almost forgot the cows and horses that visited from time to time...including in the middle of the night!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjrner
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“First Class Rural Retreat !”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent property in ideal location, which I highly recommend. Property has all you require to enjoy a peaceful time in rural setting, but still within easy reach of Infiesto.
Excellent walks are available from the house, with panoramic views, while opportunities to explore the wider area are plentiful. Would recommend visits to both Cangas de Onis & Ribadesella, while the coach trip into Picos de Europa National Park is a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We loved the setting of the house so peaceful. Within a short drive you could be in the lovely village of Infiesto. This holiday really felt like the Spanish experience lovely local Spanish people who spoke very little English which made it more fun with the phrase book especially in restaurants ! We never realised how beautiful this area of Northern Spain is with pretty coves and fishing villages along the coast and then up in the hills and amazing views. Lots to see and explore. This was a really lovely first experience of Northern Spain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting of the house
Liked least: The drive up to the house at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Fabulous house in beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a glorious week at the Old School House, exploring both the Cantabrian coast (which offers excellent beaches, rocky coves, body boarding), the Picos de Europa, and intriguing towns (Ribadesella, Oviedo, Cangas) with great restaurants. The house is in a fantastic natural setting, above the lovely village of Espinaredo, and is perfect for local impromptu walks, longer hikes, or relaxing in the orchard with a book. The kitchen has everything one needs, the décor is tasteful and the house has been thoughtfully renovated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility and surrounding countryside
Liked least: Driving down the hill to catch ferry back to UK
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Heather6
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Lovingly renovated house with beautiful natural garden in truly isolated rural location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The property is a real away from it all treat. The house was beautifully restored and equipped. The children loved the orchard, dipping in the stream and having horses and cows as neighbours. A car is essential to enjoy all the area has to offer although it is possible to walk to the local village with its very welcoming bar serving local food and mojitos! The recommended restaurant in nearby Infiesto was superb with some of the best food I have tasted in Asturias, well worth a stop. We would recommend the beaches of the dinosaur coast - any of the ones along the road between Llastres and Ribadesella are lovely - and canoing down the river Sella - great fun. Asturias is very green and great for animal and nature lovers and for an alternative taste of Spain but you need to be prepared to take your time getting to places and to make an effort with the language. Also if you have time you must visit the Picos de Europa, one of most beautiful places in Europe. Highly recommended.
PS Remember to ask if you want to use the washing machine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwgm
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful holiday in a beautiful place.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Old School House in Asturias so we could enjoy a holiday in a beautiful place away from the traditional Spanish holiday spots. We had an absolutely brilliant week - the weather was great, even though we went in early autumn - the food was excellent and there was so much to do.

We went walking in the Picos de Europa which was the most wonderfully unexpected treat, including ancient beech forests, bleak, rocky peaks and stone cottages nestled miles from any roads. There is also an amazing forest near the house with a mountain river running through it which is dotted with waterfalls and amazing swimming spots.

We saw too much wildlife to list, but highlights included wild boar in the garden of the house, red deer on the slopes above, golden eagles, vultures, king fishers, red squirrels and lizards.

The food in the restaurant recommended by the owners, Mark and Lisa, was as delicious as described, and as dramatic as the landscape it came from - when we were there our steaks were cut from a whole side of cow brought out on to the counter in front of us.

The coastline nearby is dramatic and fantastic for surfing, and the food everywhere was exceptional. As the area is largely off the tourist trail it's also considerably cheaper than many other places we've been - beers in the local bar, for example, are Euro1.50 each, with plates of tapas not much more.

We could easily have stayed another week, and not even scratched the surface of what there was to do. In fact we nearly had to stay another week because we were caught up in the Brittany Ferries strike!

I couldn't recommend the place highly enough, both for the wonderful house and stunning location - and also for the way Mark and Lisa made us feel welcome in their home.

If you've not been too that part of Spain then do it - you won't regret it - it's like a completely different country and not to be missed. For people who like the outdoors in particular, there's just so much to do.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The landscape
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing