We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Olive Branch
Ranked #1 of 3 El Chorro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I had the misfortune of one of my friends booking this "hotel" for my girlfriend and I for climbing trip. It was very cheap in every sense. When we arrived the place was a mess, nothing like the photos. The toilets were hanging off the walls and there was a dog which belonged to the owner roaming about even in the rooms. There was no mention of a dog on the web site. The rooms was dirty and the place was very untidy. The so called parking is inaccessible. We tried and nearly broke the oil sump on our hire car and I have had it confirmed by the local mechanic that the owner also broke the sump of his car accessing the parking. It is not somewhere you can take your car. This place is good if you do not have a car and are on a tight budget but we ended up staying in a BandB in town. Owners seemed nice enough until we asked for deposit back then got a bit nasty, but that was to be expected. I personally would advise spending a bit more cash and going up market.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David120385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchElChorro, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

DO NOT TRUST THIS REVIEW - This reviewer DID NOT STAY AT OUR ACCOMMODATION, they stayed at a competitors.
They are not in a position to rate us or comment on our property.
We can assure future guests that our property is completely cleaned every day between 10am and 2pm. Our rooms are cleaned once mid-week during a 1 week stay.
Our dog DOES NOT go in our rooms, only on the outdoor terrace and garden.
We do not or never have had toilets hanging off the walls.
Our driveway is accessible by car, most of our guests have hire cars with no problems.
The reviewer is posting untrue information, our car was damaged on a main road.

We have a unique place here at The Olive Branch with accommodation to suit everyone and a lovely, homely welcoming atmosphere with the personal touch of our family. We have had many happy climbers, walkers and families alike that have stayed with us and you can see our reviews on here, on our website, on our Facebook page and on Climbing forums.

Thankyou for taking the time to listen to us and we hope to see you in the future.

Mel and Gary
The Olive Branch
El Chorro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed for a week with my adult son in twin room which was adequate for our visit. Joined by two friends who stayed in 'bunk house' style accomodation. This is in fact a three bedroom house which is being used as bunk accomodation. Very high standard and excellent facilities.
Mel and Gary very accomadating, nothing too much, made to feel very much at home and welcome. Very friendly atmosphere from all guests.
Our trip purpose was rock climbing and this is an excellent location, lots within walking distance. A car is needed (ignore the rockfax advice and grading for climbs!) in order to get to supermarket and around.
Wine and beer available on site at very reasonable rate.
Wifi available free of charge on site.
Overall, perfect and spot on for anyone enjoying the outdoors.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobSnowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We came across the Olive branch when we were looking for somewhere to stay along the train route from Malaga to Ronda. It was a great find!
We had a lovely 2 days relaxing at the Olive Branch at the start of our holiday.
Mel and Gary went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, picking us up from the station and offering us a lift to the lakes the following day so we could have a relaxing lunch by beautiful scenery. Recommending walks and local restaurants (within walking distance) to us.Thanks also to the other guest who kindly gave us a lift to the station,before unpacking, when Gary's car wouldn't start and we were leaving to catch the only train of the day to Ronda
Our bedroom was nicely decorated with a lovely big shower the only down-side was that there was no window which made the room hot to sleep in (especially when you're used to cold rainy Manchester!!)
Mel and Gary are great hosts and we would definately recommend the Olive Branch to friends. Would love to return for some walking in the spring.
Although we didn't really make use it the of the large communal kitchen is real bonus.
Thanks to Mel & Gary, Aimee, Lewis, Midnight for a great stay also to Chai for accompanying us on our walk into El Chorro!
Stephen & Saskia

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tafsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amigademaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchElChorro, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allanaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchElChorro, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiroT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchElChorro, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Chorro
0.4 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
5.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
131 reviews
13.5 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
La Posada Del Conde
La Posada Del Conde
#2 of 2 in Ardales
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B cortijo Don Camilo de la Huma
5.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Address: Partido Los Romerales, Alto No.20 | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > El Chorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Chorro
Price Range: $62 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing