We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest place in El Chorro!”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olive Branch
Ranked #1 of 3 El Chorro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The friendliest place in El Chorro!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the olive branch for four days whilst house hunting in the area, it's a great place to stay. The views are stunning, the accommodation perfect and the ambience is catching. But the best thing are people, Mel and Gary are the perfect hosts, friendly and informative but not overbearing, Roy and Amelio are stars and cook up a lovely breakfast and a mean veggie curry! Cheers guys!

Would stay again in a heartbeat and the community feel and friendliness is one of the reasons we will be buying in the area very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
64
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a totally brilliant time at The Olive Branch. It is the sort of place where you can tell Mel and Gary are doing it for the love as well as for the money; they are completely immersed in offering their guests a fantastic experience and doing this comes naturally to them. They really take the time to chat and share things with their guests, making you feel like you belong as soon as you arrive. I really loved all the animals too - two really great dogs, a number of cats and even some cute chicks.

Everything you might need is provided; a station pick-up, a massive kitchen and a great swim pool, as well as things you might have forgotten such as shower gel and sun cream.

It was handy to be able to borrow climbing equipment too. We'll definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissEloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everthing perfect: the room, the pool, the food, the hospitality, the area. Either if you'd like to hike or just to relax, this is definately the place to stay in the heart of Andalusia. I would come back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here on 2 seperate occasions in June and loved it both times. Mel and Gary really have created a relaxed atmosphere where you almost feel 'at home'. The propery is lovely and has an amazing view over the valleys. All the activities are really close by, all the facilities are kept lovely and clean and the kitchen has everything you could need. I camped both times and loved it. Had loads of foam mats in the tent so it was super comfy and the sound of the bells round the sheeps necks in the distance at night was so peaceful. I would recommend this place to anyone whether you want an apartment or camping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed with Mel and Gary last week and I loved it. The room was beautiful and the breakfast superb. 2 very friendly hosts and their place is perfect for anyone wishing to explore the area or tackle the Camino del Rey for which they have a very competent and friendly guide in Roy. I will definitely be back to stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpaceCowboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

stayed here again this year for a week, as per last year Garry and Mel were excellant hosts, sociable but left you too yourself unless you required.
stunning views and excellant base for climbing , hiking etc the surrounding area .

Cheers Luke

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toppa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Mel and Gary have put together a great base for climbers: Las Encantadas is a five minute walk away and most of Frontales is a 20 minute warm-up walk. The atmosphere is great and there are always people there willing to share beta, a rope or just "the craic". The breakfasts were great and if Charly is still there making cakes then that's all the climbing food you'll ever need. I had a great time, even when the rain arrived and will stay there next time I climb at el Chorro.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the room next to the common-room if you are into early starts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PTFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Chorro
0.4 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
5.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
122 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Posada Del Conde
La Posada Del Conde
#2 of 2 in Ardales
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
831 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel La Fuente del Sol
13.2 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Property: The Olive Branch
Address: Los Romerales | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > El Chorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Chorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing