We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of The Olive Branch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Olive Branch
Ranked #1 of 3 El Chorro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

After a long drive, a flight and several trains we were met by Gary at the station and it felt like we'd come home. Mel and Gary did all they could to make us feel welcome (again) - and their house has all that climbers could want - accomodation with wi-fi, pool, great like minded company, big kitchen, bathrooms, wine and beer.. Thank you for making our climbing trip...

Room Tip: You don't need your own tent - use theirs..
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxHunterCoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    18
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
63
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Laidback, friendly accommodation, perfect for climbers. Dorms, private rooms and camping (including tent hire) available. Swimming pool, kitchen with everything you could need, pool table, and lots of climbing within easy walking distance! Mel, Gary, Martin and Sophie are brilliant, so friendly and always there to help.
Bathrooms, kitchen and pool were clean and tidy. Such a relaxing atmosphere and so easy to meet people.
I went in with my friend in Dec/Jan for new year. Had such an amazing time I was back 6 weeks later in Feb! Can't wait to go back again, wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!
The closest crag is a 5 minute walk away, there was a thai food night where Gary cooked us a meal and we all ate together, your can order lunch and evening meals everyday and there is a choice for veggies.
Would recommend to all climbers and anyone wanting to relax in the sun whether you are travelling solo, in a group or a couple!
I don't think I've ever felt more relaxed than I did at the Olive Branch. Thanks guys, looking forward to going back!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeyUK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helped me with all my queries...Great facilities, especially enjoyed swimming every morning! Local climbing and grocery store in el chorro which is great.... and fantastic climbing.....will definitely visit again A+++++++++

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ezclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

THE best place to stay and climb in El Chorro. The owners are the nicest people you could ever hope to meet.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexmas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Olive Branch is a fantastic place to stay if you are on a budget and want good, simple accommodation. The owners (Gary and Mel) were really friendly and made every effort to make sure my stay was enjoyable. They replied very quickly to any emails I wrote prior to arriving, which meant my booking was really easy and they were there to pick me up from Alora station. The accommodation was cleaned everyday and the garden was kept tidy. The kitchen(s) were excellent to cook in, there was free WIFI, there were beers/ready meals in the fridge you could buy, which all contributed to a good stay.

I would certainly recommend The Olive Branch to anyway heading to El Chorro to climb/walk/bike/getting into the mountains of Spain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyroo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I went out to climb in El Chorro for a month after being made redundant. I'd planned to stay at the Olive Branch for a month, but stayed for 3. Mel and Gary are such great hosts that everyone was made to feel part of a big family. The people who turned up to stay there, whether for climbing, cycling, walking or just relaxing were quite simply great people to share climbing, food, wine and laughs with. The place is extremely welcoming and I couldn't recommend it highly enough, despite Gary's corny jokes!

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PatrickPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

If you're looking for a friendly family run guesthouse with great hilltop views within walking distance of the crags and El Chorro village, then look no further than the Olive Branch!

The hosts Gary and Mel were superb and provided a homely, relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and were extremely helpful and accommodating throughout our stay.

Our ensuite room was very comfortable and the superb breakfast each morning set us up for a good days climbing on the nearby crags, the closest one just 5 minutes walk away.

The facilities were great and included free high speed internet, use of a fully equipped shared kitchen, honesty bar, washing machine, wood burning stove, swimming pool, and plenty of board games and a pool table in the lounge area for evening entertainment or rainy days.

Thanks Mel and Gary, the Olive Branch was a real find and a true climbers haven. We'll definitely be back and we'll gladly recommend The Olive Branch to friends and our local mountaineering club.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Chorro
0.4 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
5.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
121 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Posada Del Conde
La Posada Del Conde
#2 of 2 in Ardales
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
814 reviews
13.2 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
742 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Property: The Olive Branch
Address: Los Romerales | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > El Chorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in El Chorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Olive Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing