We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views from the terrace”
Review of The Crossways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crossways
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous views from the terrace”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Crossways is a lovely hotel set in beautiful Somerset. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was good. It's the setting that makes this hotel quite outstanding. The terrace which has fabulous views towards Glastonbury Tor, would have been a great place to dine if the weather had been warmer. If you're going to be later returning than eleven o'clock they will let you have a key to let yourself in - there isn't 24 hour reception service. We ate from the bar menu which was very good - excellent battered fish and the triple cooked chips were fab.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaywatcherSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    78
    32
    24
    21
See reviews for
74
158
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had lunch here with my daughter last week...what a lovely place!! Although it was close to the end of service and we were just about the only guests, the staff were really friendly , and we didn't feel rushed at all. The service was really very good and the food was delightful. It was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked!!
As it was a lovely day we sat outside...this has to be one of..if not THE, best terraces I've seen outside of Italy or Switzerland...go take a look, I'm sure you won't be disappointed!!

Well worht a trip...we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't sleep over...maybe next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We we so delighted to find such a lovely place which was perfect for visiting nearby attractions. We were only 3 miles from Wells, 10 miles from the Cheddar Gorge, 20 miles from Longleat and Fleet Air Arm museum was only a 30 minute drive, can't get better than that !!

The hotel is absolutely lovely, modern & clean with loads of free parking, the bedrooms were spacious and the complimentary choccie on the pillow was a nice touch. The bar terrace was amazing, sitting in the afternoon sun with a cold beer looking at Glastonbury Tor, surrounded by open countryside with horses and sheep for company.

The staff were really attentive & friendly and I have to say that Ben (the Manager) has to be the hardest working person I have ever come across and he always had a smile on his face, even when he was still working at 10pm after serving our breakfast at 8:30am!!!

The food was really good, the breakfast was huge and it was great that they had a varied lunch and evening menu so you didn't have to go looking for an evening meal after a long day sight seeing. The food was a good price and cooked to perfection every night. Compliments to the Chef's

The only MINOR negative point is that the doors slam shut everytime because of the security locking so you do get a disturbed night.

We stayed for a 2 night break, but wish we had booked for longer. We are definitely hooked and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lees5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a lovely hotel tucked away in the countryside, beautiful views from the lovely terrace.
The room was lovely spotlessly clean very modern and everything you could want, tea,coffee & biscuits, soaps, shower/bath gel. The bed was really comfy too. Lovely bar area and dining area very comfortable seating, leather sofas.
Staff really lovely and accommodating nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely beautifully cooked, presented and served with a warm smile.
Great place for a family get together, great facilities even had an old fashioned skittle alley!!
Good location between Yeovil & Bath for visiting the sites around.
A great find will be staying here again soon I hope.
Thank you for a lovely stay to all the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very pleasant Inn tucked away in the Somerset countryside. Our bedroom overlooked some sheep pottering around in an orchard - idyllic. The food was excellent and well prepared but key to the success of this place is the hard work of the staff esp the manager. Would recommend if in the area (or on the way to Bath as we were).

Room Tip: Orchard view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August and found the place to be very accommodating. We arrived early as we had travelled a long way and the manager allowed us to check in early and also upgraded us to the bridal suite - which was a lovely room with a fantastic bathroom. It's in a good location, only 4 miles from the City of Wells and Shepton Mallet, also 6 miles from Glastonbury. The City of Wells is beautiful and has a good market on Wednesdays, there are also good places to eat.
Thank you to the manager at Crossways, he obviously works very hard to keep Crossways looking in excellent condition and serving super food at good prices.
Overall, had a lovely few days away in Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321blondebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

the hotel was nice and clean. the breakfast was lovely. but what let this b&b I say that nicely has I think it is a b&b because, no staff is on duty after a certain time. we stayed here in june 2012 to attend a wedding in wells, and after the reception we came back to the crossways at 12-30am to find the doors locked. we tried ringing the management but we got no answer, this went on for 10 minutes then we noticed a top window to the bottom lounge in which we climbed through after a fair while. the next morning we told the manager who promised to refund us £90 for our inconvenience. sad to say we never received any refund. also another couple had the same problem a few hours after me and my partner. apparently if nobody is still in the bar at this place at 11-30pm they then decide to lock up. the crossways is badly signposted from the main road and you have to drive up a very narrow road with hedges at either side for nearly a mile before you reach the crossways. I suggest if you don't want to be locked out of where you are staying I would give this place a miss.

Room Tip: make sure it is a low floor for climbing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wootton
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
4.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
986 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
191 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossways

Property: The Crossways
Address: Stocks Lane, North Wootton, Wells BA4 4EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > North Wootton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wootton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossways 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Somerset, one of the UK's most beautiful counties, Crossways offers great food and superb accommodation. Situated near to the beautiful city of Wells, we are an AA-rated 4-star Inn and our bar and restaurant is open to non-residents. So whether you are looking for an overnight stay in Somerset or a week or more of rest and relaxation or perhaps you're searching for a place to eat in or around Bath or Wells, Crossways offers you the perfect location for visiting the county's most popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crossways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing