We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rural gem”
Review of The Crossways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crossways
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A rural gem”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very pleasant Inn tucked away in the Somerset countryside. Our bedroom overlooked some sheep pottering around in an orchard - idyllic. The food was excellent and well prepared but key to the success of this place is the hard work of the staff esp the manager. Would recommend if in the area (or on the way to Bath as we were).

Room Tip: Orchard view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUTMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    81
    32
    24
    21
See reviews for
76
163
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August and found the place to be very accommodating. We arrived early as we had travelled a long way and the manager allowed us to check in early and also upgraded us to the bridal suite - which was a lovely room with a fantastic bathroom. It's in a good location, only 4 miles from the City of Wells and Shepton Mallet, also 6 miles from Glastonbury. The City of Wells is beautiful and has a good market on Wednesdays, there are also good places to eat.
Thank you to the manager at Crossways, he obviously works very hard to keep Crossways looking in excellent condition and serving super food at good prices.
Overall, had a lovely few days away in Somerset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321blondebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

the hotel was nice and clean. the breakfast was lovely. but what let this b&b I say that nicely has I think it is a b&b because, no staff is on duty after a certain time. we stayed here in june 2012 to attend a wedding in wells, and after the reception we came back to the crossways at 12-30am to find the doors locked. we tried ringing the management but we got no answer, this went on for 10 minutes then we noticed a top window to the bottom lounge in which we climbed through after a fair while. the next morning we told the manager who promised to refund us £90 for our inconvenience. sad to say we never received any refund. also another couple had the same problem a few hours after me and my partner. apparently if nobody is still in the bar at this place at 11-30pm they then decide to lock up. the crossways is badly signposted from the main road and you have to drive up a very narrow road with hedges at either side for nearly a mile before you reach the crossways. I suggest if you don't want to be locked out of where you are staying I would give this place a miss.

Room Tip: make sure it is a low floor for climbing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for short weekend break with family.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and looked as is newly refurbished. Staff gave us lots of helpful tips for things to do with grandchildren during the day, which was great as kept them entertained!

We ate dinner in the restaurant both evenings. The food was outstanding! Brilliantly cooked and presented and a wonderful combination of flavours! They even hand made my granddaughters chicken nuggets!

They also have an outside terrace with lovely comfy corner sofas to relax as a family in the evening and let the kids tire themselves out!

We will be certainly returning as soon as we are allowed to have the grandchildren for another weekend. Hopefully a week!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our lunch yesterday was delicious but I totally agree with lakelandladyMalvern that the portions were way too small. My strapping, hungry teenaged son had the Thai prawn curry and it looked like a starter. My hake was extremely tasty but I think some extra pesto mash would not have dented the profit margin too much - £15.95 for another starter sized main course seemed rather steep. Hot chocolate brownie and peanut butter ice cream were a fabulous combination. However, I had a good appetite for the rather more abundant meal I cooked for myself in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we decided to have a meal here having read a full page ad in one of the local magazines and we
were disappointed.

we sat outside as it was a nice evening and duly ordered our meal. what can I say???? I ordered the butternut squash and goats cheese lasagne which, in fairness, was very good but the portion was far too small. I would have expected it to be a starter. salad with it consisted of a few leaves and tomatoes with a very light sprinkling of parmesan, hard to locate really. I came away feeling really hungry which has not happened to me for many years and i eat out on a very regular basis. very disappointing as it was not cheap. my husband had the thai curry
which, again, was very nice but very small. why serve the curry in a small bowl with a bit of rice on the side? much better to have a plate underneath in case the customer decides to mix both the curry and the rice together. the place is nice, obviously had a lot of money spent on it but I felt it lacked character and a womans touch. maybe I am wrong. Great place for weddings and functions but just didnt work for me as a restaurant. sorry, wont be back.

Room Tip: only had a meal which was lovely but way too small. came away feeling rather hungry and raided the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelandladyMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited this hotel with my wife for our 5 year anniversary. When we arrived we were showed by the manager to our room, which was stunning!! We were given an enormous four poster bed and there was even a tv built in above the en suite double bath!!

We were greeted in the bar by a smiling waitress who showed us to a lovely table in the restaurant. The food we had was superb!! As was the breakfast the next morning!!

We will definitely be returning as soon as possible! Our expectations were exceeded and more and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff at this stunningly refurbished hotel.

Thank you Crossways!!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Avalon Vale Suite if available, very good value for money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wootton
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
4.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,023 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossways

Property: The Crossways
Address: Stocks Lane, North Wootton, Wells BA4 4EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > North Wootton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wootton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossways 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Somerset, one of the UK's most beautiful counties, Crossways offers great food and superb accommodation. Situated near to the beautiful city of Wells, we are an AA-rated 4-star Inn and our bar and restaurant is open to non-residents. So whether you are looking for an overnight stay in Somerset or a week or more of rest and relaxation or perhaps you're searching for a place to eat in or around Bath or Wells, Crossways offers you the perfect location for visiting the county's most popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crossways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing