We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good to eat here if you're trying to lose weight!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crossways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crossways
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good to eat here if you're trying to lose weight!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our lunch yesterday was delicious but I totally agree with lakelandladyMalvern that the portions were way too small. My strapping, hungry teenaged son had the Thai prawn curry and it looked like a starter. My hake was extremely tasty but I think some extra pesto mash would not have dented the profit margin too much - £15.95 for another starter sized main course seemed rather steep. Hot chocolate brownie and peanut butter ice cream were a fabulous combination. However, I had a good appetite for the rather more abundant meal I cooked for myself in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    76
    32
    22
    21
See reviews for
72
147
9
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malvern
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

we decided to have a meal here having read a full page ad in one of the local magazines and we
were disappointed.

we sat outside as it was a nice evening and duly ordered our meal. what can I say???? I ordered the butternut squash and goats cheese lasagne which, in fairness, was very good but the portion was far too small. I would have expected it to be a starter. salad with it consisted of a few leaves and tomatoes with a very light sprinkling of parmesan, hard to locate really. I came away feeling really hungry which has not happened to me for many years and i eat out on a very regular basis. very disappointing as it was not cheap. my husband had the thai curry
which, again, was very nice but very small. why serve the curry in a small bowl with a bit of rice on the side? much better to have a plate underneath in case the customer decides to mix both the curry and the rice together. the place is nice, obviously had a lot of money spent on it but I felt it lacked character and a womans touch. maybe I am wrong. Great place for weddings and functions but just didnt work for me as a restaurant. sorry, wont be back.

Room Tip: only had a meal which was lovely but way too small. came away feeling rather hungry and raided the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelandladyMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited this hotel with my wife for our 5 year anniversary. When we arrived we were showed by the manager to our room, which was stunning!! We were given an enormous four poster bed and there was even a tv built in above the en suite double bath!!

We were greeted in the bar by a smiling waitress who showed us to a lovely table in the restaurant. The food we had was superb!! As was the breakfast the next morning!!

We will definitely be returning as soon as possible! Our expectations were exceeded and more and nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff at this stunningly refurbished hotel.

Thank you Crossways!!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Avalon Vale Suite if available, very good value for money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place in the heart of the countryside yet only 15-20 minutes away from some great places to visit! The rooms are clean, spacious and inviting. The shower rooms/ bathrooms are modern, clean and efficient but ours could have benefited from a window. Staff great you with a smile and are happy to help, they are very hard working and seem to multi task very well. My only disappointment was the evening meal. We were a party of seven with both adults and children and all ordered at the same time, however our meals were delivered 15 minutes apart, 5 delivered first and 15 minutes later the last two were delivered, not very professional! The food was average in the evening but the breakfasts made up for it all being delivered together and all very tasty! The area is very pretty and cheddar gorge, longleat safari and wells are all within 15-20 minutes away! An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBags1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Newly refurbished rooms nicely decorated. A well stocked bar. Friendly staff . A decent restaurant with good home cooked food. A nice outside seating area. A little off the main run but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks., UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Four of us arrived early after a 3-hour journey and we were hoping they could offer us two rooms several hours before their usual check-in time to enable us to change and still leave us time to get to a christening in Wells at 12.00. They agreed immediately, provided rooms and coffee and we still made it to Wells in time. We only stayed one night but we found that nothing was too much trouble. By way of example, our daughter was at home 120 miles away expecting her third child that day. Mobile 'phone reception is poor in the area and the hotel's landline is unattended after midnight but they were happy to give us a code with which a family member could get straight through to the room during the night if necessary. Minor niggles might include a fairly hard bed and the drink selection at the bar a little sparse but overall a very satisfactory experience and an establishment we would happily use again.

Room Tip: 105 is spacious with some views and although overlooking the road, there is no traffic. 109 was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motorwaymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at the B & B early as it was a beautiful day and we were hoping they could accommodate us in booking us in early and by that I mean a few hours early. They agreed and after all our travelling we freshened up and was able to go out and enjoy the rest of the day. We only stayed one night but we found that nothing was too much trouble for them and in our opinion would definitely like to return in the future. We stayed in a family room which was a lovely size with a huge bed and a sofa bed for our daughter. Everywhere was recently refurbished to an excellent standard with a contempory feel to it. Well done Crossways we hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Family room was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wootton
4.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
2.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
7.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossways

Property: The Crossways
Address: Stocks Lane, North Wootton, Wells BA4 4EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells > North Wootton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Wootton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossways 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of Somerset, one of the UK's most beautiful counties, Crossways offers great food and superb accommodation. Situated near to the beautiful city of Wells, we are an AA-rated 4-star Inn and our bar and restaurant is open to non-residents. So whether you are looking for an overnight stay in Somerset or a week or more of rest and relaxation or perhaps you're searching for a place to eat in or around Bath or Wells, Crossways offers you the perfect location for visiting the county's most popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crossways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing