We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Wine”

Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery
Ranked #6 of 101 things to do in Grey County
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Start your day at Coffin Ridge with a wine tasting led by our knowledgeable staff. From there you can retreat to the deck for a glass of wine and our vintner's plate made up of local artisanal breads and cheeses which have been specifically paired with the glass of wine you are drinking. Relax, listen to music and enjoy the Coffin Ridge experience.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Summer Wine”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We decided to enjoy some of our local attractions this summer and this has long been on the 'to do' list, can't believe we left it so long! What an amazing gem of a place... Well off the beaten track it is nestled in the countryside overlooking Georgian Bay.
The wine tasting is complimentary and the staff are super friendly and no question is too much for them.. After enjoying 3 superb fresh summer wines we retreated to the sumptuous deck to relax with a glass of our choice and a delightful vintners plate of the most delicious cheeses, salamis, olives, jam, and artisan breads.
While relaxing with food and drink we contemplated our purchases and marvelled at the stunning view.
After making several purchases we took the slow drive back home to Collingwood completely impressed with this wonderful gem of a place.
As a last mention you really need to check out the washroom! Has to be seen to be believed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    18
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
barrieont
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Peaceful Setting & Excellent Wines”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you're in this area and you like wine, this winery is a must visit. We lucked out seeing the Coffin Ridge Winery signs on our way to Owen Sound & made a point of stopping on our way home. Coffin Ridge is 8 km from Cty Rd 26, of which the first 2 km are paved and the last 6km are a gravel road. We were a little concerned wandering our way down the gravel road, only to come upon the Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery entrance, and to our wine hearts delight, we both said "WOW" what a beautiful spot.

We showed up 1/2 hour before closing time, and the staff were more than friendly and pleased to serve us! After a flight tasting, we enjoyed a glass of "Back from the Dead" Red on the patio overlooking the wonderful views of the vineyard and hills of Grey Cty and Georgian Bay in the distance. This is a very peaceful location to enjoy a glass of wine, and we're looking forward to our next visit!

You can also enjoy a self-guided tour through the vineyards.

We must commend winemaker Steve Byfield with his excellent wines, and highly recommend his 2010 Veritas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steelback24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun Day Trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were staying in Collingwood and the Coffin Ridge Winery was about 1 hour away. We enjoyed the peaceful trip there and the great views of the countryside. We did the wine tasting first and then sat outside and had more wine and food. The food tray was unique with ostrich sausage and cheese but we loved it. The black "Halloween" style bathroom was also very different. This is a great place to have a peaceful afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I are wine snobs (ok shoot me. Or better still pickle me a in a barrel of heavy red Shiraz with a nice spicy after taste). We have been lucky enough to experience wineries all over the world, but this is one of our favorites. Their selection of product is very limited, but what they do offer is good quality.
Their outside patio is lovely and spacious. It over looks their vineyard and gives you a slight view of Georgian Bay. We indulged in a couple of glasses of their Bone Dry white and their meat and cheese plate. Although not inexpensive, about $60 for the plate and 4 glasses of wine, it was wonderfully romantic to sit in one of their Muskoka chairs and watch the sun go down over the lush green vines hanging with grapes that produce the nectar of the Gods.
If you are up that way make it a point to find the winery and take some time to relax and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Bolte59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome wine and staff”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

To be blunt, an awesome experience. We had a welcoming staff showing up on a Wednesday right in the morning we sampled most items on the menu including blends of local and Niagara grapes and local hybrids which they style perfectly with their own unique flare. Steven the wine maker was friendly and the servers were fantastic and enthusiastic. Didn't have time for a cheese plate but we will be back for sure!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WineGuy8021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery also viewed

Blue Mountains, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing