We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rustic Barn

Rustic Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rustic Barn
Winter Scene View from Kitchen Window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Rustic Barn
Winter Scene
View from Kitchen Window
Master Bedroom - Sleep under the stars
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Small Bedroom
Upstairs Bathroom
Entrance Hall
Kitchen
Kitchen/Dining table
Living Room
Downstairs Bathroom
Rustic Barn
Can't guarentee the Pheasant!!
Still can't guarentee the Pheasant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Myself and a group of friends stayed at this lovely cottage for a weekend. The cottage had everything we needed including a dishwasher (as well as tablets) and it was warm and cosy. The cottage was easily accessible and we could pull up nearly right to the front door to unload and there was plenty of room for parking a short way from the property. There was great information about the local area in the cottage too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
Hi. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Lighting outside for the whole barn complex (there's more than the one barn) could do with additional lighting in the middle of the courtyard.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nikkie T
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cosy Conversion”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We were a group of five adults with a one year old girl and two dogs having a weekend break of two nights and we found Rustic Barn to be adequate for what we wanted.

The bedrooms were of a decent size, although the single bedroom was a little tight with a child's cot set up in it! All the beds were of a good size and very comfortable so plenty of room for five adults. There are two bathrooms, the upstairs has a basin and large corner bath while downstairs there is a large walk-in shower and a small basin. Of course, both bathrooms have toilets.

The kitchen/ diner we found to be a little tight on space, with two people in the kitchen area it was full, but we did have maximum occupancy and it really wasn't too much of an issue for a couple of days. The living room was spacious and there is a decent sized entrance hall which we found handy to leave the dogs in. On arrival , we found the cottage to be very clean and all appliances and utensils to be in good condition. The owner has left a lot of local information at the cottage about various walking routes and places to visit, you won't be bored.

We found a short weekend was not enough to do much in this area and would definitely return to this part of the country and would not hesitate to stay at Rustic Barn again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 8, 2016
Thank you for your review, It is very much appreciated.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Rustic Barn and would welcome you back anytime
Regards
Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynejoan...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rustic Barn”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A lovely weekend stay at the Rustic barn, Bakewell in the beautiful Peak district.
Pros : Lovely cottage has 3 bedrooms, master a really good size with a very nice
bathroom upstairs, bath was enormous. Downstairs was a small lounge, kitchen
diner and a shower room.
Cons : Communication with the booking agent and no towels. I had e mailed to
ask for the post code and was sent an email saying all details, rules and instructions
would follow in another e mail. I received the e mail with 2 attachments, one was a
map of the immediate area and the other was blank. I sent a further email to tell
them this but received no reply.
When we arrived at the property and found there were no towels I texted {very poor signal} and was told that they do not provide towels and the information was in the BLANK
e mail. We had to go out in the pouring rain to buy towels, this took the shine off the
weekend a little.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No towels provided
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
We pride ourselves on our communication prior to visit as our other reviews demonstrate. We have made some changes to the email we send out to further emphasise the fact that we don't provide towels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Companion...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Came here for our honeymoon in 2013 and have returned yearly. Lovely comfy beds and great village setting. Cottage opens onto courtyard so nice and safe for children. Large hallway with plenty of room for shoes/boots/bags etc. Well equipped with all you need. Lovely walks from door and couple min drive to the lovely Bakewell. Highly recommend Rustic barn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2017
Thanks for the great review and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMNUK
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a great location”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We loved our stay at Rustic Barn, we spent a couple of days here in January. It's very clean, well equipped, beautifully furnished and in a great location for exploring this area of the Peaks. The owners were very helpful and flexible to meet our needs.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2016
Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsbee0
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pre Xmas holiday for family”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Such a lovely cosy comfortable cute cottage, it really was lovely. We had a week here with a full house, 4 adults 1 teenager a baby & a dog! It was tight at times but having the 2 bathrooms definitely helped & there's a nice large entrance hall.
The bedrooms are beautiful & comfortable & there's everything you need for a self catering stay. You can tell a lot of love has gone into making this place. It's a lovely location for walks, a good pub few minutes walk away. Also Bakewell only short drive, Matlock not far either.
We all enjoyed our time here & would return again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bedrooms
Liked least: No parking outside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2016
Hi, thanks for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing