We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A piece of heaven”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Dutch Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ronnielus...
Faversham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This place is wonderfull Gill and Jonathan do such a good job looking after the barn it's well stocked with everything you need the hot tub us the star of the show this was our second stay here and we can't wait to go again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the pub
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Thank you for your comments. We hope to be about welcome yuck to Dutch Barn again before to long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilberfor...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice but could be better”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Barn is lovely, but looks tired in places. The twin room is really a single with two bed's squashed in. As comfortable as the four poster was in the en suite it didn't really fit in with the rest of the décor. A local complained that we were making too much noise at 5.30pm on a Saturday whilst having a BBQ. Whilst I appreciate residents don't want desturbing (we could hear children playing elsewhere) I also appreciate that I had booked/paid for our holiday. Suspect there may be on going issues as the volume on the hot tub has been set low, so low that if you want to play music through the hot tub you can't hear if the jacuzzi is turned on. One night we thought there were intruders on the back (9.30pm). When we investigated, it was the owner checking the hot tub in the dark. Made us feel like our holiday was being encroached upon, like we were being monitored. Dish washer was a bonus. Oven was very keen. We had mixing feeling's about the rug in the living room (we christened him Patrick). Taxis between the barn and Bakewell were a joke. Exact same route varied between £5 and £10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen1976
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in The Peak District”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at The Dutch Barn. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and has everything you may need and more!

The hot tub spa is amazing and very needed after a days rambling around the Peaks! It is serviced daily to keep it clean and in full working order.

Jonathon and Gill are lovely and had good communication with us during the booking and whilst on the stay. We thought the hamper of wine, croissants and cookies was a wonderful touch for our first night! Thanks again for those!!

As it was our first holiday with our rescue-dog, we chose the Dutch Barn due to it being dog friendly and having a garden for our pampered pooch!! He really enjoyed himself, and loved running around in the garden and was very settled in the house! Anyone that wants to also take their dog for a break in the Peaks, this place is perfect and very well situated, centrally, for the whole of the Peaks District.

Bakewell is only a 5 min drive from the barn. It is very beautiful and has a large Co-op as well as a good butcher, fish and chip shops, etc. We also saw a number of "Original" Bakewell Pudding shops, many of them claiming to be the birth place of the pudding!! Our advice is buy one from each shop and try them all!!

One of our highlights was a walk down to Lathkill Dale (this REALLY is a beautiful place), which is literally on the doorstep of the barn with a great Tea Garden halfway down the hill serving amazing cakes and hot drinks in a lovely terraced well kept garden (Also Dog Friendly!)

The best pub food we found was recommended to us by the owner of the tea garden and is well worth the 15 minute drive, The Royal Oak in Hurdlow!

So to sum up, The Dutch Barn comes highly recommended by us for cleanliness, location, value for money, and of course the Hot Tub!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice H
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here with friends and had a lovely time. The place is very well equipped and looked after. The owners are friendly and helpful.
The hot tub was amazing and very clean.
Would highly recommend.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh C
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just came back from a weekend at the Dutch Barn. Over Haddon is beautiful and very quiet but just a couple of mins drive from the lovely Bakewell. The barn itself is very spacious and welcoming! We had our 2 boys and 2 other friends and their baby accompany us and there was plenty of space for us all without stepping on each others toes.

The kitchen was very well stocked with pots, pans and cutlery etc and there was plenty of cleaning stuff including dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid (I always forget this and so pleased it was provided)!

The owners were lovely and met us on our first night to say hello and answer any questions we had. They even brought us a few treats which was a lovely touch!

Finally, the hot tub was great! Very big and lovely and hot and maintained daily by Jonathan.

Great weekend had by all. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope that we may welcome you back again in the future,Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicelink
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely family get away”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We enjoyed a weeks stay here in September. The house was spacious and well decorated. The front garden was perfect for my dog to run around and enjoy the beautiful setting. The hot tub was fantastic and much needed after walking the Lathkil Dale. There was also a BBQ that we used. The welcome basket was a great touch and very handy when we arrived the oat cookies were lovely. The bedding and towels were high quality and the best I've had in a holiday cottage. The area was beautiful the village had a pub and a tea room with stunning views. We had a lovely week and we hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn and very much hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
thanks
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnielus...
Faversham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Went to the Dutch Barn with my husband two daughters and their husbands we had a wonderfull time the hot tub being the star of the show great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing