We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Dutch Barn

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
turkishde...
turkish delight08
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girly weekend jan 2014”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stay with my best friends mid January, well equipped lively cottage.only problem..hot tub defiantly needed a clean..we arrived around 7pm so it was dark when we used the hot tub. In the daylight of the next morning it really didn't look clean so we stopped using it. Shower in ensuite bedroom had a strong damp smell when used. Two of the party were ill a couple of days after our stay which could of been caused by the hot tub according to a dr. Overall a lovely location but with a few little tweeks it would be perfect. Lovely pub/hotel down the road which served a fabulous meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always welcome honest reviews and are devastated that that Dutch Barn failed to live up to your expectations on this occasion.
We employ a Manager to ensure that the Hot Tub is sparkling clean at all times and are sure that on your arrival this was the case. We would encourage all guests to ring us should a malfunction develop during their stay so that we are able to immediately respond. On this occasion you chose not to do this.
The Hot Tub was due for replacement in the near future anyway and in view of your review we have brought this forwards and a new " all singing all dancing" Hot Tub is now on order to be delivered shortly.
We would like to invite you to return to Dutch Barn to review the new Hot Tub as soon as you are able.
Kind regards
Jonathan and Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarceySpr...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just returned from The Dutch Barn after spending a wonderful relaxed weekend there. The holiday cottage is very well equipped, it had everything (and more) that we needed, including hairdryers in all the bedrooms and lots of good quality towels and a very useful wine cooler! There was plenty of room for our extended family including teenagers, a grandparent and our two dogs, the lounge being particularly spacious and had just had a new floor put down which looked great. There is a front enclosed garden with patio furniture but we did have to block the gate off with a chair to stop our dogs escaping as there is a big gap under the gate (other dogs did come into the garden before we blocked it off). The hot tub was fabulous after a long walk and we all enjoyed using it. The area is perfect for a relaxing break, lots of wonderful walks to be discovered from the doorstep and an excellent pub in very close walking distance which served great beer and food. There's plenty to do in the area too if you choose to leave the cottage, the market town of Bakewell is just a few minutes drive away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it and would certainly like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Decking very slippy when wet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. We strive hard to maintain high standards for the benefits of our guests and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We will endeavour to replace the gate so that canine friends are completely secure in the front garden as well as the rear and look forwards to welcoming you back to Dutch Barn soon.
Thanks
Jonathan and Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm W
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“JUST RIGHT”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Having been to wedding in Derbyshire the weekend before, it was great to find somewhere close at hand to relax and unwind. The Dutch Barn was ideal. Well converted from an open barn, the house has just about everything needed for a few quiet, relaxing days, Very comfortable beds, huge leather sofas, a well equiped kitchen - including a dedicated wine fridge - and, to cap it all, a large hot tub. Over Haddon is a quiet little village within a short distance of Bakewell with a decent pub and wonderful views over the Lathkill valley. All in all, this was just what we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of equipment & furnishings.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2013
Thank you for making the effort to write a review on your stay at Dutch Barn. We work hard to maintain standards and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay . We hope that you may choose to return again in the future and that you will recommend it to your friends and family.
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeDevine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Get-away!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Group of young guys stayed here for a long weekend. We absolutely loved it. Lovely to get-away from the city. Largely it's about making your own fun but asides from that the lovely walks, pubs and shops in Bakewell were great. The hot-tub was easily the best part of the holiday (make sure it's at 40 degrees before you get in, it's completely worth the wait [although that's not to say that 35 isn't completely sufficient]). The renters were lovely and in phone contact at all times. Do consider staying here! Lovely beds, towels and general facilities. Brilliant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot-Tub
Liked least: It was all brilliant.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time and making the effort to post a review on your stay at Dutch Barn. We work hard to maintain standards and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that you may choose to return to Dutch Barn again in the future and hope that you will recommend it to your friends and family.
Best Wishes, Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa W
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“60th Birthday, perfect for family gathering”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A well equipped cottage with luxurious towels and bedding. There is plenty of room for everyone to relax in the lounge. Outside there is the hot tub which is fabulous! The surrounding area is amazing with stunning views. A pub within 100 yards too, serving real ale and good food. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is that we were not welcomed by the manager and had a few teething problems. We contacted the owner direct who sorted things for us and ensured our stay was comfortable. We had an excellent family gathering at the weekend and a relaxing time for the rest of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ample space and the hot tub of course!
Liked least: No help or welcome from the manager
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2013
Thank you for making the effort to post a review on your recent stay at Dutch Barn- we are sorry that you experienced minor teething problems and are pleased that e were easily able to resolve these for you and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will choose to return to Dutch Barn again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi57
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet beautiful location”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Well first of all if you are booking or have booked to go to this barn please do not go on the motorway you will be missing a treat, we went the scenic way and the views are amazing!!
The barn is very easy to find upon arrivel the door was open this the keys in the door (tells you something about the area), the barn is a great size there was 6 adults and one child in out party and there was plenty of room for us all.
The kitchen has everything you require. We took our own dishwasher tablets and cloths washing stuff. But all the pots pans plates ect is provided. Even a freshly baked cake :). There is a washing machine but no rumble dryer, a fridge and separate freezer and a downstairs toilet.
The living/dining room was great dining table an the most comfortable couches iv sat in with a nice big tv. All the windows and doors so you can walk out of them into the front garden where there is a big table and chairs.

Upstairs was just as big we has the en suite room, with a big 4 poster bed, bed was very comfy however the duvet was a little thick for the time of year there is a further 2 bedrooms one with two singles beds and another 4 poster all very comfy. There is also another bathroom with bath/shower and great towels provided.
To the rear is the all important hot tub!! Many hours were enjoyed out there just relaxing what more could one want??
One of the party left some belongings in a draw and when they phoned the owner he offered to post them back why hour taking payment (which we thought was really nice).

Around and about.
the barn is about a 5 minute drive from the beautiful town of bakewell (Monday is market day). We also visited Matlock and went in the heights of Abraham which is a must and again such a beautiful place.

So all in all we had a great time and will defiantly be returning.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Hi,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn. We work hard to maintain standards and aim to give all our guests a fabulous experience staying at Dutch barn.
We value comments from our guests and would like to thank you for making the effort to post a review.
We look forwards to welcoming you back to Dutch Barn again in the future and hope that you will also recommend Dutch Barn to your friends.

Best regards,
Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Hi,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dutch Barn.We work hard to try to maintain high standards and customer feedback is very important to us.

We are sorry you found the Hot Tub lid so heavy - we believe it is heavy due to it taking on water and following your comments we have ordered a new lid.
We already have parasols and are expecting the all important weighted bases to be delivered this week.We just hope the sunshine will arrive with them!
We have previously relied on our Manager to give out information during the meet and greet, but appreciate that our guests may like some written information aswell.Following your comments we are therefore currently putting together a welcome folder to include useful telephone numbers/ appliance instructions so if you decide to stay at Dutch Barn again all will be in place.

We hope to beable to welcome you back to Dutch Barn in the future and hope that you will recommend it to your friends.
Many thanks for your comments.
Best regards Gill and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing