We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rambler Hostile” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lathkil Hotel

The Lathkil Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rambler Hostile”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Hostile to ramblers as the anti-boot police challenge strangers on entry, even when wearing clean trainers. Boots left by the door were moved by management to a distant corridor without informing us. Meanwhile locals walk around in wellingtons with their muddy dogs. The sandwich was expensive and very poor. The only redeeming feature of this place was the beer! Won't be going in again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CandM-Morley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place to stop for place for a bite of lunch with great selection of pub food available and a super view. Enjoy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Birmingham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Most unwelcoming and will not return....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Started off well, five of us went in for hot drinks mid way through our walk and went into the bar area to order. Told by the barman that children under 10 were not allowed in the bar but would be OK in the dining room (we had a two month old in tow). So we went to the dining room to wait for our drinks. No mention about footwear etc. Had our drinks, used the toilets and left after 20 minutes. When you enter / exit the premises you go through reception, as we were leaving we overheard two women talking and one of them very loudly talking about reprimanding some people who'd worn muddy boots into the pub. Thinking this may have been in relation to us we stopped and caught her eye, she mentioned it was related to others but upon seeing our boots and specifically muddy trousers literally 'went into one'. I won't go into the specifics of what this women (who can only assume is the landlady) said but it wasn't a pleasant experience as it clearly borne out by some reviews. We felt we'd been told off by a cantankerous headmistress and yet at no point had we been told by any other member of staff about our footwear and whilst there was a sign in reception there were no trays, racks or anything to help you remove excess mud. We didn't want to walk around the bar in just socks as it had a wooden floor!
So after the telling off and an apology back to the incredibly rude landlady we left.
The fun continues, she'd obviously become so enraged with our blatent disregard for both her rules and establishment she took it upon herself to shout after us about how dirty we'd left the floor under the table in the dining room! Classy. OK, so we knew we weren't totally in the right but we'd apologised, we don't felt as paying customers that we should have been berated like small children, the floor really wasn't that bad as we'd walked about a mile from the path on roads to get to the pub!!
Let's get picky about cleanliness - the landlady should look at the toilet facilities she offers customers next to the dining room. They are really appalling! In the womens there's what can only be described as faecal matter smeared on the wall and the mens really isn't better.
As for not allowing children under 10 being in the bar; when leaving there was a family with a 4 or 5 month old child in there who were clearly there to stay as they had beers and drinks in flow so obviously the rules are very fluid.
I can see why there is positive feedback; there are great views over the river and hills and if you're clearly staying or dining there with no desire to walk anywhere apart from to the car and back.
However, let's put this into perspective - the premises are in the Peak District, there are 000s of people who walk there. How can you run a pub in this area and not give walkers a fair chance? Things like this happen, people very rarely do it with any malice, more often than that it's an oversight or a desire not to make more mess by taking one's footwear off. Add 10p to the price of a pint and get some proper 'muddy boot facilities', even better pay a cleaner to sort the toilets out! After all we're paying customers who may come back for more than just hot drinks one day!!
We won't and this landlady doesn't really care about that, she would rather berate you and send you on your way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank NJ9967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Beer and on of the best views in Derbyshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A family owned pub with a cosy bar and open fire. A great and constantly changing range of real ales. Good wines. Good food to be either eaten in the bar or attached restaurant. There are guest rooms upstairs and a large gazebo outside. A must for tired walkers/ happy families and beer afficionados. The view alone is worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Franklin T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Had the most uninteresting and bland so called home made soup ever. Gives the impression of a managed pub where no one really cares. However good views and nice beers

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pgwswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lathkil Hotel also viewed

Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Lathkil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing