We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there”
Review of The Lathkil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lathkil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed one night , staff very friendly and helpful , rooms very clean , warm , sheets smelt of fabric conditioner,en suite small but for short stays, it was fine for us, breakfast lovely, in all had a nice stay and would recomend. Location good

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quiggs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for The Lathkil Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Pubic hair in our bed sheet, white towels with yellow spots (nasty) and the staff banging next door while you want to sleep wasn't really pleasant.
Breakfast was good.

Great location though, beautiful views.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

warm welcome after along day out in derbyshire. set off walking at 10am got lost and ended up seeing this place in the distance and set off to find it as it was getting dark now finally we got here had some good local ale and a meal, lovely place.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank jimmy1larthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Tucked away in Over Haddon. Just the place to recharge the batteries. Ideally situated for all the attractions of Derbyshire. Fantastic walking on the door step. Certainly a place to come back to on a regular basis

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerwentWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a drink during a day walk with 7 others. Beer was very good, view was lovely, pubs dated and unwelcoming to walkers even on hot dry clean boot days. More unfriendly "do this do t do that" signs than necessary.
Food very average and expensive.
A disappointing pub.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lobbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A short break to visit relatives who live in the area and to celebrate an anniversary A nice clean comfortable small family run hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Good food and real ale.
An excellent view of the Lathkil Dale from our room.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel has a nice view of the Dales
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pickles190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here in July for a friends’ reunion. The situation, on Lathkil Dale, is really very attractive, if a little remote. Our room (No. 1 of 4) was small, and could have been better arranged; we had to take turns in getting to the hanging space, for example. However, the bed was comfortable, the hospitality tray was good, and the view was great. We ate in; the meals were pretty good, particularly breakfast (we especially recommend the smoked haddock), though the evening service was on the slow side. The bar has some good local brews on the pumps; the restaurant has an adequate wine list (several wines by the glass).

We were most impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. This was especially marked on the morning of our departure, when we discovered a puncture. The staff helped us ring the AA and a not-too-distant garage, and looked after our luggage while we sorted matters out (a lengthy process). We have nothing but praise for them.

Recommended with only slight reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osipovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Over Haddon
1.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Monsal Head Hotel
Monsal Head Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bakewell
422 reviews
7.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lathkil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lathkil Hotel

Address: School Lane, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lathkil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tiny Derbyshire village of Over Haddon, perched above the stunning Lathkill Dale, boasting one of the most spectacular views from any pub in the county. We have four ensuite bedrooms, two overlooking Lathkill Dale. We serve food daily in our traditional bar and recently refurbished Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lathkil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing