We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel with spectcular views”
Review of The Lathkil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lathkil Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel with spectcular views”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed just the one night recently, but had dinner in the bar twice. As others have said, rooms are quite small, but we didn't find this a problem for two, they're perfectly comfortable, spotlessly clean, wonderfully quiet and our room was at the front overlooking Lathkil Dale. Breakfast was excellent, as were both dinners (Steak and Kidney pie was superb). Great selection of beers, from five hand pumps with four changing regularly, beer garden to make the most of the sun and spectacular views. Overall I can't fault the Lathkil Hotel, wouldn't hesitate to stay again and will certainly be back for dinner and a pint or two.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor_Lott_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    63
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
84
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My second visit/stay at this hotel April 1-4. The place gets better. New bathrooms and the dining room restaurant has undergone a quality refurb, the view from which is matchless. It could be an oil painting its so beautiful.The restaurant menu was excellent; good range of dishes with several changes during our 3 night stay. The quality of the food was very good. And the breakfasts - indescribably good! The pub/bar area has not been changed; its unspoiled traditional with an open fire. Always busy it had a genuine friendly atmosphere and the staff are so pleasant and helpful. Tops for me, however,was the beer range. A fascinating array of real ales from local and far afield micro breweries. Hartington, Peak brewey and Titanic to name some favourites. All in excellent condition. The place is a gem, and great value for money. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

the staff are rude and ignorant, food is very disapointing rooms are small and shabby. i would not recommend this place to anyone the owners of this establishment were extreamly un helpful.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank hannahbanana40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Lathkil Hotel. The rooms are a bit small, but since I paid a lot less than the other reviewer, and since I was traveling alone, it wasn't an issue. The room was scrupulously clean and tidy, and the bed was comfortable. The real reason (in my opinion) to visit the Lathkil Hotel is its location and its beer selection. The views from the bar and dining room are stunning; I could have sat there for hours just enjoying the prospect. Moreover, the bar has an excellent and varied selection of real ales - I stayed there for a week, and the selection changed several times. The food is above average pub food - I am a vegetarian, and I had no trouble eating well. The staff and owners are helpful and accommodating - they gave me good advice on walks, places to visit, and how to get there. The hotel is dog-friendly. It's also a good location for walkers (the walk to Haddon Hall is a pleasant two miles over fields, and the Lathkil Dale is five minutes away). All in all, I strongly recommend the hotel - I would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Real ales
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

The "hotel" is really more like a guest house or b&b. It has only four rooms and they are all small. For the price (80 pounds/night), I thought it was way too expensive for the quality of the accomodation especially since we stayed there in the off-season (end of January). We chose the Lathkil Hotel because they accepted dogs and they are at a good location for hikers. With two big dogs in the same room as us, there was absolutely no spare space. Plus, our room did not have a shower in the en suite bathroom. I liked everything else about the pub and the restaurant, but the rooms left much to be desired. The breakfast (free with room) was very good - full Derbyshire breakfast - similar to the full English but with oatcakes instead of fried toast (they also offer vegetarian). The service was friendly but they didn't seem to be able to offer much help when we were asking about the best things to see and do in the area for walkers.

The restaurant serves really good, home-cooked style meals consisting of almost all local ingredients from nearby farms. I tried the pheasant and my husband had the venison and both were very good. All of their sausages and black pudding are also made locally. The pub is also really charming and they had friendly service and a good selection of unique beers and ales.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank aprilsotomayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Over Haddon
1.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
10.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.2 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
881 reviews
7.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lathkil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lathkil Hotel

Property: The Lathkil Hotel
Address: School Lane, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Over Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lathkil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tiny Derbyshire village of Over Haddon, perched above the stunning Lathkill Dale, boasting one of the most spectacular views from any pub in the county. We have four ensuite bedrooms, two overlooking Lathkill Dale. We serve food daily in our traditional bar and recently refurbished Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lathkil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing