We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What can I say!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living and kitchen area Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Living and kitchen area
Conservatory
Master bedroom
Mount Pleasant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tanner44
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What can I say!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked mount pleasant cottage as a family break for our Easter break and we were not disappointed. Karin made the booking process very easy and provided information needed before our stay. The cottage is gorgeous and such a great place for relaxing after exploring what the Peak District has to offer and a very nice touch was a box of chocolates waiting for us on arrival. The cottage is split over 3 floors and there was more than enough space for all 4 adults, a child and a dog. Our toddler enjoyed exploring around. The cottage has all facilities you would need the washing machine being a big bonus after getting muddy in the fields. The views from the cottage are to die for, waking up to the view every morning made it even more enjoyable, our toddler enjoyed spotting the cows in the fields!! The pub in the village was great very friendly with lots of food choice and great views also. There were plenty of walks straight from the cottage which meant not using the car for the week. We will definitely be booking up again for next year!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purplebel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect de-stressor”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this gorgeous cottage for a mini break to get away from the stresses of London and boy are we de-stressed! Despite the storms, we were perfectly happy relaxing in the amazing conservatory reading our books and playing some of the numerous games the cottage has. The cottage was just perfect, situated within easy reach of Bakewell but in a very quiet location, the bedrooms were immaculate, the kitchen equipped to a very high standard and it was so nice having the log burner roaring away whilst enjoying a glass of wine!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyvernLan...
Wyvern
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views from a comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Terrific location overlooking Lathkil Dale and two minutes form the fine Lathkil Hotel.Excellent walking country.Well appointed cottage with stunning views. Comfortable furnishings,tastefully done. Not suitable for people with mobility difficulties and parking outside the cottage is not guaranteed but usually okay. Spacious bedrooms and lovely conservatory overlooking the dale.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathleen...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Far exceeds expectations!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have stayed twice at Mount Pleasant and have already booked another week for next year! We cannot recommend it highly enough. The owner prides herself on providing everything her guests need for a happy and comfortable holiday. Her dedication is second to none. We have stayed at many self catering properties in the past and have never felt so at home as we do here. The view from the conservatory is stunning, whether in the early morning mist or just watching the sun going down over the valley. The nearby hotel is very friendly, even to Molly our dog, and provides good food at reasonable prices. A real gem in the heart of the peak district with plenty of walks right on the doorstep. Cannot wait to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick a best......EVERYTHING!
Liked least: Cannot find fault!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overjoyed in Over Haddon”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A fantastic cottage in a beautiful corner of England. Hard to do justice in words to the feeling of total welcome that we experienced here. Travelling with four girls, ten and under, the cottage had absolutely everything that we needed (and far more besides - we never even got round to lighting the wood burner!)

Views from the conservatory over Lathkill Dale, to Youlgreave and beyond, were just stunning - we sat and passed many happy hours in there, eventually drawn outside by the excellent walking (Karin helpfully provided a list of walks straight from the door). The purity and colour of the River Lathkill has to be seen to be believed! Highly recommend the Lathkil Hotel - Good Beer Guide pub, lovely food, child and dog friendly (they'll welcome both in the eating area).

Upstairs in the cottage is the biggest bed that I've ever slept in, an en suite and more amazing views; on the middle floor, a lovely second bedroom - ideal for our four girls (there's a bunk bed and a single bed with another pull-out mattress below). The video player here kept our lot very happy in the evenings (loads of videos provided).

Down to the lounge, kitchen & utility (dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer - everything - including kitchen sink of course!). Out through the conservatory to the garden, where there's a BBQ (something else we never got round to trying - there was snow on the ground, though!). On that note, the central heating kept us toasty throughout our stay.

Our four days were nowhere near long enough to explore the area; we'd definitely return - actually our girls asked if they could live there permanently!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pick one thing? Tricky! But I guess the conservatory and the views therefrom!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks
Liked least: Nothing all great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chertsey, Surrey
Reviewed February 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small Living room TV
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing