We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Far exceeds expectations!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living and kitchen area Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Living and kitchen area
Conservatory
Master bedroom
Mount Pleasant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Over Haddon, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kathleen...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Far exceeds expectations!”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have stayed twice at Mount Pleasant and have already booked another week for next year! We cannot recommend it highly enough. The owner prides herself on providing everything her guests need for a happy and comfortable holiday. Her dedication is second to none. We have stayed at many self catering properties in the past and have never felt so at home as we do here. The view from the conservatory is stunning, whether in the early morning mist or just watching the sun going down over the valley. The nearby hotel is very friendly, even to Molly our dog, and provides good food at reasonable prices. A real gem in the heart of the peak district with plenty of walks right on the doorstep. Cannot wait to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick a best......EVERYTHING!
Liked least: Cannot find fault!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overjoyed in Over Haddon”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A fantastic cottage in a beautiful corner of England. Hard to do justice in words to the feeling of total welcome that we experienced here. Travelling with four girls, ten and under, the cottage had absolutely everything that we needed (and far more besides - we never even got round to lighting the wood burner!)

Views from the conservatory over Lathkill Dale, to Youlgreave and beyond, were just stunning - we sat and passed many happy hours in there, eventually drawn outside by the excellent walking (Karin helpfully provided a list of walks straight from the door). The purity and colour of the River Lathkill has to be seen to be believed! Highly recommend the Lathkil Hotel - Good Beer Guide pub, lovely food, child and dog friendly (they'll welcome both in the eating area).

Upstairs in the cottage is the biggest bed that I've ever slept in, an en suite and more amazing views; on the middle floor, a lovely second bedroom - ideal for our four girls (there's a bunk bed and a single bed with another pull-out mattress below). The video player here kept our lot very happy in the evenings (loads of videos provided).

Down to the lounge, kitchen & utility (dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer - everything - including kitchen sink of course!). Out through the conservatory to the garden, where there's a BBQ (something else we never got round to trying - there was snow on the ground, though!). On that note, the central heating kept us toasty throughout our stay.

Our four days were nowhere near long enough to explore the area; we'd definitely return - actually our girls asked if they could live there permanently!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pick one thing? Tricky! But I guess the conservatory and the views therefrom!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks
Liked least: Nothing all great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chertsey, Surrey
Reviewed February 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small Living room TV
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
horsforth...
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage, total relaxation!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Fantastic from beginning to end.
The whole booking process was easy, Karin is very helpful in every way.
The cottage was lovely and toasty on arrival, and the wine and choccies to greet us was a nice touch.
The bedroom and particularly the bed is huge, the en-suite bath is to die for!! No better way to ease the achey bones after walking the dales. We didn't use the second bedroom, but again very large, easily sleeping 3/4.
All essential info is provided to make using the cottage very straight forward, even written instructions on the log burner for those not familiar. (tip: for extra logs/kindling etc, turn right at the bottom of the hill in Bakewell on the A6 to Matlock, Torne Valley Farm and country Stores approx 1/2 a mile on the right, very cheap in comparison).
The views are stunning from the conservatory and garden. The walks from the door and within a few miles compare with anywhere in the country, just beautiful.
The pub is just 50 yards, but we loved chilling in front of the log burner with a glass of wine, chatting and planning the next days walking. Oh and it's dog friendly also, which makes a nice change.
Could not have been nicer, or better situated for us, we loved it and will most definitely be back! looking forward to that bath already!!!...........ahhhhhh bliss.... never been more relaxed on holiday.........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marktsmit...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous in every respect”
Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Terrific, out-of-the-way location (about 2 miles out of Bakewell), overlooking the Lathkil dale. Everything was spot on and the accommodation was of a very high standard. Organising our trip with the owner was a breeze; friendly and efficient, and everything worked as planned.
The house is organised over 3 levels; you enter at the middle level, go up to the main bedroom and down to the kitchen/utility area and dining/living room, outside to the large conservatory. All the rooms are spacious and well-maintained. The main bedroom boasts a slipper bath (most welcome for a post-walk soak). The views over the valley are worth the price alone, and it is only about 70 yards from the pub (great beers, food above average), which also has stunning views.
Tragically, the weather was far too hot to find out if the woodburning stove works, so we will have to come back in winter. Excellent for a quiet/romantic break. Our stress was well and truly busted. One of the best self-catering places we have visited. Highly commended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was pure luxury from the standard of the rooms to the utensils supplied in the kitchen.... Location was also stunning.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing