We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly helpful owners and lovely cottage with bonus of swimming pool”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Over Haddon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haddon Grove Farm Cottages
Northampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful owners and lovely cottage with bonus of swimming pool”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We booked this for a family get together and Sycamore Cottage (sleeping 7) suited us very well. The location (just outside Bakewell) is very convenient for the Peak District and the cottage was most comfortable.

The best feature was the heated indoor swimming pool and the attached library (books and DVDs).

The owners were most helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnystaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed in 'Dove' cottage for a well earned rest. The cottage was very well presented, clean, tidy and cosy. The owners provided welcome touches like fresh flowers and fresh milk on arrival along with tea/coffee making facilities. The gardens/courtyard were well cared for with lovely flowers (to say it was the end of the summer). The leisure area/swimming pool was an added bonus. We were made extremely welcome and were pleased with the standard of the whole experience. The location close to Bakewell and the main A road for the area made it great for getting out and about. Unfortunately due to a pending knee op we were unable to do much walking as we had planned but the countryside was as you would expect from the Peak District.
Well recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJK6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I booked Haddon Grove Cottages for myself and boyfriend as we were attending a wedding nearby. We were allocated Dove cottage as the only remaining 2 person accommodation.

I was concerned after reading the negative comment about the state of Dove cottage but was mildly reassured by the owners response that the cottage has since been refurbished.

I'd like to report back that the cottage was in excellent condition, everything worked and was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable, the heaters were very efficient and warmed the cottage up when needed almost instantly. We felt very much at home and would recommend Dove Cottage for any interested future visitors.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurlstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Every year my husband and I go away for a week to the Peak District with our dog to recharge our batteries, and this year we had our 4 month old baby accompany us. Normally, because we travel with a dog we have to book very basic accomodation, but this year we decided to book a cottage at Haddon Grove Farm and it was the best holiday we have had in the area.
The cottage itself was fabulous - we felt instantly at home thanks to the special touches left by the owners such as a pint of milk waiting in the fridge and a tea and coffee goodies selection so we could sit down and relax after a long journey. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed, and it was very warm. comfortable and clean.
We found the facilities at the farm to be well thought out; a swimming pool, a games room, and even a small laundrette which is useful when you have a sicky baby with you. Perhaps what was even more great for us was the attached field where we could let our dog off and have a good run about.
The farm is set in a rural area so is great for long walks, scenery and peace and quiet, however it is also close enough to a variety of places of interest, and towns such as Bakewell. We can't believe we never found it sooner, and will definitely be returning again next year!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWatersClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We spent a very comfortable week here and did not find anything lacking. Beautifully presented accomodation and the swimming pool and games room were a big hit with the children.
The surrounding area was full of activities to keep youngsters and their parents entertained and there were many good eating places within easy striking distance. We had one of our most relaxed holidays here.
Thanks to the owners who provided a real home from home.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed with friends in the linked cottages Chatsworth and Ash. They were both beautifully decorated, with lovely facilities and little extras (hand soap, shower gel, dishwasher tabs). We received a warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The pool was lovely, warm with nice changing rooms. The games room was fun for the children with lots of DVD's to borrow and information about the local area. Couldn't have asked for anything else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed here with a group for a wedding nearby. I can't speak highly enough of this place. It looks like it should, understated stone english cottages, almost hidden in the beautiful landscape. There a about 10 little cottages and a large farmhouse. It is very quiet, well heated and comfortable. Fully stocked kitchen for cooking, and only 3 miles form Bakewell town and great Pubs. Great heated swimming pool. Perfect launching pad for a relaxing week in the Peak District. Highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Over Haddon
2.5 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddon Grove Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon Grove Farm Cottages

Property: Haddon Grove Farm Cottages
Address: Haddon Grove Farm Haddon Grove | Nr Over Haddon, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Over Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering accommodation with indoor heated swimming pool in the heart of the Peak District. Converted farmhouse and barns providing 11 very comfortable and well-equipped cottages. All renovated to high standard with new bathrooms and kitchens (most with dishwashers). Perfect for groups, get-togethers and families. Short breaks outside school holidays. Pets welcome in most cottages. Fantastic location 2 miles from Bakewell with easy access to all main Peak District attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing