We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding from the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left..!!”

The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cutthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a proudly independent gastro style pub selling freshly cooked food from fine dining to classic British dishes. Real ales are a passion here and we usually have four local beers to choose from.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the first time for their Mothers Day Sunday Lunch.

Service from the moment we walked through the door was outstanding. Front of House male couldn't have accommodated us any better.

Polite, quick and efficient service.

We have many years hospitality experience, therefore any flaws maybe more apparent to us than most; with this, we can safely say from the front of house manager, right through to the bar and waiting on team, 10/10!

Food was beautiful, adequate portions and choice.

Looking forward to our second trip out there

Jayne, Gary, Keith & Shirley

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nicholson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 348 of 383 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think they had only just started serving carvery meals and it was very cramped and the meal was OK but nothing special.

1  Thank Sammie134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacock I, General Manager at The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Please Note - The Peacock in Cutthorpe does not serve a carvery any day of the week. We are sorry to hear about your experience however we are forced to believe you have the wrong venue on this matter.
If you would like to contact me direct regarding the post on our Trip Advisor page that would be great.

Kind Regards,
Matt
01246 563669

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to the Peacock for my brother in laws birthday and I cannot praise this pub enough. We had a fantastic meal and quite funnily the main reason we enjoyed it was the attention we received from the staff ( I noticed one of the earlier comments was about lack of attention). They made us feel very welcome and sat us in the bar, took us to our table, took and looked after our coats, took us back to the bar after and made us feel very welcome. The food was fantastic, steak that fell apart with the touch of a knife and ALL of us really enjoyed the meal. I would recommend this pub to anyone from someone passing on a walk to a night out. We found it when we went to the reservoir near by. A very nice old english pub well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We called in for a light bite lunch, early doors. As we walked in we were completely ignored by the 2 members of staff who finally acknowledged us after completing their conversation. The young girl sat us down and left us. She came back with menus eventually, then left us. There was one other couple in and no one else waiting. After 10/15 mins (still having not even been offered a drink) she finally came back and took our order. 1 pork pie starter, 1 pulled pork sandwich, 1 roast beef sandwich, 1 chips, 2 drinks. They have no beef, ok, so we'll have ham instead. She came back pretty quick with drinks. Then came back to say there was no stuffing for the pork is that ok? No, we'll have the fish finger one. A few minutes later, she came back again, to tell us there was no pork pie!!!! Over all the food was delicious and no complaints, but the lack of staff knowledge is really letting the side down! Surely we should of been told what wasn't available before we had been left for 15 minutes making out choice? Surely we shouldn't of been sat 15 waiting to order? Surely it's polite to say hello to customers as they walk in......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Vernon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacock I, General Manager at The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would firstly like to personally apologise for your very poor experience here at The Peacock. We take any comments seriously and i would like to thank you for your feedback.
I will agree with every comment you have made, it is totally unacceptable that we were short of so many food items and our failure of this information been given to yourselves prior to your order should of been paramount.

As you can see through our trip advisor page we are always looking to improve our customer service and i will be looking into the meet and greet procedures with all our staff again shortly.

I would appreciate it if you could give me a call directly at The Peacock to discuss the matter in full, and again apologies on your poor experience.

Kind Regards,

Matt
01246 563669

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went here on a very quiet Monday evening and sat by a lovely fire in a beautifully decorated bar area. Though quiet the pub felt cosy and the staff were attentive. The food was absolutely wonderful- steak cooked exactly as asked for with a sublime stilton sauce and a wonderful breast of guinea fowl in madeira sauce. I would recommend this pub to anyone who appreciates beautifully cooked and presented food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank stellina1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacock I, General Manager at The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Peacock!

Regards,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe also viewed

 
Clay Cross, Chesterfield
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Peacock Inn Cutthorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing