We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be faulted”

Markham Vale Guest Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duckmanton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markham Vale Guest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Duckmanton B&B and Inns
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't be faulted”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with wife & two kids in the four-person family room. It's in an unlikely setting (just off the M1 near a coalfield regeneration area) but don't let that put you off! The warmth of the welcome from Mike, the proprietor, was amazing - he went out of his way to make us feel at home, and the room was spacious and comfortable. It was the kind of place that looked and felt respectable and if it is a success as a business for Mike then that makes it even better! Breakfast was plentiful and served at whenever was convenient (within reason), and Mike would have had no problem in our bringing takeaways back and helping ourselves to the kitchen facilities should we have wanted. Despite the proximity of the motorway, noise was not a problem, and we were centrally located for easy access to Sheffield, Bolsover, Chesterfield and the Peak District.

If we are planning another visit to the area, this will be our first port of call.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsCommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My parents and I stayed here for one night and sadly we didn't have enough time to spend and truly enjoy this wonderful B&B. The decor is beautiful, the rooms are equipped with everything you could need, the owner, Mike explains everything so you truly feel welcomed and at home. Overall a very accommodating and lovely place to spend the night and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenisonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

From the location we expected a certain amount of noise from the motorway, we country dwellers slept soundly with the window open, there was nothing to complain about. Mike was welcoming and helpful when we arrived the room very clean and well appointed he booked us a table at a nearby restaurant for the night, and in the morning served an excellent breakfast. What more can you ask for? Yes its modestly priced too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxationjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I've stayed at Markham Vale on five occasions now and have just booked for the sixth visit! I have a customer in Chesterfield, so the location is perfect. As others have mentioned, the proximity to the M1 is extremely convenient and there is little, if no noise!

The homeliness of Markham Vale is part what is taking me back, week after week. The personal touches in the rooms and public areas, along with the friendliness of Mike, Jo and Kat make me feel at home when I'm away! I travel for business alone and the feeling of comfort and safety is paramount and that's what I get when I'm there.

The breakfasts are fantastic and really nothing is too much trouble! The friendly smile and banter in the kitchen in the morning, sets me up for the day ahead!

I'll be going back for a while...!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, there's not one that I would say is the best room, they are all bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisamaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Mike the Owner / Manger, Truly makes this a special Lodge. Upon Arrival he was very freindly and gave us an indepth tour of the property. We had booked 3 of the 4 rooms available and so basically had the run of the lodge. The Lodge is spotless and we couldn't fault it in anyway. Nothing was too much trouble for Mike. He even accomodated a few of us for special dietary requirements for breakfast - truly exceeding our expectations. We attended a wedding at Bolsover Castle and so litereally 5 minutes drive away. As we had long journeys the following day Mike was kind enough to even pack us some fruit and water for the trip... THANKS Mike / Jo & Kat... We wont forget our memorable and enjoyable time at your fantastic Guest Lodge. I would highly recmmend this lodge to all. AAA+++

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keegan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heckmondwike west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Mike the owner made us feel welcome from the minute we parked up.
The accomodation was of a high standard we had a large room for 4 of us (2 Adults and 2 Children) it was spotless and had everything you required for an overnight stay and to be honest if someting was missing Mike would probably have got it for you. The other rooms we booked for other Family members were just as spotless and both with plenty of room. The breakfast was excellent with enough on your plate to last you most of the day if you wanted. The location is spot on just off Junction 29A of the M1 a good base to travel on to the Peak District. All in all an excellent stay in a Friendly Guest Lodge i would reccomend this to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeerMonsterterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Spotless, quiet, comfortable, tasty and hearty breakfast, friendly, great value for money. I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tickettyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duckmanton
3.1 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,019 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
790 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#36 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markham Vale Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham Vale Guest Lodge

Property: Markham Vale Guest Lodge
Address: 7 Erin Road | Duckmanton, Duckmanton, Chesterfield S44 5HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Duckmanton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Duckmanton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing