We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafront paradise”

Maistrali Restaurant Fish Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Build by the sea, with materials borrowed from nature and taken from our region. We respected our local architectural tradition, the environment and quaintness of our country and the result you expect. Waiting for a trip, Greek hospitality and legendary service. Our moto : Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer !
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafront paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Located on the sea front of Marathopoli, Maistrali is way far the best option in the area. Each meal has been better than the previous. Great variety in the menu and no compromising in taste. Very friendly staff that will go out of their way to make your meal an enjoyable experience. Location is very graphical and offers a beautiful view of the sea. A must if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sdeprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for our holidays at a hotel near by and we visited maistrali almost every night. Comparing to the other places in the area it is by far the best!! Every night with fresh fish and salads, made our holidays very special. Mr George (the owner) made sure that the service is special and tailored to everyones needs. One night we felt like eating meat.. It was also great. At that time we tasted the local delicacy "talagani" on the grill..what an excellent choice! I really can't wait for the next meal over there..hopefully next year..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julielab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You cannot go wrong with Maistrali!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have been a regular guest of this restaurant for the last three years and the service and the food have always been of the higest quality.
Located right next to the sea this is a very nice and honest restaurant.
One can enjoy both meat and fish dishes.
The meat dishes have a twist compared to traditional Greek tavernas which is nice, especially if you are Greek like me!!!
If you opt for sea food I strongly suggest that you try the lobster spaghetti (make sure you pre-order a few hours before your meal).
Overall it is a restaurant worth visiting if you happen to be in the region.
It has a nive big veranda right on top of the sea and you may enjoy a beautiful sunset if you go at the right time of the day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anquitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

When in Marathos we always go there. There might be better places in town, but we don't really know. Had there at least 10 meals during the years and never been disappointed.
They serve a wide range of salads and pasta or rice with seafood, wich is very unusual for greece. Usually we have fish or seafood. Sometimes fish can be frozen, but it's always clearly specified on the menu (multilingual). The owner speaks quite good english and staff is very friendly. Price x 2 goes approx. from 30/32€ to 60€ according to what you eat and drink. The location is very good: right by the seaside and the surrounding area is closed to traffic during the summer. Surely not the best place in the world but always at good standards.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lipp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Arkansas
1 review
“Very nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice restaurant with great sea view. The food was just perfect and the owner was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmys K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maistrali Restaurant Fish Tavern also viewed

Marathopoli, Messenia Region
Marathopoli, Messenia Region
 
Marathopoli, Messenia Region
Marathopoli, Messenia Region
 
Marathopoli, Messenia Region
Gialova, Messenia Region
 

Been to Maistrali Restaurant Fish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing