We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Resort Mussanah
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Mussanah
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Horrid customer service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

During our Eid trip to Oman, we decided to splurge and stay at this beachside resort. Yes, it's way off the beaten track which is fine if you are just looking to hang out on the beach like we did all day, but there isn't anything else to see or do in Mussanah. The hotel is pretty but my biggest complaint is the deplorable customer service. Upon check in, the lady at the front desk seemed flustered and overwhelmed by the large number of people trying to check in. She kept cutting me off to speak to other guests that push their way to the front. She should have told them to wait their turn (I live in the Middle East and know that it's the culture, but come on!)When I finally got my turn, she said, "No check in until 2. Please go sit there." I asked her to at least check to see if the room was ready, but she wouldn't do it. Later my husband went to another check in agent and was able to get the room. We booked an apartment which was well decorated and spacious but had a musty smell. The bathroom had those annoying half shower doors so the whole floor gets wet when you turn on the shower. The tub is too deep for elderly people or kids to safely access.The balcony is unusable as it's only a foot wide with sliding door. At the pool bar we ordered drinks and food and I told the waiter that we would be seated on the beach, which is just a few steps below the pool area. He rolled his eyes and said, "That is very far to take the food but ok." Really?? Later that evening we ordered room service. First, we had a hard time reaching room service as the lines were busy. When we finally placed the order, once again they said, "You are in the aparment buidling so it will be a long time to deliver the food. You have to wait 45 minutes." One hour later our food arrived. It was cold, tasteless, expensive and not even what we ordered. Furthermore, they forgot the untensils and salt and pepper. Luckily we used forks from the kitchen because we knew calling them back would result in more complaining. On the plus side, the morning breakfast buffet was good and the beach was nice. If it wasn't for the lazy staff, we could have enjoyed ourselves more.

Room Tip: If you want quick room service, stay in the hotel rooms in the main buidling. If you need more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhatnaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    355
    94
    38
    23
See reviews for
285
273
34
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I didn t like it at all. The room was quite good but the cleaning was terrible,as soon as i got there i had to call the housekeeping manager since the floor and the bathroom were dirty. Also the bedroom was very bad maintained, I could seehumidity in the walls, this was very visible so it ruines all the room. If the room would have been good clean and maintained it was a nice one.
The bad thing is that some common areas from the hotel are still under construction. It has some noce swimmg pools, but when i went it was pcked of people, so didn t enjoy that much, prefere gping to the beach even thought it is not a good one, instead of sand i think it was all mud.
The breakfast is a buffet and is almost very good
I went one night with a discount voucher, so thanks that i didn t pay the full price, but i think it doesnt even worth the price i payed.
I would have satyed at home and have a nicest weekend. Definitely I wouldn t go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cholis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had nothing better to do on an extended weekend hence decided to try out this place along with a couple of friends. The good things about this place is;

1. Amazing walk along the coast line.
2. Great view from the sea facing rooms.
3. Great food.........sumptuous breakfast.
4. Rooms are good.....well maintained.
5. Pools are excellent.

Besides the above, there is little else to do......hence one can get bored after a day at the hotel unless one is a sailing enthusiast.

The service also needs a lot of improvement as the staff does not seem to be too bothered about prompt service.

Room Tip: Opt for the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The resort is most conveniently placed 123 km away from muscat,which is a mere 2 hours.the views are breathtaking and the walk on the coast is definitely worth the trip.the rooms are excellent and are always decorated differently.they have a lovely infinity pool,a small ground with football poles and a jumpy castle too! Food is good...I happened to get thte Asian night,which is sad since the chefs are not very experienced in Asian food.the breakfast was whopping,though!

Room Tip: Always try and get a SUITE which faces the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitej B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Nice resort by the beach. Good restaurants and water sports. Staff all right and friendly. So called free wifi in rooms not really upto the mark and if u complain staff not really bothered. 'Take it or leave it attitude'. Rooms are nice if not a trifle expensive. Made my reservation through booking.com Had a tough time confirming reservation over the phone. You are put on hold or transferred Succeeded in getting a confirmation after 4 tries. Really put out bt that. Came here during the Eid holidays. If u are looking to relax during this period then it is not the time. Noisy but cant blame the hotel. Just folks having a good time. Probably true for all hotels during this period. Will certainly visit during off season to enjoy its facilities in peace

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandrasekhar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

for an 'off the beaten track' experience in, let's say, a different location, this place is beautiful......admittedly, there's alot of redevelopment going on, but it will make the place more appealing, should all be completed by the end of the year.....but, didn't bother us in the slightest......food is beautiful, views are amazing, rooms are very comfortable.....sailing/sea excursions are brilliant and cleanliness, staff and weather are excellent too.....highly recommended!!!!!!......only drawback?.....have to sort your own transfers to and from the hotel.....30 riyals one way, but as the official Omani taxi company kiosk is just outside the arrivals lounge, it's not much of an effort to sort out.....beautiful place.......oh, and the pools are excellent too!!!!!

Room Tip: the hotel has a variety of rooms to chose from, we only had a studio room, but it was spacious enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohar, Oman
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed @ this hotel more than 6 times. I tried the rooms (superior ones) and tried the superior apartments, too. I can assure you that the apartments are cheaper and more spacious.
They are also away from the noise of the hotel's lobby.

The hotel is located in close to sea, close to the main road which is a big advantage.

However, there is not much to do in the area close to the hotel.

They are making some tours to the neighboring cities of Rustaq, Nakhal and even Sawadi village in Barka city where you can go on boat trips.

In Nakhal and Rustaq, there is the forts as well as the hot water springs (Al-Khasfa in Rustaq & Al-Thawarah in Nakhal)

The food selection for the breakfast is not varied and needs improvement.

The Staff are very helpfull and always smiling.

Overall, It is a good hotel. Although the price is a bit on the higher side.

2 nights are more than enough as there is not much to do in the surrounding area.

But there are promotional offers from time to time. You should join there scheme for free as they will be mailing you of any offers they have.

Room Tip: Go for the regular apartment or one bedroom (and Sala) apartment. Cheaper, but remember, no breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mujaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Mussanah
24.6 mi away
Dunes by Al Nahda
Dunes by Al Nahda
#2 of 2 in Barka
45 reviews
21.9 mi away
Al Nahda Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Beach Bay Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Resort Mussanah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort Mussanah

Property: Millennium Resort Mussanah
Address: Wudham Al Sahil | P.O. Box 82, Al Mussanah 300, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Al Mussanah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Mussanah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Resort Mussanah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the Gulf of Oman, Millennium Resort Mussanah blends vivid Arabian and Asian themes to provide a unique and memorable getaway resort on the coast of Al Batinah. The lifestyle destination resort is just 45 minutes from Muscat International Airport and close to the neighbouring cities of Barka and Sohar. With panoramic views of the sea, the resort has something for everyone and caters for seafaring guests with a private 54-berth marina, conferencing facilities for discerning business visitors, offers a diverse range of sports activities for leisure travellers and luxurious pools with exclusive beach access for holidaymakers. Guests can relax in idyllic surroundings and take in all of the spectacular natural beauty that the Sultanate of Oman has to offer. Millennium Resort Mussanah features 234 luxurious accommodating hotel rooms in a range of options to suit every need including Deluxe, Executive and Junior Suites, 74 fully-furnished serviced apartments or residences comprising of studios and one bedroom and two bedroom duplex apartments. Each room offers impressive views of Al Hajar Mountains, the Marina or the Gulf of Oman. The resort also offers a choice of culinary options including a poolside bar open until sunset, modern lounge, à la carte restaurant and a welcoming buffet all with private terraces facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Resort Mussanah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Resort Mussanah Hotel Al Mussanah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing